We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
The Ringway, Preston PR1 3AU England
Lowest prices for your stay
HolidayInn.com
$80
View deal
Booking.com
$81
View deal
FindHotel
$78
View deal
Travelocity$80
Hotels.com$80
Lol.travel$102
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (128)
Room & Suite (112)
Dining (37)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 19 hotels in Preston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Holiday Inn Preston hotel stands in the heart of the city centre, a short drive from the M6 motorway.Preston bus station is next door, while Preston train station, a 15-minute walk away, offers direct links to Manchester Airport (MAN). Within a 12-minute drive of the M6, M55, M61 and M65 motorways, the hotel offers limited free parking (first-come, first-served). Business guests are a short drive from BAE Systems, Royal and DXC, as well as Red Scar, Eastway and South Rings business parks. You can host events in the hotel’s 7 meeting rooms for up to 60 delegates. The UCLan campus is within walking distance. Cheer on Preston North End at Deepdale Stadium, a mile from the hotel. Or just a short walk away, you can take in exhibitions at the Harris Museum & Art Gallery and catch shows and concerts at Preston Guild Hall. Bright guest rooms feature comfortable beds and a choice of pillows to ensure a good night’s rest. You can savour a full English breakfast in All Day Dining and dine on classic dishes with a modern twist. Open Lobby is a relaxed spot for a Starbucks and a drink.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Board games / puzzles
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Paid public parking nearby
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 10 more
795Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 216
  • 325
  • 172
  • 43
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mark F wrote a review 16 Sep
Exeter, United Kingdom23 contributions20 helpful votes
Stayed here for 4 nights, walked from Preston Railway Station, probably about a 10-15 minute walk, make sure you walk past the fabulous Wallace and Gromit statue by the Market! The building on the outside is quite ugly, like 1970s style, but don't let that put you off, inside its like a different world! Checked by a lovely lady, Polly, i used the stairs to get to my room on the 7th floor, yes there are lifts too! My room had a view overlooking the Bus Station/Car Park, being high up could see way beyond Preston, so an interesting view. Had breakfast there on a couple mornings, that was fine, help yourself buffet style, though tea and coffee gets served at your seat, i also had an evening meal once, ordered at the bar and took up to my room, Sausage and Mash, that was great!! Only slight grumble was the duvet on the bed, i found it was a bit too thick so got quite hot at night, would be better to use a thinner duvet during the summer months, surely.. Air con did work fine, and no noise from anyone else which was good, so all in all i did enjoy my stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel 5/5 It really is a pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and your stay! I am delighted you found the team friendly especially Polly! I will be sure to pass your glowing comments to her and the rest of the team! I do hope that we get to welcome you back again soon Kind Regards Georgia Croskell Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paperopoli wrote a review Aug 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom1072 contributions95 helpful votes
+1
I stayed at this hotel during a trip visiting relatives. The hotel is very nice, despite the somewhat uninspiring location right by a junction by Preston bus station. Upon check-in, we were welcomed by a very nice receptionist whose name was Maria. As I'm a member of the IHG rewards scheme, I was allocated a room on the 6th floor, which is for Members only. The room was very nice if a little small. It was a very warm weekend but the air conditioning was adequate. Basically everything was fine until we realised that there was someone running on a treadmill right above us. Turns out the gym was right above our room. How can a hotel gym be *above* guest bedrooms? Anyway, we asked to be moved but the hotel was full so another apologetic receptionist told us it wasn't possible. We were due to stay for two nights, so I decided to move to a different hotel for the second night and booked another IHG property just outside the city (that was a choice I was later to regret for entirely different reasons - see my review of the Holiday Inn Express Preston South). I told the reception staff that I would cancel our second night. Soon after, the receptionist phoned our room and told us that they had found a room and that we could be moved. At that point I decided to stick with my decision and declined the offer (also, what kind of room would that be? why was that room not available earlier?). The following morning we were woken at 6:30 AM by a series of thuds above our bed - which sounded exactly like someone dropping free weights on the floor in between sets (we have both worked in the fitness industry). No regrets about switching hotels at that point. Breakfast was very good, and the breakfast/dining area was very spacious. Staff were very polite and professional throughout, greeting you as if they were genuinely happy to see you. We checked out and thanked Maria for her assistance and assured her that the only issue we had with the hotel was the gym above our room. In conclusion, I would still recommend this hotel, but I question the choice of having a gym on top of guest bedrooms, *and* even more so, when the floor is reserved for 'valued' IHG Rewards members. Avoid that room (615) and maybe the ones immediately adjacent and you'll be fine though.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid room 615 and adjacent ones, as they are right below the gym
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel It really is a pleasure to know that overall you enjoyed the hotel and that you found the team friendly and had a good breakfast I am sorry that you were allocated the room under the gym , the gym opens at 6.30am and closes at 10.00pm to minimise disruption. I have noted your concerns and we are in discussions as to whether change these times, however I have also spoken to the front desk team about not allocating this room to members I am disappointed that you chose to checkout a day early and that we were not able to accommodate you in a different room, we do get late cancellations and early departures in the evenings which may be how we were able to find a room later on I do hope that we get to welcome you back again soon Kind Regards Michelle Lonsdale General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kamal wrote a review Aug 2022
Waterloo, Canada84 contributions50 helpful votes
Very nice hotel, good location. Just 5 minutes drive to the rail station. Very clean, very nice reception. The breakfast is fine, the food at the restaurant is not that great. The staff is very hospitable. I would stay there again if go back to Preston
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel
Responded 13 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Preston Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team friendly We look forward to welcoming you back again soon Kind Regards Michelle Lonsdale General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elli W wrote a review Aug 2022
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
Have just returned from our 3rd annual stay after a trip to Blackpool, and had another lovely stay. The Front Office Manager Georgia remembered us and was so welcoming & helpful to me & my family. We had a great & super-good-value breakfast where Alan the chef made the kids feel so special & delighted them with pancakes & icecream and the floor team were really attentive and lovely (sorry didn’t get names but there were 2 lads & a girl). The rooms were clean & fresh. We love this hotel & will be back again. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel
Responded 7 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel and the 5 stars Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and I am delighted you have returned and enjoyed your stay with us again I will pass your positive comments back on to Georgia, Alan and the team We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon Kind Regards Michelle Lonsdale General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
agskidmo wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
I'd like to rate 5/5 as the breakfasts are really fantastic, clean, very fast service and good choices.. the rooms are v clean, modern, bit on small side but good. Staff are v v friendly. Only issue is parking and room service.. After about 630 the car park is full and you have to park outside. the reception did help with a voucher to park on level 9 of the bus station opposite though and waived the £4 charge. Later tried to use room service after a long day and told I couldn't order unless I registered my credit card at reception.. it felt like the hotel doesn't trust you if you want to pay over the phone there and then or cash, a bit strange. could t order and just decided to go hungry. I stay in many hotels around the world, first time this has happennef to.me and really spoilt my evening, combined with the parking. It's a real shame as the staff are so friendly, breakfast great and rooms v clean.. just let down by parking and room service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel
Responded 3 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel It really is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast and that you found the team friendly and hotel clean The hotel does have limited parking which is out of our control but we do offer alternatives and ensure that it is made clear on all booking channels I am sorry you felt you couldn't order food from room service , at check in we do ask if you want to open a tab for any food or drinks to be paid onto your room, if not then you are welcome to pay as you go unfortunatley that would need to be at the bar or restaurant for cash. This policy applies to all is not reflection of trust We look forward to welcoming you back again soon Kind Regards Michelle Lonsdale General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
njames1978 wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom63 contributions70 helpful votes
A good central location if you are based in Preston with work, although prices can really vary. Rooms were generally clean, although the bathrooms feel a little dated with the most ridiculous small shower head possible. I've been in Holiday inns all week and there seems to be no consistent standard in each hotel which can be a little frustrating. My room had connecting doors, which i'm not a fan of and I could hear everything in the room next door. The restaurant and bar were well laid out, but I have to say I don't really understand the pricing structure as they were well above my stays in other IHG hotels that week. The calorie information is certainly off-putting.. particularly when it announces that the average daily recommendation is 2,000 yet a simple chicken dish can have 1300! It actually put me off wanting to eat! The food was ok, but way overpriced