We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The St George Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The St George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,009 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The St George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,005: English reviews
Wollaston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Just had a weekend here with friends. Hotel was fine although a little dated - could definitely do with a lick of paint here and there. Good value for money - maybe slightly more choice could be offered for dinner in the included set menu. Staff very friendly and helpful - one little niggle they had no baileys in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorthantsAquababe
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Harrogate is famous for its shopping the place for designer labels and independent retailers as well as the usual high street names there's something for everyone. I am pleased you had a nice stay and would urge you to return in the summer when it boasts a magnificent display of flowers throughout the town. Kind Regards Edwina

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2014 via mobile

Returned today from 3 nights at this hotel. I wrote a review of it 2 years ago but was a bit worried as I read a negative review last week. Staff couldn't do enough to help and the food was amazing altho I believe someone complained last night that it took 45 minutes for them to be served and eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2205Julie1953
EdwinaStevens, Director of Sales at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review the staff will be thrilled. Kind Regards Edwina

spalding
Reviewed 15 November 2014

My wife & myself stayed on half board basis week commencing 11/11/2014. We booked on line at a great price with £25.00 each to spend in the hotel. The hotel is clean and very close to town centre. It is a little dated but saying that it is great value for money. The hotel staff are very good. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank philip s
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I am happy that overall you enjoyed your break but disappointed you describe most areas as outdated despite a refurb costing in excess of 2 million pounds. I was unaware of the damp in your room but this will be investigated and repaired immediately. Kind Regards Edwina

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2014

We stayed 3 nights the room was nice enough even though it overlooked the car park.The food was nice except for the Saturday night when there was little choice and the vegetarian main course was literally inedible.The staff we dealt with were very good, we enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your views we always have 3 starters, 5 main courses and 3 desserts on offer with an option to upgrade for a small supplement to an Al La Carte item. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return in the future. Kind Regards Edwina

Halstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Just wanted to thank the staff at St George Hotel. My 87 year old mother and two of her friends stayed at the hotel last week. She fell ill on her last day and had to go to hospital for checks. The staff were excellent. The took care of everything and extended her stay by one day for her and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank briand2014
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I am so happy your mother is feeling better as she gave us all quite a scare, I am also very pleased with my staffs efforts during this situation and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your views. Kind Regards Edwina

Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2014

A lovely central hotel with oodles of charm and atmosphere. Stayed overnight to attend a conference in Harrogate and was very pleased with the food,room and overall service. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tezfez1959
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is thoroughly appreciated by myself and my team who are happy you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Edwina

Reviewed 8 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before and always thought it was lovely but this time me and my husband thought it had gone extremely downhill, staff are no help at all, food was shocking quality to what we have had before, bar staff seemed like they didnt want to be there - when they finally came to the bar to serve. Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yorkshire99lass
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you did not express your views whilst at the hotel as we could have exchanged/replaced your meal with a more suitable option, I have looked through the comment cards during these dates and the food results were good. I will certainly investigate your comment regarding my staff and hope you return to the hotel so...

blackpool
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Went with SHEARINGS on a 5 day holiday trip from the Northwest ..Andy was our driver and being a local lad his knowledge was excellent of the area apart from his jokes :( ha ha ..well wasn't disappointed Harrogate was a lovely little place with some lovely little shops. The George Hotel was just the job..on arrival the Hotel reception...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank linda446
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the added bonus of the leisure club facilities. There is nothing better than relaxing in the spa especially on a cold winters day like today. I agree that the hotels location cannot be faulted as it is ideally situated in the centre of town. Thanks for placing the review and...

Reviewed 2 November 2014

Happy to see that you have new car park bollards in place, don't have to worry about my space being taken again! Had to pay a £5 deposit for key which is returned when you return the key - a much better system. Third stay at The St George and was asked to place a review by reception so thought...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Barbara O
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased to see that the money invested in the new car parking system is appreciated by our guests. It will certainly ensure that guests will not find another vehicle parked in their bay after a trip out. Thanks for the review I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay enough to return again and again. We...

Reviewed 2 November 2014

We had a great stay, restaurant staff Ryan and Daniel particularly helpful and very good with my 90 year old mother. Food hot and delicious - no complaints there. I especially liked the buffet breakfast. Stayed in room 200 which was spacious, clean and warm. Did not experience any noise as other reviews suggest. Would definately reccomend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Samantha N
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I have passed your comments on to Daniel and Ryan who were so pleased you mentioned them in your review. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Edwina

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,222 reviews
0.2 km away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
2,605 reviews
0.6 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range: ₹ 5,034 - ₹ 12,462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St George Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Skegness
North Shields, United Kingdom

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The St George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request rear bedroom.”
j0j00605, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room as hotel is opposite a night club and can be noisy”
834janines, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Just ask rooms at back are quieter”
jainex, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“High floors were quieter. Corner rooms had more views”
713ritab, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at rear are quiet but overlook the car park”
alc194561, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5