We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clew Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Clew Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

873 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clew Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 856: English reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2015

I stayed here in July 2015 and was more then impressed. The staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make my experience enjoyable. The beds were comfortable, the location was central and the facilities were of a high standard. Well done to all the staff in the hotel in making the Clew Bay Hotel homely and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen F
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen F Thank you for taking the time to write your 5 star review of our hotel. it is great to read such wonderful comments about all aspects of our property, especially our staff. They are our greatest asset and we are very proud of them all. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us and would...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 August 2015

A one night stay was all we had here. It was expensive enough to stay even on the quiet weekday. Rooms are comfortable but the ones to the front of the building are onto a busy street and can be noisy. Breakfast is cooked to order and this can lead to a long wait. Its a handy place to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank powerIreland
ireland
Reviewed 3 August 2015

location of hotel is very good.right in the town centre ,car park is 3 euro.parking could be hard on a weekend as on a monday spaces were scarce.get your parking disc from hotel. no pool in hotel free use of leisure centre,which is in car park area,behind hotel.we didnt use,but looked okay. we booked a double room with street views...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank rada8
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 August 2015

On a family holiday with our young daughter and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. One particular staff member, Niamh, made breakfast so pleasurable every morning. Made such a big deal of our little daughter, even managed to feed her when she wouldn't take it from us! Only criticizium would be that the double bed in our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James F
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James F Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. It is always great to read such lovely comments particularly about our staff. Niamh will be delighted to see she got a personal mention. If you could email us direct and let us know your room number, that would be much appreciated. We would...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015

The Clew Bay has been a favourite with our family for many years and it never fails to impress. The accommodation is of a very high standard, the breakfasts are top notch stuff and restaurant and bar offer an interesting menu with value for money. The owners and staff are unfailing friendly and helpful. There's always a lot going on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mmcginty2015
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mmcginty2015 Many thanks for taking the time to write your 5 star review of our hotel. It is always good to read such lovely comments about all aspects of our hotel. We are delighted you have enjoyed your time with us and look forward to meeting you and your family again when you return to us. Warm regards Mary...

Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2015

very well located, great front staff ,excellent breakfast,easy parking at rear of hotel,very comfortable beds and good sized bathroom,very convenient to the Greenway trail. Would definitely stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank William H
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear William H Many thanks for taking the time to write your 5 star review of our hotel. It is great to read such glowing comments about all aspects of our hotel. We are delighted you have enjoyed your time with us and would love to see you return to us again if you decide to visit Westport in the...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Hotel staff are welcoming and friendly.10/10 for their attitude and helpfulness! Bedrooms clean and cosy but could do with a revamp. Breakfast yummy. Overall, a very pleasant stay and good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 800Unay
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 800Unay Many thanks for taking the time to write your 4 star review of our hotel. It is great to read such lovely comments especially about our staff. They are our greatest asset and we are very proud of them all. We are delighted to see you have enjoyed your time with us and in our beautiful town and...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights and the room was lovely.we had dinner here on the Saturday night and it was really nice.the bar staff are really friendly and helpful also.this hotel Is ideally located in the centre of town and close to everything

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Taniadoc
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Taniadoc Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. It is great to read such lovely comments especially about our staff. The are our greatest asset and we are very proud of them all. We are delighted to see you have enjoyed your time with us and in our beautiful town and look forward...

Cork,Ireland
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We arrived after booking one night on booking.com, there was 4 rooms in our party(we all booked individually),when we rang to book directly through the hotel they told us that we couldn't but we were able to book it on booking.com. On checkin we noted with the man there (can't remember name) that there was nothing about a leisure centre...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tashirl
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 24 July 2015

We were traveling to Westport for a dance competition and I had hoped for, and requested, two quiet rooms so our dancer would have lots of rest before her biggest competition yet! The hotel was really quite nice. Our room were HUGE and one included a set of double doors that opened fully! What a treat to have that much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne S
Clewbayhotel, Front Office Manager at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne S Thank you very much for taking the time to write your 4 star review of our hotel. It is great to read such lovely comments and we are delighted to see you have all enjoyed your time with us. In relation to the housekeeping issues, we would like to address these straight away. Could I please ask...

332 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (245)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (22)
Viewed
Classic Double Single Room (30)
Viewed
Classic King Room (29)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (26)
Viewed
Cosy Double Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
1,247 reviews
1.7 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
767 reviews
0.3 km away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
1,853 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#9 of 15 in Westport
900 reviews
1.7 km away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 15 in Westport
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Madden's Bistro
Madden's Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: Clew Bay Hotel James Street, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Price Range: ₹ 3,915 - ₹ 10,441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#8 Family Hotel in Westport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clew Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
County Antrim, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Clew Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I Highly reccommend this Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles mickg508, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room on 2nd floer had great sunlight coming in to them”
 of 5 bubbles galway1973, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hotel would be quiter”
 of 5 bubbles 126mickd, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If room smells musty, ask for alternative room.”
 of 5 bubbles DublinDon, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have problems walking, choose a room close to the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Grandmother1999, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay