We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lawrance

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Lawrance
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Lawrance
See the most recent reviews
Showing 249: English reviews
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

when we first arrived at these apartments we couldn't believe how amazing there were, nice and clean, very close to everything, the reason I'm giving this such a poor review is beucase they have ripped us off with not returning our deposit! yes the rooms might of needed hovering and the sheets cleaning from drinks and make up, to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank lyndseyboro
TheLawrance, Manager at The Lawrance, responded to this review

At The Lawrance we take a security deposit for all group bookings. In the event that we find broken items and damage to the property, we do reserve the right to retain your security deposit. Upon entering the property, we found that three of the apartments were left in a perfectly reasonable state with no issues. However, two of the...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Don't go horrible place, horrible staff, stunk, manager horrible, totally over rated! Got charged for things they said were broke when they were all fine when we left! Joke! Absolute joke! They lied about several things and took deposit of us

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Martez G
TheLawrance, Manager at The Lawrance, responded to this review

I believe you may have been staying with the person who wrote the review above. I find your reaction to the situation very aggressive and uncalled for. Sadly we will not be welcoming members from your group back to The Lawrance in the future.

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

These apartments were a great location for a 40th birthday celebration for a group of 10. Comfy beds, a little kitchen with everything you may need, big towels and a nice shower & big bath. The only downside was a funny smell, which we found was a bin from the previous people that had dirty nappies in. As we discovered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
TheLawrance, Manager at The Lawrance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for the feedback, especially concerning our contracted Housekeeping Company, this information has been passed on to their manager. Please accept our apologies for any discomfort this caused during your stay with us and please be assured that The Lawrance will not tolerate poor standards from contractors going forward, Don't forget to claim your 15% discount from...

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Wow these apartments are amazing. Keys are left in a secure box outside the room that you are given a code for on arrival. Walked in to a box of cakes from Betty's tea room and some red wine and milk. Apartment had a bathroom and a separate toilet. Kitchen was ample room, living a dining room together and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniellewanderlust
TheLawrance, Manager at The Lawrance, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review and comments, I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the apartments I do hope to see you back at The Lawrance for another enjoyable stay soon :)

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in for 3 nights superb. Erica was so helpful and efficient and very cheerful. As was David was on a previous visit on the 8th 9th of August. Will be back that's for sure. Kind regards to David and Erica. Lorraine and Peter Boughton

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
TheLawrance, Manager at The Lawrance, responded to this review

Thank you for the brilliant review and feedback, I will make sure Erica and David are passed on these super comments, thank you so much!

Koh Tao, Thailand
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed only one night in one of the beautiful apartments on Duchy Road. The beds were extremely comfortable and the shower was lovely. Although it was very warm in the apartment through the day, I would definitely stay again and highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SophieJoyTrotter
TheLawrance, Manager at The Lawrance, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review and feedback, I hope to see you again soon!

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Having now stayed in both Lawrance Apartments in York and Harrogate I can clearly state that our recent stay in Harrogate was up to the usual and expected high standards. The apartment was on the Kings Road complex was extremely comfortable, quiet and well equipped. Parking was a 10 minute walk away on Duchy Road. This is far better value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wakor
TheLawrance, Manager at The Lawrance, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the excellent review and comments! I am really pleased to hear you enjoy the apartments and will be returning soon

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Great place really friendly welcome by the staff on reception.apartment was spotless and had been tastefully decorated bathroom had a deep bath which was great.not my first visit and it won't be my last I love these apartments in Harrogate and York and look forward to returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terence C
TheLawrance, Manager at The Lawrance, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely feed back and review, I look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Location wise it's perfect. Parking at Duchy Road was convenient. We stayed in apartment studio 4 which was clean and spacious. However it was warm for the two nights we stayed and as the apartment was on street level we couldn't leave the window open at night. Whilst there is a fan it was stiflingly hot to the point where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travellingwiganer
TheLawrance, Manager at The Lawrance, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback, I am sorry to hear that you found the apartment too hot, during the summer months it is understandable that the apartments heat up and although we do provide fans for all guests please accept my apologies if you still found the apartment to uncomfortable.

Prestatyn
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Kings Road apartments are, indeed, very central. If you decide on a city break then you have to expect outside noise - it's part of the buzz that comes with being close to a very good choice of shopping by day and bars and restaurants in the evening, all within a few minutes walk, fantastic! O0ur apartment was opposite the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roni D
TheLawrance, Manager at The Lawrance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review and helpful comments, I am sorry to hear that you had a disturbed nights sleep due to the heat and the road noise, sadly this is something out of our control but an issue we are looking at ways to condense for the future, complimentary Sleeper Packs will be available from reception for...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (36)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,242 reviews
0.9 km away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
579 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.3 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The comfort of home, the five star service of a luxury hotel, The Lawrance. Your every need meticulously catered for, your every whim beautifully accommodated. Whether you're here on business or for pleasure, you'll find The Lawrance far more than just a place to stay. It's luxurious home from home accommodation.We have 3 properties to choose from, Kings, Duchy and York House. Studios - 3 bedroom apartments, from 1 night to 1 year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lawrance

Address: 38-42 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range: ₹ 6,370 - ₹ 13,816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawrance 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lawrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lawrance Hotel Harrogate
The Lawrance Harrogate, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lawrance staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Leeds, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Lawrance staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lift so if on top floor this may be a struggle”
martinmG1789MB, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had Apartment 3. On the road but not noisy”
MichaelAlison, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“dont book here”
lyndseyboro, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Look for deals for his place on hotel compare sites.”
Daniellewanderlust, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“You don't get a choice of room !”
ronid439, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates