We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The St. John's Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The St. John\\
The St. John's Hotel
Panoramas (36)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

986 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 974: English reviews
Start your review of The St. John's Hotel
 Click to rate
London UK
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After a trouble free check-in we eventually found a room down endless corridors and up in the lift to the 4th floor (marked 3rd floor as the lift door opens). When we opened the door to our room we thought we had gone into a Sauna1 stifflingly hot and stuffy. The room was tired but adequate which more than can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyndos22
cardiff
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A last minute decision to have a mothers day meal, meant we turned up at St John's unannounced and unbooked. They kindly found a table for four and we settle down. It was a set menu, and perhaps bells should have rung when we were asked to pay up front - but it was reasonably priced at £19.95 including a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne0590
Solihull
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The review is of the hotel function capability - bar, food, facilities - and not the specific event Around 120 guests were at the event, with a pie & mash and toffee pud meal - all served quickly and got and tasty Wine and bottled beer on the tables, with draught beers at the bar - didn't feel that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SolihullRichard
Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Easy check in, ample parking, polite friendly staff, although staff were scarce at the bar area and disappeared after ordering, bar food wasn't great, (there was a large conference in progression so this may explain where the staff were). Breakfast was great with ample choice of fruit, cereals, toast, yogurts, pastries & cooked breakfast, staff were friendly too. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stevedani64
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stevedani64, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and will be informing the team of your comments in order to improve our service and presence in key areas of the business. I do hope that we are...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Located an easy 5 minute walk from the station (with the most helpful stationmaster) this is a good conference hotel. The rooms are tired and desperately overheated. Ladies loos need to be maintained as locks are hanging off and the all have a reluctance to flush. The ensuite bathroom had a cracked basin and could do with being attacked with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gillian S, Thank you for your recent stay and constructive feedback. I have shared your comments with the relevant Heads of Departments regarding the Maintenance and Housekeeping points you have highlighted. These are certainly not in line with our quality of service and will be addressed. I do hope that should you return to Solihull, we may have the...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here for one night due to early airport check in, well its a a very good hotel check in was super smooth & efficient . we had a large room with king size bed , tea/ coffie facilities inc. you also get free use of the health spa swim pool & sauna etc. the hotel is situated a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul p
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul P, Thank you for your stay with us at The St Johns Hotel and for the feedback you have provided. I am delighted you had a good experience with us and do hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Kind regards, Tony Furlong General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

We attended a Charity Ball at this hotel but didn't stay overnight as we are local. The food was fine although the dessert was much too sweet (personal choice?) The room was clean and well presented and the staff were efficient and friendly. I like the separate entrance for the function room and the fact that there were quiet areas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MishBarad
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MishBarad, Thank you for choosing to host your event with us at The St Johns and for taking the time to provide feedback. I am disappointed you found our beverage prices inhibitive as they are centrally controlled in line with the hotel star rating. I am however glad you enjoyed your evening with us and do hope that we...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Like attending meetings in this hotel. Excellent meeting facilities. Comfortable rooms. Nice restaurant food. Easily accessible from Wales and other parts of UK. There are many parking spaces. Highly recommended .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Humphrey O
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Humphrey O, Thank you for your comments on your conference experience with us at The St Johns Hotel. I do hope that we host another of your future events and that we are able to welcome you back in the very near future. kind regards, Tony Furlong General Manager

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a night as we were going to see a show at the Genting arena nearby. The staff were all super friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and tidy. The place looks a little tired but it wouldn't stop us from staying there again. Great value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DE0972
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DE0972, Thank you for your recent stay with us at the St Johns Hotel and the comments you have provided. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind regards, Tony Furlong General Manager

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loads of floors on different levels could get easily lost. Nice and basic rooms. A bit old fashioned but goes with the age of the building. Rooms very hot even with heating off. Staff excellent and courteous. Had a buffet evening meal this was ok. Nothing special but hot and well stocked. Breakfasts are lovely with plenty to chose from....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo F
St Johns H, General Manager at The St. John's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo F, Thank you for your feedback as it’s greatly valued and is used in the improvement of our business. I have relayed your comments to my Heads of Departments in order to assess and improve upon the points you have mentioned. I do hope that should you return in future, you are able to have a more enjoyable...

430 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (268)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Standard Double (38)
Viewed
Standard Double (newly refurbished) (30)
Viewed
Suite (70)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.7 km away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
591 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Solihull Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
4.1 km away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
752 reviews
3.7 km away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The St. John's Hotel

Address: 651 Warwick Road | near Birmingham, Solihull B91 1AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Price Range: ₹ 3,999 - ₹ 9,466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. John's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The St. John's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Johns Hotel
The St. John's Hotel Solihull, West Midlands
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St. John's Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The St. John's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a different hotel.!!”
 of 5 bubbles lyndos22, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors would be quieter away from conference rooms on ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles stevedani64, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are in two separate wings, both equally good.”
 of 5 bubbles Q4048EAdaveb, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not sure we asked for ground floor and we got one.”
 of 5 bubbles Jandix, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose the side where the reception is”
 of 5 bubbles sabrinabM1513JZ, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5