We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (8)
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (4)
Overview
Abbeywood House Newport Road, Westport F28 EC64 Ireland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Air Conditioning
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews(51)
Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 15
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
gracelawlor4
County Wicklow, Ireland
10
Reviewed 5 Jul 2018
I have been going to Abbeywood for over 15 years and have gone there for the past 12 years with my son he is now 15 and still always his best holiday and still loves pointing out the church spire because he knows we are in Westport and we are going to the hostel. The hostel is spotless from top to bottom and the beds are so comfy. The best thing about Abbeywood is the owner Suize she keeps everything ticking over like clockwork, she has gone out of her way to look after myself and my son over the years and has shown us nothing but kindness and nothing was ever a bother. Suize has always time for all her quests and is a great ambassador for Westport promoting all the beautiful attractions Westport has to offer. We are very sad that Abbeywood is for sale but we will hopefully get down again this summer to add to our years of beautiful memories.
Thank gracelawlor4
Elma S
London, United Kingdom
6432
Reviewed 23 Jun 2018
Booked to stay here thinking we were staying at a bed and breakfast, this is a hostel but advertised as Bed and Breakfast, rip off Ireland, there are communal showers on one floor and nothing on ground floor only a toilet, we lost our money as we decided to leave, we asked to be moved to a floor near the showers as there is one room. On ground floor and were offered a room with bunk beds and a single bed, we are late sixties, paid £124 for the experience. The place is up for sale, says it all.
Thank Elma S
Response from Susan C, Owner at Abbeywood House
Responded 25 Jun 2018
Nobody likes getting a bad review however when it's a small family run business it always affects you more. Luckily they are few and far between as previous reviews on Trip Advisor will show and everyone has the right to their opinion. In this case however there are a few inaccuracies. We are not a traditional B&B or a hostel and we certainly are not a " hostel pretending" to be a Bed and breakfast". A hostel usually has shared dorm space and kitchen access. We provide private rooms with shared bathroom facilities and a continental breakfast of home made brown bread, toast, cereal, fruit, orange juice, tea and coffee in the morning. We make it very clear at the time of booking that the rooms are not en-suite. We have a Triple room with a bunkbed and a single bed which is €75 per night in high season (yes that's €25 per person) . The Double room (with a Double bed) is €60 per night in high season, hardly "rip off Ireland". As these guests were not happy with the situation of their room they were offered the only other room free on a busy Saturday night in Westport which happened to be the Triple room with a bunkbed and single bed. We receive consistently high reviews on AirBnB and Hostelworld among others. We also have a huge amount of return guests who appreciate the unique nature of the building, a former monastery, along with the comfortable surroundings, excellent location and the great wifi! . Try us out for yourself :)
SocialTraveller
Vancouver, BC
6429
Reviewed 16 Nov 2017
We have stayed at Abbeywood House each time we have gone to Westport for a number of reasons. Susan and Guillaume are two of the main reasons - they are both so accommodating and fun to talk with. The house itself was an old abbey now converted to a hostel. Rooms are big; lots of hot water and great showers; it is clean and the building has lots of character. Beds are comfortable and the breakfast takes place in the old chapel - the coffee is always great. Not to mention you have a great view of Croagh Patrick from Abbeywood, and to explore Westport you can leave the car and walk in to town within 4 - 5 minutes. Highly recommended.
Thank SocialTraveller
Response from CailindeasMayo, Owner at Abbeywood House
Responded 21 Nov 2017
Thank you for your lovely review! We have a number of guests who return year after year and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much you come back again. Hopefully see you in the future! Regards, Susan
cosmil
Massachusetts
2724
Reviewed 5 Aug 2016
The location was good (removed from road but behind a large construction site) and the owner was incredibly friendly. We stayed at B&B's for most of our trip and this definitely felt more like a hostel to us. We appreciated the sink in our room but we weren't prepared with our own soap. The shared bathrooms and showers were clean.
Thank cosmil
Gerard G
Dublin
51
Reviewed 2 Aug 2016
Abbeywood is great, we stayed there for 3 nights with our kids, perfect base for doing the greenway cycle which is brilliant. Abbeywood is a friendly place and well run. Clean warm and comfortable. We had a lovely stay, able to stroll into Westport in the evenings and sample the pubs and restaurants. The staff are very helpful and will make you feel at home. The continental breakfast is good as well, maybe Abbeywood could add some yogurts to the menu or even scrambled egg would be nice , but other than that no complaints :-)
Thank Gerard G
PreviousNext
12345611
About
Description
What do you look for in a place to stay? Do you find hotels too expensive? B&Bs too claustrophobic and hostels too communal? Abbeywood gives you the best of all three...A former monastery, still retaining many More of its original features such as stained glass windows, polished wood floors and high ceilings. Its situation, set in off the road in its own grounds makes it hard to believe it's so close to the centre of town. Come see us! Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$ 23 - US$ 34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Abbeywood
Location
Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$ 23 - US$ 34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Abbeywood
Location
Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Photos
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (4)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
The Castlecourt Hotel
1,960 reviews
.22 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
2,346 reviews
.22 km away
Clew Bay Hotel
1,284 reviews
.25 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
1,167 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 93 nearby restaurants
The Black Truffle Bistro
171 reviews
.35 km away
olde bridge restaurant westport
299 reviews
.25 km away
Maddens
244 reviews
.26 km away
Rustic Fork
71 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 91 nearby attractions
Westport Town Hall Theatre
93 reviews
.39 km away
Clew Bay Archaeological Trail
30 reviews
.26 km away
Holy Trinity Church
14 reviews
.09 km away
The Westport Bike Shop
44 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Abbeywood House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"All rooms are great, but the view is a bit better upstairs."
SocialTraveller
16 Nov 2017
Read review
"Room 7 on ground floor is a good one! There's a sink in the room but you go upstairs for the showers."
paulI4078TH
21 May 2016
Read review
"Rooms upstairs allow a 'curtains-optional' situation; we had room #7 on the ground floor - great..."
SocialTraveller
6 Sep 2015
Read review
"All the rooms are great! I stayed in the 10 bed room which has a great view of Croagh Patrick."
kerillk
24 Aug 2013
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing