We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clayton Hotel Sligo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clayton Hotel Sligo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 304: English reviews
Start your review of Clayton Hotel Sligo
 Click to rate
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

When you turn into the drive up to the hotel, the building is really quite majestic and there were 'ooohs' and 'aaahs' all round in the car when we saw it. We stayed in another Clayton in Belfast last week as a couple and they were just as welcoming here to us as a family even though we looked like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a very good hotel for groups. It was former psychiatric hospital and retains the formal institutional exterior. The rooms are well appointed and a good size. The hotel is on the edge of town and cabs are available into Sligo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paddy M
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Last month, our u14 squad and their parents (and many other Teams also) stayed at this Fine and Fabulous venue. It was expensive for childrens accomodation, and the in house dinner/ barfood a bit on the pricey side for The kids but at least they had a swimming pool, and at least the staff turned a blind eye to your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joecoughlan
N Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked a two night break over the Easter holidays with husband and son age 5. Having read mixed reviews I was open minded about what to expect. On arrival staff in reception were very friendly. Ate lunch in bar. Food was lovely and again staff very friendly. We had a room on 2nd floor which was great. Good size, very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank minkymeen
Dublin
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had read mixed reviews on Trip Advisor in advance of our stay so wasn't sure what to expect from The Clayton Hotel. I have to say we were very pleased. It seems that there were teething problems transferring from Clarion to Clayton but most of these seem to have been resolved by now. First it's in a great location:...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank traveltripper1
County Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nites with children aged 4&9 over the Easter! Fantastic staff. Really felt welcome- kids really enjoyed the pool and kids disco. Room was family room with kids also having their own room. Big hit was getting s TENT in the room, to be honest my kids slept in the tent for the 3 nights!!! Free wifi available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you for such a lovely review of our premises here in Sligo. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming yourself and the family back any time the opportunity arises for you all. Regards, N McLeish Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the Clayton Hotel. Kids were well looked after with activities. However the food has a lot to be desired.. Vegtable Soup tasted off fish. Garlic bread was stael. Sausages were reheated proberly from breakfast leftovers.. Entertainment on Saturday night was a one man band whom was very good but Sunday night another man who cleared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenandjohn2
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Karenandjohn2, Thank you for taking the time to review our property following your recent trip here to Sligo. We would never reheat breakfast leftovers and serve them again, of that you can rest assured. As to the stale garlic bread and vegetable soup issue, I am wondering if you brought this to the attention of any staff member. Had...

Ballygowan
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful stone building, with friendly helpful staff, clean comfortable bed. Very well suited for families with children, providing lots for children to do. Functional interior, no frills mind you. Moderate food, small bar lounge area for the size of the hotel, not very inviting comfortable seating. Lovely spacious lounge/lobby area but cool and not inviting comfortable seating, again functional. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte K
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. All guest feedback is strongly encouraged and welcomed. We do cater for a lot of families especially during the school holidays. We have just recently been awarded 4* status for the next 12 months and we are very proud of this fact. I am glad you noted how...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for one weekend night recently. I found the room to be half cleaned and the floor dirty. The bathroom was not much better with limited cleaning also. The wifi was a joke and the distance from the reception/bar/ to the room was unreal. corridor after corridor and finally found the room. Food was good but could be better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psvi
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Psvi, Thank you so much for your review following on from your recent stay with us here in Clayton Hotels Sligo. Due to the fact that we are a historically listed building we cannot change the layout. The reception is at the centre of the building and the rooms are all moving out either side of this. The wifi...

Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from 2 nights in the Clayton Hotel in Sligo with family on a busy Easter weekend. Hotel was average we booked a junior suite which was a room with king sized bed and another with twin beds and kitchenette which was basically a sink, microwave, fridge and completely empty presses with a kitchen table squeezed in there. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janefu

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
3.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.4 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,553 reviews
3.1 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
355 reviews
1.4 km away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
389 reviews
1.8 km away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Sligo

Address: Clarion Hotel Clarion Road, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Sligo)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Price Range: ₹ 4,603 - ₹ 10,891 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clayton Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Sligo
Clarion Sligo
Sligo Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clayton Hotel Sligo staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Galway, Ireland
Islington
Belfast, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Belfast, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Hotel Sligo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure to include breakfast in your booking.”
PaddyM827, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors the better”
joecoughlan, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A bedroom at the front would be best as the rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the large roof of the conference centre.”
CharlotteK805, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“check the distance to the room, check wifi....”
psvi, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This is a big hotel, the rooms in the older part of the building should have the best views.”
simplex15915, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5