We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing

Save
Share
The Queenshead Kettlesing, Harrogate HG3 2LB England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$94
View deal
Priceline
Agoda.com$100
eDreams$94
Vio.com
Etrip
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (52)
Dining (42)
Room & Suite (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#15 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Queens Head at Kettlesing near Harrogate is a traditional country inn serving good home cooked food, well kept real ales from Masham & Knaresborough and comfortable B&B accommodation. We're mad about traditional homemade English food. Whether it's our all day Sunday Lunches or our famous Old Peculier steak pie or our yummy puddings, you can be assured you won't leave hungry. Our specials board changes regularly and the menu is varied and interesting. Don't forget we're open all day for food on Sundays when many other local restaurants are closed. The bar at the Queens Head has the welcoming hospitality, warmth and character of a traditional Yorkshire country inn, serving a selection of local real ales from Masham and Knaresborough
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
308Reviews6Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 257
  • 41
  • 6
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
richard s wrote a review 23 Jan
Holmfirth, United Kingdom32 contributions9 helpful votes
The Queens Head is a wonderful pub in a small village off the A59 six miles away from Harrogate. Our room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean, with a king size bed and a sizable en suite. On a sub-zero weekend in January it was also warm and cosy. We dined in the pub. The food was excellent and the service first class. I had the steak pie, which was the best I have ever tasted. Three well kept real ales were on offer which went down well with my meal. In the morning we were served a hearty full English breakfast, made with quality, fresh ingredients. Top notch! We had come to Harrogate for a rugby match which was postponed due to a frozen pitch. No matter, it was worth making the trip just for the night at the Queens Head.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Louise, the landlady, is very nice and helpful. Give her a call.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Garbutt, Owner at Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing
Responded yesterday
Brilliant! Sounds like you had a great stay with us. Appreciated the lovely review and feedback. Best pie ever - high praise indeed. We like to think our pie is one of the best and we always try to make our pub as warm and welcoming as possible. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pauld1420 wrote a review 12 Jan
Devon13 contributions7 helpful votes
Four nights here, an excellent choice all round. In particular thoroughly enjoyed the food and beer. Bedrooms were warm and beds very large and very comfortable, owners and staff very friendly and helpful. Exactly what was needed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Garbutt, Owner at Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing
Responded yesterday
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. And especially the food and beer. We strive to keep our beer to a high standard and we do good home cooked food done well. So it’s nice when we hear that we’ve hit the spot. Hope you will stay with us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SaltburnJohn wrote a review Dec 2022
Chiang Mai, Thailand7 contributions
Table was ready on our arrival. A warm and friendly welcome from the owner and staff. The menu was varied and excellent value. All of us had the Christmas lunch except for my grandson who had the steak pie. Child portions were offered at a reduced price. The food was cooked to perfection, especially the vegetables. My grandchildren both had deserts which were greatly appreciated. My son-in-law and me both commented, on seeing the deserts, that we had made a mistake by declining them initially. On our next visit, we won't make that mistake again. Summarising, a rewarding experience for all. I wish that I lived nearer to Kettlesing
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Garbutt, Owner at Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing
Responded 3 weeks ago
So glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Queens Head. Big mistake not trying our desserts!! Next time… It’s always nice to know that we’ve made our customers happy. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eviemac9 wrote a review Dec 2022
Pickering, United Kingdom51 contributions41 helpful votes
Met friends here for lunch having chosen the pub as equi-distance for us all. Lovely fire roaring in the bar, good range of home cooked pub food. Very friendly staff and lovely atmosphere. Food was excellent and good value for money. We all had a hot meal and it was genuinely fresh and hot from the kitchen. Staff were happy for us to have a break before desserts which were also lovely. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Garbutt, Owner at Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing
Responded 3 weeks ago
Sounds like you enjoyed your visit to the Queens Head. We try to offer a cosy, village pub atmosphere with good food and a roaring fire at this time of the year. Glad you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tommy b wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
A wonderful warm welcome from Louise, taken to our room after a welcoming chat, the room a twin bedded ensuite room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the bathroom was with shower and a corner bath, tea and coffee making facilities were in the main bedroom, ample plugs, after an afternoon nap we went down to the bar where there was a lovely open fire and enjoyed a drink in the bar,the evening was busy and all rooms were occupied which made the atmosphere lovely and we chatted to other guests and locals before taking our evening meal , the food was delicious and whow what a lovely choice of home cooked food, all I can say about the meal was it was terrific 10 / 10 wonderful,. The next morning after a leisurely breakfast which again was 5 star we departed, I can't wait to return hopefully in February with the family, a heartfelt thank you to the queens head,to the staff and Louise for making our stay a wonderful one.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Garbutt, Owner at Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing
Responded 3 weeks ago
10/10 and 5 star! High praise indeed. Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you in February.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sara H wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
What a wonderful hidden gem just outside Harrogate. A lovely country pub, we’ve stayed 2 nights, the food and ambience has been amazing, we will definitely return. Thank you so much Lou. for making our stay so nice and welcoming, nothing was to much trouble
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good private car park at the rear, very quiet location
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Garbutt, Owner at Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks Sara. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Lou and the whole team work hard to make our guests feel welcome and have a lovely time. So pleased you enjoyed our food. Make sure you visit us again soon. We’d love to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris255325 wrote a review Oct 2022
Newcastle, Australia140 contributions40 helpful votes
Specifically took the time to find this pub to have dinner afte3r hearing such good reviews from locals. It did not disappoint. Had the lamb chops which were " first rate!" The ales were pretty good as well :) Came all the way from Australia to find it while staying in the Dales for a few days!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Garbutt, Owner at Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Chris, living in Australia is no excuse for not visiting us again soon!! Only kidding. What a lovely review! Thank you so much. We appreciate feedback, especially when it is so good. Our lamp chops are good aren’t they? Come back and visit us again next time you are over here!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrLRLangridge wrote a review Oct 2022
Yorkshire, United Kingdom1 contribution
A great place to visit whilst out for a drive. This place was worth the stop. A warm welcome and a table by the window in the sunshine. We did not reserve, but we was found a spot to dine, A lively atmosphere and busy, but not crowded for a Tuesday lunch time, just right! A lovely pint of Theakston's best. The food was the Queens Head brunch and Brie and Bacon hot sandwich. generous portion size and very tasty too! Did not disappoint, we could have stayed and drank more if not for prior arrangements.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Garbutt, Owner at Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing
Responded 31 Oct 2022
That's a shame that you weren't able to!! Thanks for your kind words. We appreciate the feedback We do like to think we serve an excellent pint of real ale. Glad you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere too. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian O wrote a review Sep 2022
Castle Pines, Colorado91 contributions29 helpful votes
Went in to have dinner, made reservations, got seated and sat at our table for quite a while with no service. Finally went to the bar and asked if our server was coming. I was told they were busy and it would help if I ordered at a second bar. I stood in line at the second bar for several minutes again only to find out that what we wanted to order was not available. Turns out their menu is not great and we could not find a second choice. Seems they could have told us up front what they were out of but they didn't. We went there based on a recommendation and heard the place was good. Maybe we caught them on a bad night but it was a bust for us, a total waste of our time. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Garbutt, Owner at Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing
Responded 12 Sep 2022
Thanks for your review Brian. We're really disappointed you didn't enjoy your visit to the Queens Head yesterday (Sunday) As we're a pub, we don't tend to do table service. Customers order at the bar, which is the way in many pubs in the UK. We apologise for any misunderstanding. We were exceedingly busy yesterday, and our staff were working flat out all day. At very busy times, there may be a delay in getting served at the bar, but we do try out best to get people served as quickly as possible. As for our menu not being great, we offer a wide range of main courses, as well as starters and desserts. For example, we offer the following: 9 Main Course options on main menu 8 Main Course Specials - every day 4 Sunday Lunch options - on Sunday - the day you visited us. 4 salads Numerous hot and cold sandwiches That's a pretty big menu for a pub. Clearly on busy days, it is possible that we run out of certain items. We can't hold unlimited stock of everything. We plan our food offering around the norm, but very occasionally we get caught out. With a menu this size, together with the Sunday Lunch options, we would hope there would be something for everyone. As you'll see from our other great reviews, we usually offer a great experience. Perhaps you can contact us direct via our website and give us another go and se if we can get it right for you? We look forward to hearing from soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
john j wrote a review Aug 2022
Warwick, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
This was our second visit to the Queens head and we had a really good 3 night stay and ate in every night. Our room was very comfortable and both breakfasts and evening meals were excellent. They were freshly prepared and substantial. We thought the room rate and meals were good value for money Louise worked very hard to make our stay as good as possible. She cooked breakfast, was changing and cleaning rooms and working in the evening. I’m not sure how she keeps up such a friendly persona with so much work Electric car charging is a positive for us and there was no issue about using the charger which was free. There are 4 chargers in a huge car park so there was never an issue We can thoroughly recommend this as a great place to stay and will no doubt visit again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Garbutt, Owner at Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Hi Guys, Thank you for your lovely review. Louise works her sock off for the Queens Head and we couldn't do what we do without her. Delighted that you were pleased with your room and enjoyed the food too. It's always nice to hear that we're doing a decent job and people appreciate our efforts. The electric charge points for our customers are becoming hugely popular - for obvious reasons!! We look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Queens Head.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$88 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireHarrogate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

QUEENS HEAD INN AT KETTLESING (Harrogate, Yorkshire) - Inn Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing
Which popular attractions are close to Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing?
Nearby attractions include Clue HQ - Harrogate (7.7 km), Live For Today (6.5 km), and Spirit of Harrogate Ltd (7.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pranzo Italian Harrogate, Oliveta, and Essenza Bar & Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to Queens Head Inn at Kettlesing?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Saint Wilfrid's Church (6.9 km) and Washburn Heritage Centre (4.5 km).