We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Yorkshire Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Yorkshire Hotel
The Yorkshire Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,661 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,649: English reviews
Start your review of The Yorkshire Hotel
 Click to rate
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Rm 321, when I opened the door, I thought I was in the staff block,having been a s/employed decorator for 43 yrs, and working in many hotels in the lakes, I have never seen anywhere so in need of a complete redec, our two night stay for our 25th anniversary bought for us by our children, the view from our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plowis53
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Reception area is nice and the location is great - Right in the middle of the centre of town, opposite Betty's tea room. The room was alright... It was a nice size overall. Rooms are very dimly lit and its not a good light for getting ready! Only one spare plug in the entire room. The bathroom smelled stale /...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodieNCL
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Oh my god Yorkshire Hotel you need to get your act together the room we had was a lovely size but desperately needs some attention a lick of paint would be good also the bathroom was disgusting and dirty the tiles need some attention I did complain and was given keys to look at two other rooms but they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison S
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have just returned as two families with a four room booking. Let's start with the positives. Great location. Ok that's the positives done. This hotel cannot be described as tired .... that would be putting it mildly. It's absolutely bloody exhausted! Such a massive disappointment that I have cancelled rooms booked for later in the year. The whole place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked with this hotel via buyagift. I knew it was going to be a dated hotel but the place is desperately in need of a tune up. In our room (every room was a different size) wall paper was falling off the walls, rusty old rattly windows, its in desperate need of repair. Probably out of the ordinary but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ethank2150
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were given a voucher for Christmas and decided to upgrade it for a 2 night stay here, we also upgraded to a better room. We were really looking forward to a little break and I have to say that when we walked in to reception I was really impressed, such a lovely building and quite grand reception area, How...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathonmark
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really looking forward to our break which was a Christmas gift from our son. On arrival the receptionist could not find our booking - hardly the most welcoming experience! On helping her to eventually resolve this we were eventually faced with a room which to be kind needed a drastic re-fresh. The wall paper was coming away from the wall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dhylandi
Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We spent two nights at this hotel - a birthday gift from our daughter. We knew, from previous reviews, that the hotel was in need of some tlc, but even so we were surprised at just how desperate this was needed. Our room was very small and cramped. Probably because the bed was obviously two singles pushed together to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UKMaryanne
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear UKMaryanne, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests. I am sorry that you found the hotel to be a little on the tired side, I must agree with you that in certain areas it is tired however this is reflected...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at The Yorkshire several times before and have had no complaints. Sorry to say this time I found the room awful. Cold, draughty, no space, not very clean. The bed was worn on one side as you could hardly walk around the end of the bed to get to the other side. Also the kettle was at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debra M, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests. I am sorry that you did not find room 203 up to the usual standard that you have experienced when you have stayed before, I do wish that you had told...

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel from a voucher Christmas gift and were very much looking forward to an overnight stay. When we arrived the receptionists, whilst friendly enough, gave me a check in card to complete for someone with the same surname - a clear breach of data protection as it contained all their personal information! When we got the key...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bec B
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bec B, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service to all of guests. I am sorry that the hotel was a disappointment to you. Kindest Regards Robert Warren

577 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (327)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (149)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (246)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Family Room (27)
Viewed
Feature Room - 404 (28)
Viewed
Feature Room - 501 (26)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Signature Room (36)
Viewed
Standard Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Twin Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
1,197 reviews
0.9 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#14 of 31 in Harrogate
1,456 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 31 in Harrogate
1,061 reviews
0.7 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 31 in Harrogate
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
HG1 Bar
HG1 Bar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range: ₹ 4,778 - ₹ 9,557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Yorkshire Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Romsey, United Kingdom
durham
over a year ago
Northwich, United Kingdom
15 days ago
2 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Yorkshire Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Anywhere but here”
 of 5 bubbles plowis53, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 406 was nice really big, nice views.”
 of 5 bubbles ethank2150, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“look elsewhere for a good room”
 of 5 bubbles jonathonmark, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not allow yourself to be allocated a room at the rear of the hotel. There is no outlook and you will be disturbed by lorries”
 of 5 bubbles Dhylandi, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't get room no. 203”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5