We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Glasshouse

Expedia.comUS$ 103*
View Deal
#4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Glasshouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,572 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Glasshouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,510: English reviews
Washington
Reviewed 23 June 2015

The positives....great location and fantastic views if you are on the water side of the hotel. Breakfast was very good and service in the breakfast area was prompt and attentive. The poor...paid parking, but that comes with a prime downtown location. The bad...disappointing service at the front desk. Felt like we were taking up their time and this was constant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg H
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Greg Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you found our reception staff to be unfriendly, there is no excuse for this. On the shampoo etc, in our standard rooms there is shampoo and body wash on dispensers in the bath area and hand wash at the wash hand basin, we provide additional toiletries in...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015

This is the 30th hotel we have stayed in since February 2nd, Mostly 4* and 5* but several 3*, this is outstandingly the most disappointing. Having seen the website we booked a mid week special deal, as the hotel looked great. We had heard the food was fantastic, but one or two dissenting comments from Irish Folk who no longer...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank bjh29
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear BJH Thank you for for your review of our hotel, I am sorry to hear that you feel our design is like a Cell Block H, the hotel has won arcitectural awards for the design but I accept it may not be to your taste. Unfortunately not all of our rooms face the river and some of our rooms...

Castlederg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

I had an accident in car while making my way to hotel and due to this I missed my two night stay at the glasshouse. I called booking.com to see if I could maybe receive a refund for one of the nights due to what had happened. Booking.com called the hotel and spoke with Elaine, she advised the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank DaisyTyrone
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Daisy I am sorry to hear that you had an accident and hope that you are fully recovered after such an ordeal. It is our policy to charge a guest that does not cancel their room for the first night of their stay and I understand that this is want we did in your case, you were not charged...

Georgia523
Reviewed 14 June 2015

This hotel is pretty funky and if you like that sort of thing you might think this is a cool. We just thought it looked horrible. It started off bad when they didn't have our Expedia reservation and we got attitude from the desk clerk for some reason. I had to call expedia who got on the phone immediately and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Creeper523
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Georgia 523 Thank you for your recent review of The Glasshouse, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel is very modern and I accept that the decor may not be to your taste. I am sorry that you found the bed so uncomfortable, we are in the process of replacing...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015

went here for 4 day break with caledoniab travel. Enjoyed the whole trip. Hotel was modern and quirky. Food was excellent with good choices. Staff were all lovely. If you want a real irish pub then crocc the road to thomas connolly. Trips were loveky and our driver Jim was a star couldnt do enough to make the trip excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynn M
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Lynn Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your trip, your group were a pleasure to look after, we look forward to your next visit to Sligo. Kind regards, Catherine Cronin

drumahoe northern ireland
Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Glasshouse Hotel last Sunday funky Hotel in a great location friendly staff underground car was handy and a €3 per day charge was very reasonable we have a lovely Breakfast the following morning with a good choice of hot and cold food would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank william a
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear William Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we have just re-arranged our breakfast buffet and its great to hear that guests like what we did with it. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse again soon. Kind regards, Catherine Cronin

Reviewed 12 June 2015

I couldn't say enough good things about the Glasshouse! I stayed last weekend and had such a great experience. Staff are so friendly and accommodating, breakfast was first class and I had a room with a gorgeous view - what more could anyone want! There was a party going on at the end of my corridor and once the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinéad O
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Sinead Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, it is great to get such positive feedback, we look forward to welcoming you to The Glasshouse again soon. Kind regards, Catherine Cronin

Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights (5-7/6/15) & it was not what I expected. Paying to park in the hotel is a bit much considering what they are charging for rooms. Food basic pub grub. Rooms ok. Hotel a bit jaded even though it's not that old. Could do with more staff at weekends. Does accept large groups & location is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nola B
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Nola Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the hotel, the car park is not controlled by the hotel however we have negotiated a preferential fee fo 3 euro per night which is valid until check out at 12 noon, we feel this is a very good...

Ireland
Reviewed 7 June 2015

We just got back from a Great 3 Nights B&B and one evening meal deal from An Post for € 99 each in The Glasshouse Hotel although with all the roadworks going on it was hard at first to find the hotel but as soon as we did get there - wow. Our room was large enough modern with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Dublin_Couple
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Dublin Couple Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am glad that you enjoyed your 3 night break with us, we are lucky to have such a great location in downtown Sligo. Thank you for the excellent feedback on our food, our kitchen team are great and we have passed on your praise. We look forward to...

Luton, Bedfordshire
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Great hotel in central location. Food in the restaurant was fantastic and very friendly and helpful staff. The room was big and well equipped and the bed was huge. My only point of constructive criticism would be, it would be nice to have a bottle of water in the room, but apart from that, a nice stay. I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzyju
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Suzy Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we have passed on your compliments to the chef. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sligo again soon. Kind regards Catherine Cronin

362 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (350)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (169)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
3.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.5 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
373 reviews
1.4 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
397 reviews
2.1 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,043 reviews
7.9 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Kitchen at The Glasshouse
The Kitchen at The Glasshouse
Cuisines: Irish, European, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Price Range: ₹ 6,330 - ₹ 11,044 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glasshouse staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Rockford, Illinois, United States
4 months ago
Derry, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Dublin, Ireland
Belfast, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Glasshouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River View”
fwright48, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a river view”
MadsM_12, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for room with balcony on riverside of hotel.”
Diner129, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better for the best views.”
hunterclarke, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Room with a view of the river is a must see.”
eddickson2, 12 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 103* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$ 236
Hotels.comUS$ 103
TravelocityUS$ 103
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates