We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Glasshouse

Show Prices
#4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Glasshouse
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,538 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Glasshouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,478: English reviews
County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 30 June 2015

we were part of a group who travelled to Sligo on a community trip. we stayed in Sligo for 3 nights and went on trips to Northern Ireland returning to Sligo at night. The staff were friendly and efficient. The service was excellent and the food superb. Our group were accommodated well and all enjoyed our stay. Sligo and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan F
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Joan F Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am delighted to hear that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed Sligo as a destination. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sligo again soon. Kind regards Catherine Cronin

Gdynia, Poland
Reviewed 30 June 2015

When I was setting up my first home many years ago my father told me to invest in the best bed I could afford - his reason being that you spend a third of your life in bed. The management of the Glasshouse have obviously never heard this advice. The bed in our room was the worst I have ever...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melvin B
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Melvin Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am sorry that you found your bed to be uncomfortable, we did invest in the best quality beds for the hotel but some are in need of replacement, we are in the middle of the replacement schedule at present. I accept that this is too late for your visit...

County Fermanagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

myself and partner booked a one night stay at the glasshouse. On arrival at reception we were told they were experiencing an electrical fault and we had been booked into the hotel next door(Sligo City hotel). Even though I provided a contact telephone number on my booking no one bothered contacting us to let us know of the issues. A...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank iona d
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Iona I am sorry to hear of your experience at The Glasshouse, I understand your frustration at not being able to celebrate your birthday as planned. We did have a problem with rooms at the hotel on that evening and the reason that you were not contacted in advance was that we were trying to rectify the issue and...

Derry City
Reviewed 27 June 2015

Lovely hotel. Apart from the initial mix up about our room (which they quickly corrected) our few days here was great. Room very clean, hotel modern, breakfast very good. The underground car park was a steal at only 3 euros a night. The central location of this hotel makes it ideal for exploring the surrounding countryside and other towns.The view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derrytraveller
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Derry Traveller, Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, it is lovely to see a review entitled Glasshouse Heaven ! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your kind words to the reception team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Catherine Cronin

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 26 June 2015

The Glasshouse portrays itself as a boutique hotel and the website focuses on the design features and beautiful architecture. However, the upkeep of the basics doesn't seem to be attended to. Things like tatty curtains, stained upholstery and a general shabbiness was everywhere. The other main thing that really disappointed us was the breakfast. It was of the same standard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelenP3t
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Helen Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, your feedback on the cocktail order is useful to us when going through areas to improve, it should not take this long to order a drink and we always have at least two barmen on that can make cocktails so even when there are more junior staff members there, we...

Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for three nights earlier this week. It is a lovely hotel with a great location. Underground parking is convenient and reasonable daily rate. We lived the quirky decor. The standard room was very clean and comfortable although the small window made it a tad dark. Only downside is double rooms should have two easy chairs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhona42
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Rhona Thank you for your feedback, I am glad overall that you enjoyed your stay and plan to return, also the feedback that you gave us on breakfast is very helpful. I am sorry that the hot breakfast buffet items were not stocked as regularly as they should be, this is not acceptable. We have a few new members...

Tullamore, Ireland
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

Spend 4 nights here recently, hotel was very centrally located. Room was very nice and although we didn't get a room with a river view, there was a great view from the restaurant/bar which we didn't have to pay extra for. The food was excellent and staff were friendly. The only bad thing I could say about it was that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ailish G
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Hi Ailish Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and the lovely views from the View Bar, Cafe Bar and restaurant. We are very lucky to have such a picturesque location. I apologise for the inconvenience with the lifts, they had to have routine maintenance and unfortunately, there is no ideal...

County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 25 June 2015

We stayed at this hotel for the Bank holiday weekend. The hotel is centrally located well sign posted . It has underground car park with lift access to hotel fee daily fee €3.00 . The rooms are lovely very bright and airy. I was disappointed that the hotel had no swimming pool . The receptionist offered me an upgrade but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Margaret Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am sorry to hear that your room required maintenance and this was not dealt with properly during your stay, it should have been dealt with swiftly with as little incovenience for you, the guest as possible. It is good to hear that John dealt with this well when you...

Washington
Reviewed 23 June 2015

The positives....great location and fantastic views if you are on the water side of the hotel. Breakfast was very good and service in the breakfast area was prompt and attentive. The poor...paid parking, but that comes with a prime downtown location. The bad...disappointing service at the front desk. Felt like we were taking up their time and this was constant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg H
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Greg Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you found our reception staff to be unfriendly, there is no excuse for this. On the shampoo etc, in our standard rooms there is shampoo and body wash on dispensers in the bath area and hand wash at the wash hand basin, we provide additional toiletries in...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015

This is the 30th hotel we have stayed in since February 2nd, Mostly 4* and 5* but several 3*, this is outstandingly the most disappointing. Having seen the website we booked a mid week special deal, as the hotel looked great. We had heard the food was fantastic, but one or two dissenting comments from Irish Folk who no longer...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank bjh29
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear BJH Thank you for for your review of our hotel, I am sorry to hear that you feel our design is like a Cell Block H, the hotel has won arcitectural awards for the design but I accept it may not be to your taste. Unfortunately not all of our rooms face the river and some of our rooms...

351 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (339)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (158)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
3.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.5 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
337 reviews
1.3 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
0.1 km away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
386 reviews
2.0 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Kitchen at The Glasshouse
The Kitchen at The Glasshouse
Cuisines: Irish, European, British, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Price Range: ₹ 6,017 - ₹ 10,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glasshouse staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Rockford, Illinois, United States
2 months ago
Derry, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Dublin, Ireland
Belfast, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Glasshouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Glass walled balcony room, not a balcony with a wall, makes the room very dark”
 of 5 bubbles Aoif10, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“book one with balcony over looking river”
 of 5 bubbles 900Maggie, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on 4th floor overlooking the river which was lovely and really generous size!”
 of 5 bubbles LorraineM118, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 328 is right over the Garravogue river”
 of 5 bubbles MacCraith, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't go for a 1st floor room as it has a bar at the end of the corridor and could very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Z8093OKbarbaraw, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5