for what it was. A generous breakfast offering for an additional £10, I just wished they'd told me it was going to take 15 mins for porridge. Time was short and i sat there waiting for over 10 mins before I was told it was still going to take another 5 mins... i declined the order and grabbed some cereal and left quickly. That was annoying considering I paid extra for the convenience. I have to say that I was made rather uncomfortable at check out when I was asked straight out whether I would rate the hotel on a scale of 10, being made clear that anything below a 7 was not good. I have never experienced this at an IHG hotel and it made feel very uncomfortable. I'm not a keyboard warrior, if I have an issue I will happily raise it... but i don't think its appropriate to put your customers on the spot as they are leaving. Due to location and the fact they are the most decent chain hotel in the area I would stay again, but it needs a little love in its spruce up.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel
Responded 11 Jul 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and the 4 stars I am pleased our central location suited your visit and you found the room clean We take all feedback seriously and look for ways to improve, this is why the team will always ask you to rate your stay so that we know what we can do to make it a 10/10 , I apologise that this made you feel uncomfortable Legally we need to display calories on all menus but appreciate this could be off putting for some people, the chicken dish you are referring to is served with fried chips , and uses oil to grill it which is why the calories are higher but we do have a lot of lighter options to choose from It is disappointing that you had to wait 15 minutes for porridge , we do make this to order but I will certainly be raising this with the breakfast team as it should not have taken that long I have taken on board and discussed with the team all your comments and do hope that you will stay with us again Kind Regards Michelle Lonsdale General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane Kerr wrote a review Jun 2022
Burnley, United Kingdom2 contributions
A very enjoyable stay in a very good location. Clean and satisfactory for a quick stay to see friends. Easily could be used as more than just a base. Beds were comfortable and the room was tidy. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 Jul 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel and the 5 stars It really is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our central location suited your visit to see friends We look forward to welcoming you back again soon Kind Regards Michelle Lonsdale General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fran G wrote a review Jun 2022
Driffield, United Kingdom24 contributions8 helpful votes
Brilliant place to stay Really lovely staff and very friendly couldn't do enough to help Very clean and tidy Hotel Wi-Fi Sperry good I would say the only downside is the parking but you can park across the road Which isn't to much trouble 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel
Responded 20 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel It really is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team friendly We look forward to welcoming you back again soon Kind Regards Michelle Lonsdale General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HullPhil wrote a review Jun 2022
Geneva, Switzerland843 contributions384 helpful votes
I stayed here for one night. It is excellently located and right next to the main bus station. When I arrived Maria was on reception and she checked me in quickly and very efficiently. I thought she was a real credit to the hotel. My room was really clean and the beds were really comfortable. The rooms were not large and the gap between the desk and beds was small. I did not eat in the hotel. Overall, I liked this hotel and would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel and the 4 stars It really is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you find the team friendly and hotel clean, your recognition for Maria has been passed back to her and the hotel to enjoy We look forward to welcoming you back again soon Kind Regards Michelle Lonsdale General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gchc_11 wrote a review Apr 2022
Carnforth, United Kingdom485 contributions255 helpful votes
Nice and friendly staff and a very warm welcome at check in. Super room which was in excellent order - great job by the clean team. Comfortable bed Nice bar area Very good breakfast Everywhere was spotless and very well cared for Highly recommend and we will stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel
Responded 27 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel It really is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find the team friendly and hotel clean We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind Regards Michelle Lonsdale General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$86 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn preston hotel preston, preston holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashirePreston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
133
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Harris Museum and Art Gallery (0.4 km), Guild Ale House (0.3 km), and Popworld Preston (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rise., Winedown, and Turtle Bay - Preston.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Preston.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Preston, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Hindi, Polish, and Arabic.