We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The St George Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The St George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

955 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The St George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 951: English reviews
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Beautiful period property that has been carefully maintained to keep the elegance of a more refined age. Reception staff friendly and efficient and the room was large, clean and well furnished. We had booked a double room but there were also two bunk beds tucked away in an alcove. Dinner was disappointing as the food options were quite restricted but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LazyB64
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

The weather of late has been exceptionally good and so the hotel has been quite hot. You’re correct in saying that we don't have air conditioning but fans can be requested from the reception. It is a legal requirement to fit window restrictors and I can only sympathise with you and apologise for any inconvenience cause due to the heat....

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed at The George at least six times via Mr Shearing. It is second to none. The food wonderful, the staff courteous, friendly and helpful. My room very comfortable. Thank you to all the staff. I will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank joyce m
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a lovely review! I am so happy you were satisfied with all aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked a Sunday lunch, no one in restaurant, no one to welcome us in restaurant and once we found some staff, lack of attention continued. We were looking forward to a pleasant experience, but beef was tough, lamb was OK. Complained to duty Manager who did listen but made no offers to recognise our disappointment or remedy matters. We got...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rreginwlk
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you found the service in the restaurant less than adequate on your recent visit. I will be looking into the issues you encountered with a view to ensuring the service offered meets customer expectations. Thank you for the post.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just got back from a one night stay in this hotel. All the public areas were very comfortable and clean. Our room was also very clean although noisy as we were on the front. The bathroom was desperately in need of refurbishing. The sink had chips round it and the shelf on the wall was rusty. A big plus would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lynda B
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

We are currently undergoing a bathroom refurbishment programme and although some are indeed old, they are spotlessly clean. The fact that your sink was chipped is unacceptable and this has been replaced immediately after seeing your comments. Thank you.

Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have just returned from yet another brilliant week in this lovely hotel. I travelled with Shearings Grand Tourer and the transport and excursions were excellent. The reception staff are extremely helpful and friendly and greet you with a smile! The food in the restaurant was very good, a buffet style breakfast, and waiter/waitress service for evening meals with plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank IreneBo
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. I am so pleased that you shared your thoughts with other Trip Advisor users and would like to thank you for the kind comments you placed regarding our staff. We would be pleased to welcome you back in the future.

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Having read a previous damning review of the hotel, I was dubious. My experience of the hotel was totally opposite to the previous contributor We found our room clean and comfortable. The restaurant service was top class and the meals excellent. The hotel had a past ambiance and history about it. I can recommend and don't think that you will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brymar
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & thank you so much for your 5 star review. I have passed on your comments to the staff who are delighted with your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on another fantastic Shearings Holiday.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were booked into this hotel through a group tour. It was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. I was in a single room, with a single bed and a bathroom which had peeling paint, a hot water system that scalded me everytime I used it. Outside the rooms, the carpet on the corridor was all...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Cynthia L
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

There is indeed a bar, a dining room but also a fully equipped leisure club (which is an added extra in Harrogate). I have reviewed the comment cards during this break and have had no other reports regarding the poor food quality. I can assure you that we don't water down any of our products and also the toasters are...

Windermere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights mid week in July last year, we were very comfortable and decided to stay here again. On this occasion our room was spotless and I think newly decorated but as we had booked a standard room we were at the back of the hotel, room 136 just above the extractor fans from the kitchen,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Discerning055
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. I have passed your comments on to my team who will be delighted to welcome you back for a third time!

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed a couple of nights for the tour. Staff fine,gym adequate, food ok. It's a real shame the ownes don't invest some cash upgrading the rooms as the hotel is in a fantastic location and it demands some investment to make it a better hotel. I get the impression it's a stop on the coach guided tour route and is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mr G
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Our company has invested over 2.5 million so far on this fabulous property. Whilst we agree that some areas are in need of refurbishment most areas have been refurbished to an excellent standard. With over 50 properties in the group, it’s a matter of prioritising however most of our bedrooms and all public areas have been refurbished including 12 brand...

Norfolk, England
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for the Tour de France weekend and were very happy with both the room and the service we received; the team running the hotel are all young and they worked unbelieveably hard during the busiest weekend they will ever have. The room was fine, recently redecorated, bed very comfortable, clean, etc. Big buffet breakfast, bar food food very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ADNaturephotography
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Its wonderful to read your 5 star review and very much appreciated. My team worked amazingly hard over the weekend and in preparation for it too. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel, perhaps if you decide to cycle some of the Yorkshire Grand Depart, you will always be welcome with your...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
1,127 reviews
0.2 km away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
2,387 reviews
0.6 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
5.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range: ₹ 4,332 - ₹ 9,704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St George Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Skegness
North Shields, United Kingdom
Peterborough, UK

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The St George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had rooms that were allocated to us and they were perfect for our needs”
 of 5 bubbles thomasg805, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Right opposite the Exibition centre”
 of 5 bubbles keithr573, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles LancashireCharlie, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room at the rear of the hotel, ie not overlooking the road.”
 of 5 bubbles Moragus, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the main road do not have as much traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles greeceaddict1956, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay