We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

pentahotel Derby

Show Prices
#3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
pentahotel Derby
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,397: English reviews
Start your review of pentahotel Derby
 Click to rate
Coalville
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We got hotel on one of there offers so price was reasonable but then had to pay £5 for parking. Room was good but we had a massive bed with a small quilt, room was warm but kept waking up due to the quilt not covering us.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
Barnsley
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When you have to eat cereal off a plate and share a knife at breakfast think sums the stay at pentahotel up! Understaffed!! Shocking! We asked various times for a bowl and knife but it just never came!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank darrenhudds
JessicaDalyPenta, Manager at pentahotel Derby, responded to this review

Dear darrenhudds, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us at pentahotel Derby. I am truly sorry that we got things so wrong for you & I have sent you an email directly in order to discuss this in more detail. I hope that I can make things up for you, Very best...

Nottingham
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My boyfriend arrived to check in without any issues, assuming the service was good then! We came beck from the wedding at 1am to the all night bar. Staff seemed confused and it took at least 20 mins to order a drink. Although they did sell pizza at this time! Room was good and clean although I found the bathroom...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Filippa B
JessicaDalyPenta, Manager at pentahotel Derby, responded to this review

Dear Filippa B, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us here in Derby. It was disappointing to read that we only provided an average experience for you – this is not what we aim for. I apologise about the issues you experience with us during your stay and I can assure you this...

Sheffield
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff friendly and amenable, room ok, beds comfortable, plenty of tv viewing choices, which was handy because i had my grandchildren with me, the breakfast was first rate. i would definitely stay here again should the need arise.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 167trevorl
JessicaDalyPenta, Manager at pentahotel Derby, responded to this review

Dear Vincent, Thanks for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that we got things right for you & even more so, that you published your experience with pentahotels. I hope that you will be a regular visitor to us here at pentahotel Derby. Very best regards Jessica

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great hotel with such friendly staff. I stayed a couple of weekends in a row. The first weekend myself and partner were awoken but some noise and shouting happening in the opposite room. I explained to the staff in the morning, who were great and offered us a bigger room on our next stay which happened to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank baldishk2016
JessicaDalyPenta, Manager at pentahotel Derby, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us at pentahotels here on TripAdvisor. It was really nice to read your comments & I will be sure that the team are thanked for making your stay enjoyable. I hope that you will be a regular visitor to us here at pentahotel...

Harrington
Reviewed 1 week ago

Disable room good size however, shower floor raised edge was a real tripping hazard. Good long mirror but no sockets near it and hairdryer you needed to be super strong to be able to hold it and use it. Needed more thought into the layout of the room. Also the door rattled every time someone else in the corridor shut...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryN7327KT
JessicaDalyPenta, Manager at pentahotel Derby, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us at pentahotels. I am sorry that your visit didn’t quite meet the expectations that we would have both had. We always try to fix things for guests when issues arise and I am sorry that we did not get the opportunity to do...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with family to attend a wedding and were given 'wedding guest' rates for a two night stay. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly and helpful although check-in was a little slow. We booked a number of rooms in advance under one name but once checked in discovered that we were split up over three different floors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
JessicaDalyPenta, Manager at pentahotel Derby, responded to this review

Dear Julia, Thanks for the review of your stay with us at pentahotels. I am sorry that we didn’t get things quite right for you, we are always striving for perfection and I am sorry that your experience with us didn’t quite reach this level. If we can tempt you back to stay with us again I am sure that...

Chesterfield
Reviewed 1 week ago

Positives: Pretty much does what it says on the tin- our room was clean, reasonably-sized and had all we needed in it. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of options. Most staff were friendly though another member of our party did encounter one who was rude and uncooperative- she was the exception to the rule. Negatives: Check-in is from 3pm-...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChitinskyAnglichanin
JessicaDalyPenta, Manager at pentahotel Derby, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us here in Derby. It was disappointing to read that we only provided an average experience for you – this is not what we aim for. Please be assured that your feedback has been taken on board. We will always try and check guests...

Nottinghamshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Incredibly noisy. Wind blowing through the air conditioning system. Doors banging all through the night. No seperate check in / bar service and only 1 staff member at checkout times. Plus having to pay £5 for car parking even though you're a paying guest. Much better hotels for same or better price in same area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J3761WGianh
JessicaDalyPenta, Manager at pentahotel Derby, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us at pentahotels. I am sorry that your visit didn’t quite meet the expectations that we would have both had. We always try to fix things for guests when issues arise and I am sorry that we did not get the opportunity to...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A quirky hotel, all the staff are very pleasant and friendly. Room was good with a comfy bed. Plenty of tv viewing choice with everything being free (bonus). Food prices on the menu board were on the high side. but all in all a pleasant hotel to which I would have no qualms about using again in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank colinbarker1956
JessicaDalyPenta, Manager at pentahotel Derby, responded to this review

Dear Colin, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us at pentahotels here on TripAdvisor. It was really nice to read your comments & I will be sure that the team are thanked for making your stay enjoyable. I hope that you will be a regular visitor to us here at pentahotel Derby....

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.9 km away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,572 reviews
8.4 km away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
6.3 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.4 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
DELVE INTO DERBY From a perfect position in Pride Park, pentahotel Derby is a gateway to Derby's business district and all the city's attractions. Step inside and experience a hotel that's proud to be different. Our pentalounge - part hotel reception, part cool club - is the heart of penta: a friendly chill-out zone, designed by Italian architectural maestro Mattheo Thun. Your only problem will be wanting to extend your stay! The facilities at pentahotel Derby include an onsite restaurant, a gym with a sauna, three meeting rooms, and Wi-Fi in all areas. High-speed internet is available at a surcharge. Hotel rooms feature an air flow system, large flat-screen TVs with free movies and en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about pentahotel Derby

Address: Locomotive Way | Pride Park, Derby DE24 8PU, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Derby)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range: ₹ 4,558 - ₹ 11,463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your pentahotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Derby Hotel Derby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from pentahotel Derby staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from pentahotel Derby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Would think the rooms to the back are the most quiet - but no views to speak of from any”
 of 5 bubbles JuliaM272, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have room 107 check they have fixed the problems listed on my review”
 of 5 bubbles Romano489, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the third floor and had an amazing nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles pioneer_roofing, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Worth upgrading for the added luxuries for little cost.”
 of 5 bubbles robertrS9339MN, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Another hotel ?”
 of 5 bubbles Tina_and_Graham, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5