We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
10-11 Camden Place, Preston PR1 3JL England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$81
View deal
Expedia.com$96
Priceline$90
Travelocity$96
Hotels.com$96
Trip.com$109
Orbitz.com$96
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (75)
Room & Suite (60)
Bathroom (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Winckley Square Hotel
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 19 hotels in Preston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

If you’re looking for a small hotel in Preston, look no further than Winckley Square Hotel.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as The Preston Martyrs Memoria (0.3 mi) and St John's Minster (0.3 mi), guests of Winckley Square Hotel can easily experience some of Preston's most well known attractions.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a kitchenette.

Winckley Square Hotel features room service, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a lounge.

While visiting Preston, you may want to try some fish and chips at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Theatre Street Bar & Grill, The Hunters, or Friargate Fish & Chips.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Avenham and Miller Parks (0.2 mi), Preston Railway Station (0.3 mi), and Harris Museum and Art Gallery (0.3 mi), which are some popular Preston attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the small hotel.

The staff at Winckley Square Hotel looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
138Reviews2Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 115
  • 14
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Uppard wrote a review Sep 2022
Oslo, Norway65 contributions14 helpful votes
Stayed in the Bond suite but had a problem getting a decent nights sleep due to terrible sound insulation. This room is the worst placed of all the rooms I imagine as it has the trash cans on the one side in the alley, then the main walkway entrance on the other side with the kitchen area just alongside. This meant constant noise and with bad sound insulation I was woken each time people passed by (regularly) The room was excellent - missing a couple of nightstands but everything was otherwise really nice. The restaurant was outstanding, only minus were the acoustics as there is no textiles to dampen the noise so it was hard to talk amongst ourselves. Superb service and nothing but friendly staff the entire stay. The place is hard to find as it appears to be the front door of a regular home but once inside it was all as expected. Great location with the park alongside and a 5 minute walk to Fishergate
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid the Bond suite, and opt for a higher floor room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Pang, Guest Services / Front Office at Winckley Square Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Hi Uppard, Thank you for leaving a review after your recent stay, we do appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you liked the apartment but I'm sorry to hear you were disturbed by external noise. We do have other options with apartments, as they're all themed, that have plenty of table space and off the ground floor. If you'd let us know your preferences next time and we'll be happy to help you select an apartment that will suit you better We would love for you to try those apartments out. But it was a pleasure accommodating you and we hope to welcome you back. Warm regards, Steph
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janey_Acky wrote a review Aug 2022
Preston, United Kingdom19 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel room (Mayfair) was lovely, very nice indeed, very clean, bright, fresh & spacious. The only downside, is we stayed on a Saturday evening evening, there was lots of noise outside, people walking passed (sounded drunk) and lots of cars speeding past throughout the night, presuming taxi’s etc but you can really hear the outside noise. Such a shame as it is a beautiful room, but I wouldn’t stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Pang, Guest Services / Front Office at Winckley Square Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Hi Janey_Acky, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you liked the Mayfair apartment and you found it clean and spacious. Guest comfort and satisfaction is important to us, so I am sorry to hear that the external noise disturbed you, I understand that this can be very frustrating. We're always looking for ways to better the service we provide and the apartments too, so this is something that we can look into improving. We do have many other beautiful apartments that are quieter and not face the main road, so we'd love for you to try those out if you do return to us. Warm regards, Steph
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adventurer569890 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Stayed overnight for my graduation at UcLan. This hotel is an absolute gem and I cannot fault it. Had the Chic room which was beautiful, with an amazing bathtub! Would be very keen to visit Preston again and would 100% stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Pang, Guest Services / Front Office at Winckley Square Hotel
Responded 17 Jul 2022
Hi Adventurer569890, Thank you for leaving a review after your recent stay here at The Winckley Square Hotel. We do monitor guest feedback very closely to ensure our guests have a fantastic experience. But I am delighted to hear that you had a perfect stay for your graduation. It's great that you took advantage of the amazing bath tub in the beautiful Chic apartment too. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to the day you return to Preston again. Warm regards, Steph
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pearlyway wrote a review May 2022
LINCS93 contributions32 helpful votes
Doorbell is the link to hotel staff who if not in attendance are not far away. Venice themed room adequate size but no room for chairs or much space at end of bed. No breakfast but kitchen area with crockery, cutlery and milk provided. Comfy bed and pillows, quiet. Parking is limited to 3 spaces, luckily we were able to park. If not £10 some distance away or park on yellow line 6pm-8am and then pay £1.40 for meter parking in square. 8 electric car chargers in square. Good central location close to shops, Ashton Park and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Pang, Guest Services / Front Office at Winckley Square Hotel
Responded 29 May 2022
Hello Pearlyway, Thank you for leaving a review, we do appreciate and value your feedback highly. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a comfortable nights sleep on our Hypnos beds. The ring doorbell is there to assist any guests with entering the hotel. As we are an aparthotel, our desk isn't always manned as we may be helping other guests. However, we have a 24 hour phone number provided in the apartment and on the reception desk, should you require our assistance at any time of the day. Warm regards, Steph
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DAVID K wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom54 contributions13 helpful votes
The apartments are very luxurious, clean, central, quiet. On arrival, reception is not easy to find and there was never a member of staff on reception the whole of my visit. There is a sign stating if you need attention ring this number. This I found very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: There is no breakfast facilities and the the restaurant is closed on Tuesday.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Pang, Guest Services / Front Office at Winckley Square Hotel
Responded 15 May 2022
Hello David, Thank you for leaving a review after your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to hear that you found our apartments excellent, clean and quiet. Guest satisfaction is of the upmost importance, so I'm sorry to hear that you found it disappointing in regards to staffing. We advertise ourselves as a self-catering aparthotel and therefore our desks aren't manned 24 hours. However as you have said yourself, we are always reachable 24 hours by the phone if you have any concerns, questions or require any assistance. This is indeed on the reception desk and the number is also provided inside the apartment. There are always have staff on shift through the day and night, but may not be always stationed at the desk as we usually will be assisting other guests. I hope this clarifies everything, we hope to see you soon. Warm regards, Steph
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Puneet G wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions5 helpful votes
I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Preston for leisure or business. The staff were very welcoming and always on available, the room was lovely and homely and the surroundings were perfect. There is a lovely park nearby for morning runs.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Pang, Guest Services / Front Office at Winckley Square Hotel
Responded 12 May 2022
Hello Puneet, Thank you for leaving a lovely review after your recent stay with us, your feedback is highly valuable to us. We do love hearing when guests have a positive experience, so I'm pleased to know this was the case for yourself. It's lovely to hear that you enjoy our apartments and the location is suitable for you. The nearby Winckley Square Park is lovely isn't it? But it is always a pleasure to accommodate you, we hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Steph
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bordello Collective wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Utterly surprised by this gem of a hotel. The exterior belies the standard and grace of this boutique residence. A clever use of apart-hotel features combined with 5* hotel luxury made our one night stay a dream. The back of the hotel was slightly noisy with deliveries which would have been useful to know before booking as we may have chosen an alternative room. Other than this very minor fault the rest of the stay was flawless. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Pang, Guest Services / Front Office at Winckley Square Hotel
Responded 20 Apr 2022
Hello BordelloCollective, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review after your recent stay with us. We do love hearing when guests have a great stay so we're pleased to know this is the case for yourselves. As we have 14 themed apartments within the hotel, we would love for you to try out a different apartment, one that's maybe in a different location. Let us know next time and we'd be more than happy to assist. But it was a pleasure accommodating you, we do look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm regards, Steph
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David H wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed here after staying at there sister hotel No10 a few weeks previous. Both hotels are stunning however Winkley Square was above our expectations. We wanted a peaceful stay away so Lauren put us in THE DEN and it did not disappoint .It was spotless , beautifully decorated and peaceful. Communication between Lauren was fantastic through out and she gave us a complimentary bottle of Prosecco. We will definitely be back - Traci and David
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Pang, Guest Services / Front Office at Winckley Square Hotel
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Hello Traci and David, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We highly value your feedback in order to monitor guest satisfaction. But it looks like you had a lovely and relaxing stay with us in The Den apartment. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations at Winckley Square Hotel and hope you enjoyed the bottle of Prosecco too. I will definitely pass your feedback onto Lauren who will be delighted to see this. But it's always a pleasure to accommodate you, we are excited to welcome you back. Warm regards, Steph
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hopemole wrote a review Apr 2022
Llandudno, United Kingdom31 contributions42 helpful votes
I have stayed at the hotel many times. The staff are invariably friendly and professional and the rooms are beautifully designed and impeccable with a nice range of facilities including a well stocked kitchenette.My favourite is Mayfair with its bedside bath in addition to the en suite. The hotel is ideally situated at the very heart of central Preston in an old area of character. The only downside is the discontinuation of breakfast which I used to really enjoy. However,on the upside it now has a first class haute cuisine restaurant specialising in original versions of traditional Lancashire recipes which is rightly pursuing Michelin status.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Pang, Guest Services / Front Office at Winckley Square Hotel
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Hello Hopemole, Thank you for leaving a review, but also for always choosing The Winckley Square Hotel as your choice while staying in Preston. We're all very delighted to hear that you enjoy every stay with us as we love hearing when guests have a fantastic time while with us. We strive to give every guest a experience as great as yours, but it is always a pleasure to accommodate you, we are excited to welcome you back. Warm regards, Steph
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie Reid wrote a review Apr 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
We chose this hotel, as we were eating at "263" the restaurant that is resident there. Interesting hotel, quirky I'd say. We stayed in "The Study" apartment. Was nice, kitchenette to make teas and coffee. Comfortable bed, nice clean and spacious bathroom
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Pang, Guest Services / Front Office at Winckley Square Hotel
Responded 6 Apr 2022
Hello Julie, Thank you for leaving a review. Your feedback is very important to us, but it looks like you had a fantastic stay with us at The Winckley Square Hotel, which I am delighted to hear about. I'm glad you found it clean, comfortable and that the bathroom was nice and spacious for you. It was a pleasure accommodating you, we look forward to the day you stay with us again. Warm regards, Steph
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$84 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashirePreston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Winckley Square Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Winckley Square Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Avenham and Miller Parks (0.3 km), Baker Street (0.4 km), and Lonely People Cocktail Bar (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Winckley Square Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Winckley Square Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Winckley Square Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Winckley Square Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Winckley Square Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include All Hopes No Promises, Rise., and Turtle Bay - Preston.
Is Winckley Square Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Preston.
Are any cleaning services offered at Winckley Square Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Winckley Square Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Winckley Square Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ladyewell (5.2 km) and Church Cottage Museum (7.7 km).
Does Winckley Square Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.