We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1-3 Franklin Mount, Harrogate HG1 5EJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$112
View deal
Expedia.com
$120
View deal
Agoda.com
$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/02/23
Hotels.com$120
Travelocity$120
Priceline$120
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (178)
Dining (19)
Room & Suite (15)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#19 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Grafton is one of Harrogate's most elegant guesthouses. Our chic townhouse setting is just a few minutes' walk from the town centre - close to Harrogate International Centre, restaurants and shops, but far enough away to offer peace and tranquility to our guests. With recently modernised rooms and a warm, friendly atmosphere, we provide the perfect blend of style and intimacy. Enjoy luxurious decor, flat-screen television and complimentary high speed wi-fi access - features designed to enhance your stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Private check-in / check-out
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Telephone
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Portuguese, Romanian
777Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 609
  • 132
  • 23
  • 10
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
SS4424 wrote a review Dec 2022
47 contributions45 helpful votes
We stayed in room 5, and our friends stayed in room 11 for two nights over a freezing cold weekend. Yes, the breakfast thing may be an issue for some, but flipping heck, it's only a hundred yards to the Ascot, and they do a bloody good breakfast well worth the walk and £15 charge for Full English and all the extras. Our room was totally immaculate, comfortable and lovely and warm. The bed was very comfortable, thought perhaps some firmer pillows might suit some people. The bathroom too was spotless. Piping hot water, plentiful toiletries, and plentiful towels too on a nice heated rail. We had a bath with shower over, and our friends just a shower. Being the weekend, we both parked right outside on the street and placed our permits in the windscreen. Ten minutes walk into the town. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place for anyone needing a base to explore Harrogate from.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: There can't be any noisy rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 13 Dec 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again soon. For best room rates please remember to book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo wrote a review Dec 2022
Hetton-le-Hole, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
I had really high hopes for this B&B as stated in a lot of the big hotels in Harrogate and wanted to try something a bit more boutique. Unfortunately I was extremely disappointed. Parking was a bit of a challenge on the street, place had no atmosphere at all and seemed to have no soul. Check in was quick but on the way to room the stench of bleach in the corridors was overwhelming, this carried on into the room itself. Guy said they were having a deep clean!Then the icing on the cake when unpacking and placing my things into the drawers to find the last guests underwear, I mean seriously. I compromised with the no breakfast thing thinking the room would be amazing with lots of little extras but no, it was big granted, but just felt empty. Sorry but will not be returning here
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 8 Dec 2022
We are very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We again sincerely apologise for the couple of housekeeping mistakes, and we will take all necessary steps to ensure these can be avoided in the future. As for atmosphere, we can only assume you should have opted for a large hotel where there are lots of people around! We consider your review rating unreasonable & harsh, and are confident anyone reading it will also agree.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nelly Mae wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom11 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed at the Grafton for a weekend and was disappointed. Beautiful room with lovely touches but the place lacked any kind o& atmosphere When something is advertised as a B & B you assume that breakfast is included or available ! Wrong , they don't do breakfast any more and we didn’t realise until the day before when we received details of places nearby offering breakfast. Free parking was street parking with a permit. Very good location for the centre of Harrogate, just a ten minute walk.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 22 Nov 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. We are pleased to hear you were happy with your room, although sorry to hear you were unaware we no longer provide breakfast. We hope you will decide to stay with us again, please remember for best room rates to book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy_and_Daniel2010 wrote a review Oct 2022
Guernsey, United Kingdom202 contributions131 helpful votes
I recently stayed here with my girlfriend for a very pleasant weekend break in lovely Harrogate, first impressions are that it’s a nice leafy area with some lovely houses just away from the town centre, parking is roadside buy plentiful and is definitely easier at weekends. The building has nice kerb appeal, we were greeted by a lovely lady who was taking care of the place for the owners and was very friendly and informative. The communal areas are very welcoming and stylish, the room on arrival was very stylish and well appointed, there was everything you could need and want, appreciate this is a B&B and not a hotel but my only reason for not giving it 5 is that for what is still a fairly high price they do not offer any sort of breakfast, a place of this quality and level should surely be offering this ? I get it with corporate/ road side places where people are off and out at all hours but a place like this ? Or am I missing the point ? Either way a lovely place, a good choice but for the money I may look around a bit more in the area next time ? :(
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 12 Nov 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again soon. For best room rates please remember to book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TM wrote a review Sep 2022
Essex, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
Good location with free parking right outside. Lovely welcome, very helpful. Large, clean room (No. 10), very comfortable bed and quiet at night even with window open. Stylish guest lounge, ideal for curling up with a book or newspaper. 10 minute walk into centre of Harrogate. Would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Short walk to centre of Harrogate. Good range of shops and places to eat. Commercial St has...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 12 Nov 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again soon. For best room rates please remember to book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kerryboyd wrote a review Aug 2022
Doncaster, United Kingdom16 contributions8 helpful votes
This was not a hotel , it’s a bed as no breakfast so not a 5 star BandB , definitely didn’t like the area , property’s around were very ruff , A guy came to the door gave us a key , told us up stairs keep left then never saw anyone again , very , very disappointing , we had room 16 , yes nice big room but that’s the only plus , definitely will not go back .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We agree we are not a hotel, and not sure why you would think we were when you made the booking. Clearly you did not fully understand what you had booked & we are then criticised for your mistake. To avoid future disappointment, can we suggest when making bookings you always check the details of the property. Our guests often compliment on how nice the area is at the Grafton, you are the first to say otherwise!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dazzatate wrote a review Aug 2022
Bolzano, Italy14 contributions17 helpful votes
Brilliant find, less than 5 mins walk to centre of town. Free parking. Room was massive and beautiful. Bed and pillows really comfy. Definitely recommend and will absolutely be staying here again next time we’re in Harrogate.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Thankyou for taking the time to review the Grafton. It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you agai soon. For best room rates please remember to book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
flowers99 wrote a review Aug 2022
norwich44 contributions11 helpful votes
Enjoyed a bath and nice toiletries, lots of lovely good quality tea, biscuits and hot chocolate. Room a good size, bathroom too. Nice bed linen. My husband liked the mattress and pillows and for me they were too soft! We would return to this place and would recommend room 1 (?). Easy parking right outside, efficient checkin. Good location and for us great value. (Last minute booking as trains to Edinburgh were unexpectedly cancelled so we drove instead and stopped off here halfway. We booked direct with hotel.) We’ve stayed n Harrogate lots of times before at other places but would look at booking here first in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again soon. For best room rates remember to book direct on our website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nartinio wrote a review Jun 2022
Bath, United Kingdom38 contributions16 helpful votes
I have been visiting the Grafton for a few years now. Very clean rooms, nice owners. But apparently they no longer provide breakfasts. So with sadness, I will stay elsewhere from now on. Good luck to the establishment by the way.... But for old fashioned me, Hotels, B and B's etc, should always offer a breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 2 Jul 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grafton. Although you have enjoyed your previous stays, we are saddened to hear you will no longer be staying us on future visits. We are sure you are aware of the staffing difficulties faced by many businesses throughout the UK, and in particular the hospitality industry. As a consequence we decided the best cause of action for the Grafton would be to offer room only accommodation, at least for the immediate future. To some extent we are lucky to be in central Harrogate where there are many nice cafes offering freshly cooked, delicious food only a few minutes walk from us. We hope "old fashioned you" will have a change of heart on your next trip to Harrogate, and consider the Grafton again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
weejake2 wrote a review Jun 2022
Carnwath, United Kingdom82 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights in a superior double room. It was so nice and spotlessly clean with everything you needed. The room was really spacious and had a nice seated area. There was a huge TV which was great as the bed was quite far away from the screen. You could log into netflix etc which was also good. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, orange juice, biscuits and little hard boiled sweets replenished every day. All the toiletries that you needed as well as cotton wool and hankies. It was just all the little extras that made it so nice to stay there. The host was lovely too and there was a fruit bowl at reception each morning that you could help yourself to. The only spoiler was that there was no breakfast provided after we'd booked it. We did get an email telling us in advance and also got a discount which was good. I don't know if it was to do with staff shortages but it works have been good to nip down for breakfast before starting our day. It's maybe an idea to get rid of the plastic throw away toiletries for environmental reasons and replace with refillable soap/shampoo dispensers but that's not really a criticism, more a personal thing. I'd thoroughly recommend this place and will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Addison, Owner at The Grafton
Responded 20 Jun 2022
Thank you taking the time to review the Grafton. It's great hear you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again soon. For best room rates please remember to book direct on the Grafton website.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$111 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the grafton hotel harrogate
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireHarrogate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GRAFTON (Harrogate, Yorkshire) - B&B Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Grafton
Which popular attractions are close to The Grafton?
Nearby attractions include Christies Bar Harrogate (0.5 km), Rafi's Spicebox (0.4 km), and Commercial Street (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grafton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Grafton?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Grafton?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grafton?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grafton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oliveta, Konak Meze Turkish Restaurant (HARROGATE), and Mykonos Bar & Grill.
Is The Grafton located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Harrogate.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Grafton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Portuguese, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Grafton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mother Shipton's Cave (4.3 km) and Saint Wilfrid's Church (1.0 km).