We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fitzwilton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Fitzwilton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fitzwilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,227: English reviews
Glagow
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

The Fitzwilton is straight ahead over the bridge as you drive into Waterford so is easy to find after a long journey. Staff are pleasant & work hard, although they do seem to struggle when large coach parties are in. Breakfast & bar food is good, although we chose not to eat in the restaurant. We really enjoyed the chowder...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JkbGlagow
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in September. The hotel was easy to find driving into town and although parking is limited we were able to get a space. Check in went easily. Our room fronted the side street and residents in the apt. across were up late with kids and open windows. Once our windows were closed, it was fine,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank historygrams
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2013

2 night stay with evening meal - could not fault value for money Decor very average but simple Air con needs attention, all floors extremely hot and like an oven in the lift. Stayed in a triple room with 2 others and only 2 sets of everything but it was any trouble to the staff when we asked for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMOD1720
Ireland
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This modern hotel as several good features including a good location and enclosed car park. Unfortunately several negative aspects undermined the experience. The main problem was the roaring and shouting on the street outside, which continued into the early hours. There is a pub across the street but patrons of the hotel's own outside smoking area contributed to the din....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry96
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Myself and my wife stayed on a 2 night package B&B with an evening meal (in the bar). Location was ok for walking around.The bedroom decor was ok. Shower in the bathroom was into the bath with a shower curtain & had poor water pressure. The free Wifi signal strength is fine in the bar , but drops the further...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that you had trouble with your wi-fi. We have just recently heavily invested in this service and now offer fibre power broadband of 100mb - I will be certainly looking in to this with immediate effect to see what issues arose. Also, there are numerous transmitters in every...

Athlone
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Spent a weekend at the hotel. Very good staff friendly Special offer on evening food a must very good food at a great price with a glass of wine. Parking on the street but it is safe and near by. I will book again next time I am in Waterford.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel B
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Noel, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Fitzwilton Hotel. I will be happy to pass your kind words to our kitchen team also. Our 2 and 3 course dining offer is extremely popular and as you rightly point out, fantastic value. Thank you once again...

Queensland
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel in July. We specifically needed a walk in shower not a shower over the bath. We were given a room that did have a walk in shower - it was clearly the disabled room. Although the shower was ok the bathroom basin was also at wheelchair height and so tiny that it was impossible to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greynomad16
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning and thank you for your review, I am happy to see your requests were met for a walk in shower - all our other rooms have a bath/shower combo and so this would have been the only option we were able to offer given your specific requests. We do advise our guests that parking can be limited at...

Krakow, Poland
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Tried booking this hotel for my hen night. Phoned up and got a quote for a triple room including dinner for a group of 20. I confirmed the rate twice during the call with the receptionist. I collected the money from my friends and rang the hotel back a week later to confirm the booking. The sales manager quoted me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clairefoley1
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. My name is Geoff, The Sales Manager, (Male) so it was not me you were speaking with and so I am unsure if you have if it is the correct hotel you are reviewing? However, as Tripadvisor will not remove the review, I will reply as best I can. Rates change at the hotel...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Would recommend this hotel to no one. Although the location is central, there are a considerable amount of better hotels a stones throw away from this one. I found myself eating in the other hotels and spending the most time away from the hotel as I could. The staff were not helpful in the slightest and made my stay horrible....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Danny F
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Danny, I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay at the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am unsure form your post if you actually tried the food at the Fitzwilton so can not comment as to why you chose to eat elsewhere - which, obviously, you are well within your rights to do so. We encourage our guests...

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed for my sisters hen and the hotel couldn't have been more accommodating. The food was beautiful and the rooms were perfect. Would defo be staying again and will recommend it to anyone to stay there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, Thank you for your very kind review. I am delighted you all enjoyed your weekend with us. I will be happy to pass your compliments to our kitchen and accommodation teams also. It is wonderful to read you will be visiting again and we look very much forward to welcoming you once more. Kindest Regards, Geoff Dawson Sales...

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (182)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1.1 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,048 reviews
0.4 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
0.2 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,022 reviews
0.3 km away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
987 reviews
4.0 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Chez - K's Restaurant
Chez - K's Restaurant
Cuisines: Irish, European, French
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Price Range: ₹ 4,496 - ₹ 8,556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fitzwilton Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Ennis, Ireland
3 months ago
1 month ago
3 months ago
Dublin, Ireland

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Fitzwilton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room 401”
  • Finish around the sink
  • Poorly finished shower fixings
  • Poorly finished shower fixings
  • Broken socket beside the bed
  • Finish around the sink
  • Very bright TV light
 of 5 bubbles Token-Irish-Guy, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room not facing a road, open the window before bed”
 of 5 bubbles oohshinny, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“212. Nice and quiet away from lifts”
 of 5 bubbles Samantha213, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles tamboyo, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the place”
 of 5 bubbles 825barrym, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay