We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
27 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY England
Agoda.com
Etrip
StayForLong
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (7)

About

#6 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Fountains Guest House in Harrogate, North Yorkshire, is an elegant Victorian building dating back to 1891. At the end of an imposing terrace situated on the King’s Road, tastefully and smartly restored and retaining many of its original features, Fountains is a 10 bedroom all en-suite family run business which is a great place to stay for both holidaymakers and business trips. We are situated just two minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre and five minutes from the many bars, bistros and boutique shops of the famous Harrogate town centre.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Special diet menus
First aid kit
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Walk-in shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English
426Reviews4Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 383
  • 40
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ann F wrote a review Jan 2023
Alnwick, United Kingdom2 contributions
I really loved this guest house. So friendly and nothing too much bother. Sue was exceptional. And we were even allowed to have fish and chips delivered. Breakfast was exceptional. Rob, the owner, even asked if we would like some tea with our fish snd chips .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
berwyn22 wrote a review Jan 2023
Alnwick12 contributions51 helpful votes
We had a warm and comfortable two night stay made all the better by Sue the housekeeper who is very amiable finding nothing a problem. Oh the breakfast was very good and filling also, a great stay. Love Harrogate lots to see and do accessible to visiting lots more interesting sites
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
stephen b wrote a review Jan 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom80 contributions85 helpful votes
If you’re looking for somewhere to stay, I will save you the time. Just book this gem. We arrived very early Saturday morning, which wasn’t a problem the host was very pleasant warm and welcoming and great communication from start to finish. Location is excellent approximately 100m from the centre. Great fee car park, which the host offered we could leave the car for longer if we wanted to continue are browsing of the shops. The building itself is warm and welcoming and is very homely and some nice touches. Honestly bar , umbrellas ect. The room (room 8)was big and spacious and spotlessly clean . Massive bed , crisp fresh bedding , large fluffy towels, and great selection of teas and coffee ect. Nice touches yet again ironing facilities in the room. The en-suite was very clean and modern and the shower was very powerful and specious. Breakfast was beautiful fresh and plentiful , with a great selection of choices. Great friendly hospitality and pleasant surroundings in the dining room. Overall a great stay and I would highly recommend. Definitely would return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 8 large window overlooks a road but no noise pollution, great view and plenty of light
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Defender wrote a review Jan 2023
Hickling, United Kingdom30 contributions38 helpful votes
Found this highly rated guest house on Trip Advisor, ideally located centrally, within walking distance of my weeks work placement and with free parking on site. Previous excellent reviews tell the story. Spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable well appointed rooms. Excellent shower and comfy bed. My single room no. 5 was more than adequate for a three night stay. Iron with board, hairdryer, coffee/tea making with biscuits daily. Full English breakfast, freshly prepared, was so tasty and plentiful I didn’t need to eat again until the evening. Staff were all welcoming and engaging. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Recommend without hesitation and will be staying here on my next trip subject to availability.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Easy walk to the town centre. Quiet location.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harrogate Stays, Owner at Fountains Guest House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much Neil, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please do get in touch for a return visit. We have rooms at Fountains but also our sister property, The Belmont Apart Hotel. Thank you, Mark 🙏😊
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa J wrote a review Jan 2023
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for 3 nights at Fountains Guest house and was very happy with it. Clean, spacious room. Nice modern bathroom. Bed was pretty comfy. Biscuits and teabags provided (always a thumbs up). Nice and central. Absolutely banging breakfast with a superfriendly host (sorry don't know her name). Free parking too. It was all good. Teeny tiny minus point for hard pillows, and one of my bugbears for hotels/b&bs... no coat hooks!! (such an easy thing to do, WHY don't they. I know there's a wardrobe, but I don't want to put my wet coat in there) Harrogate is lovely, we'll definitely be back and I'll happily stay at Fontains again...maybe we'll wait til the Spring, when the weather has improved 😉
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harrogate Stays, Owner at Fountains Guest House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Ha Ha! This review has made me chuckle - Sue (was the host at breakfast) and has been working at Fountains for 16 years! She is a legend but when I've proposed hooks on the back of the doors, she is worried she might miss the towels hanging on the back of the doors as she's so stuck in her ways! I will pass this feedback on and see if we can get her on board! Thank you, we look forward to hosting you in future. Very best wishes, Mark
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christopher E wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Had a fantastic stay here, a spotless clean room very comfortable bed, great nights, sleep tea / coffee making facilities in room biscuits in room excellent en suite facilities the breakfast was first class Rob who was on breakfast was very attentive kept the coffee coming all the breakfast is cooked fresh would highly recommend the fountains guest House if your visiting Harrogate
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harrogate Stays, Owner at Fountains Guest House
Responded 4 weeks ago
So glad you enjoyed yourself and we would be delighted to host you again! Very best wishes, Mark 🙏🙏
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tonychapman2016 wrote a review Dec 2022
Yorkshire, United Kingdom37 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Had a great weekend stay at the Fountains Guest House Harrogate.entry in to guest house and rooms are by a cde so no danger of loosing keys. Rooms very spacious and clean comfortable large beds,bathroom excellent shower very modern deco. Breakfast great with choice of full English or choose from the menu. Special mention to Sue who wss grest at breakfast saturday offering tips where to go round Harrogate. Car park for 5 vehicles but can be tricky depending how other guests park their cars if car parks full the hotel provides parking vouchers for street parking.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harrogate Stays, Owner at Fountains Guest House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Tony, Thank you for leaving your review. So glad you enjoyed yourself and we would be delighted to host you again! We have recently marked out the car park to ensure guests park correctly. Very best wishes, Mark 🙏🙏
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Davescunningplan wrote a review Nov 2022
Clitheroe, United Kingdom425 contributions142 helpful votes
Can’t rate this place highly enough- comfortable, ventral and lovely breakfast. Super friendly too. Was in room 5 a single but plenty enough space and what looks like brand new spacious shower Small amount of parking. Easy tinges secure locks. Will be Bally to return
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harrogate Stays, Owner at Fountains Guest House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for leaving your lovely review Dave! So glad you enjoyed yourself and we would be delighted to host you again! Very best wishes, Mark 🙏🙏
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
criticman100 wrote a review Nov 2022
Sunderland, United Kingdom168 contributions63 helpful votes
Booked online instructions sent by email on entering property and access to bedroom Very clean with all amenities you need comfy bed also Breakfast served with a good choice and all freshly cooked very friendly staff Great location also will return
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harrogate Stays, Owner at Fountains Guest House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for leaving your review. We would be delighted to host you in future. Very best wishes, Mark
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GreekFreak2014 wrote a review Oct 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom47 contributions30 helpful votes
Great location in a quiet area. Ideal for a short walk into the town centre, takes around 5-10 mins. Parking for 4 cars at the rear but on street parking not a problem with a free parking scratch card supplied by the guest house. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. The hosts were very friendly. Would not hesitate to stay again in the future. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room 6 is a family room. Side street with no traffic noise. Green space across the road.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harrogate Stays, Owner at Fountains Guest House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for leaving your review. So glad you enjoyed yourself and we would be delighted to host you again! Very best wishes, Mark 🙏🙏
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the fountains hotel harrogate
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireHarrogate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FOUNTAINS GUEST HOUSE (Harrogate, Yorkshire) - B&B Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Fountains Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Fountains Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Harrogate Royal Hall (0.5 km), Christies Bar Harrogate (0.4 km), and Rafi's Spicebox (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fountains Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Fountains Guest House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Fountains Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fountains Guest House?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fountains Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oliveta, Konak Meze Turkish Restaurant (HARROGATE), and Spice Culture.
Is Fountains Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Harrogate.
Are there any historical sites close to Fountains Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mother Shipton's Cave (4.4 km) and Saint Wilfrid's Church (0.9 km).