We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clew Bay Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$ 105*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 329*
US$ 105*
US$ 329*
US$ 105*
US$ 329*
US$ 105*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Clew Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

968 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clew Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 948: English reviews
Claremorris, Ireland
Reviewed 28 October 2015

The wallpaper seemed to be coming off the walls in places, the press in the bathroom was broke, over-all though satisfactory, staff very helpful with excellent service, very central location, would stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karioke7
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the Clew Bay this past weekend 24th-26th. A group of 7 for a hen party. The rooms were spotless. And the beds were so comfy!!! Must say the staff couldn't have done more for us the whole weekend. Really impressed by the customer service. The hotel is central to everything!!! Will definitely stay in the Clew Bay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vixiegirl
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vixiegirl Thank you very much for taking the time to write your 5 star review of our hotel. It is great to read such glowing comments about our property. Especially our staff. They are our greatest asset and we are very proud of them all. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your time with us and look forward...

Ennis, Ireland
Reviewed 23 October 2015

Spent one night at the Clew Bay - Overall impression was good - Carpets in the family room we stayed in were very bad indeed, heavily stained, really gives the wrong impression of the Hotel - I found all staff friendly/helpful - excellent location in the town centre - but because of its location it can get noisy at night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yolo40
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear yolo40 many thanks for taking the time to your review of our hotel. It is great to read such lovely comments about different aspects of our property. Thank you also for your feedback about the carpets. We have them all deep cleaned last week. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your time with us and look forward to...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Westport is a great town, very picturesque, lots of great restaurants and lots of nice shops. The staff at the Clew Bar Inn could not have been any nicer. The night we checked in our television was broken, the manager brought us a new one, installed it and made sure it was working. The food is great, we had the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vbpint
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vbpint Thank you so much for taking the time to write your 5 star review of our hotel. It is great to read such glowing comments about all aspects of our property. Especially our staff. They are our greatest asset and we are very proud of them all. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your time with us...

Dublin
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Booked directly with the hotel for the Dinner, B&B and Breakfast deal for three persons for one night in two rooms, it cost €172.00 which far better than the prices on Booking.com. It proved to be very good in all respects, great staff, comfortable room and bed, excellent dinner and very good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gannet44
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gannet44 Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. It is great to read such lovely comments about different aspects of our hotel. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that the offer you got was well received by all your party. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Dublin
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Stayed here for a long weekend with a friend. The room was great, food was really good, staff were very helpful and the location is superb. I couldn't fault anything about it. The beds were extremely comfortable. Great weekend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SkinnyMalinx
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SkinnyMalinx Thank you very much for taking the time to write your 5 star review of our hotel. It is great to read such glowing comments about all aspects of our property. We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your time with us and look forward to meeting you again, if you decide to return to Westport....

Reviewed 19 October 2015

I wish I could have spent more time in this location than the single night, but the hotel itself was quiet, comfortable & charming - ideally situated in the heart of town, within a short walk from Matt Molloy's Pub & other essential visits. The breakfast was fine, not extraordinary, but you will get ample rest & be fed well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawn F
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shawn F Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. It is great to read your comments. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your time with us and would love to see you return to us, if you travel to Westport again. Warm regards Mary Sheridan

Friday Harbor, Washington
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We stayed here just one night and found everything about this hotel to be just about perfect. Check in was fast and easy, the room was immaculate and breakfast the following morning was a treat. Food was cooked to order instead of the usual buffet style in some hotels. Location could not be beaten as its right in the heart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James F
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James F Many thanks for taking the time to write your 5 star review of our hotel. It is great to read such glowing comments about our property. We are delighted to read that you found your stay with us, welcoming and comfortable and that you enjoyed our breakfasts. We get a lot of positive feedback about our breakfast...

Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Nice hotel with helpful staff. Room was comfortable but like all the hotels we stayed in Ireland the room got too warm even though we turned the heat all the way off, it came on anyway. Heavy comforters were too much with the heat on. The windows were openable but if open let in too much noise. Breakfast was good....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CarolBAllen
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed 16 October 2015

This is where the stress of travel, and unfamiliar driving disappeared. We stayed in this hotel on our second night in Ireland and it was a brilliant idea. The easy walking distance to an array of shops and pubs, let us park the car and forget about it for a day. Easy check-in got us to our room, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard B
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard B Thank you so much for taking the time to write your 5 star review of our hotel. It is great to read such glowing comments about all aspects of our property. We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your time with us and in our beautiful town. Warm regards Mary Sheridan

347 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (245)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (22)
Viewed
Classic Double Single Room (30)
Viewed
Classic King Room (29)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (26)
Viewed
Cosy Double Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,407 reviews
1.7 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
879 reviews
0.3 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,584 reviews
4.3 km away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Madden's Bistro
Madden's Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, European, Bar
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Price Range: ₹ 6,502 - ₹ 13,294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Westport
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#7 Family Hotel in Westport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clew Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
County Antrim, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Clew Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our corner room was large, sunny & quiet.”
LondonFidelity, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“not facing main street”
J8418XHdavidg, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to avoid the side which overlooks the car park entrance”
maurb2017, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No street noise by requesting a back room”
Mary2013Septenber, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 108 excellent”
Errol31, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 105* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 105
Hotwire.comUS$ 105
AMOMAUS$ 329
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates