We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clayton Hotel Limerick

Booking.comUS$ 112*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Clayton Hotel Limerick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clayton Hotel Limerick
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,063: English reviews
TelAviv
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Got 11th floor room - was nice, big, with everything you can think about. In-room safe , great view and huge bed. Breakfast was rich with many options (even asked and got fresh vegetables for free). Recommended! (Nearby French-Table restaurant is recommended as well)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaarB
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* review, I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us recently and especially your breakfast experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 26 January 2015

After doing considerable research during the booking process we settled for this hotel. What a disappointment the staying there was for us. We booked two rooms and both were the same standard. We certainly expected much better for €169.00 per room. I would rate it as a low level 3* hotel. The room furniture was basic quality and the carpets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam F
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us recently, I am sorry that you believed the hotel was only of a 3* standard and that you not find the hotel good value. Regarding the quality of our hotel product, I wish to confirm that we are currently in...

Ireland
Reviewed 25 January 2015

Stayed for a night last Friday night as part of a very good offer bed breakfast and dinner for 100euro...we were offered an upgrade to deluxe room for 20 euro extra which we accepted..The restaurant was closed Friday night ??? so we ate in the bar...quality of food was excellent and service very good too but just felt the set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lgattridge
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found the quality of your meals excellent and the service very good. With regards to our restaurant not being open on a Friday night, the opening times for our Sinergie restaurant do change throughout the year depending on occupancy...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2015

What can I say only very disapointed over all when I stayed there over the Christmas. The food was awful, "breaded chicken served with the mains" in the hotel bar for dinner, which sounded great on the menu, but they did not declare that they would be served overdone chicken fillet that you would get in a school lunch roll....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 111diddy
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am extremely disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your visit to us in December. I am very sorry that you did not find your meal in our Kudos bar to be satisfactory, I would like to assure you that this is not the standard of product which we endeavour to provide to...

Ottawa
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Stayed overnight in Limerick after a long drive from the south of Ireland. It was absolute heaven to us being so tired! The room was very comfortable and a great size. We were able to curl up and watch a movie after a long day of exploring. And the view out over the bay was lovely. The next morning we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tippychair
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It’s really great to read that you found your room comfortable and that you were able to relax after your travels. We are situated in a lovely location beside the River Shannon and many our guest do take time out of their days...

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 19 January 2015

I stayed here for a week and in general we are fully satisfied from the service provided. Staff are very friendly and professional. Rooms are wide, light-well and of course best part is view. As it is locaten in very center, you can walk lots of great restaurant or bar by walking. Air conditioner makes a bit noise so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim ö
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent week long stay with us, especially your room, our convenient city centre location and the hotel views over the River Shannon. With regards to our breakfast offering, our team have been working very hard over the past few months to make improvements to breakfast and...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Great hotel. Nice friendly staff. Nice pool. Food and service excellent. Very convenient to shopping. Overall a very pleasant stay. Highly recommended. There is a multi-storey car park next door and you can park there. Bring your ticket to the hotel and you get a discount off your parking. We stayed there last week but on a sunny day the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G22Cork_Ireland
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, especially our location on the River Shannon and the views from your room on the 13th floor. I am very glad you had the opportunity to see some of the activity that takes place in the neighbouring shipyard, it can be very...

Reviewed 7 January 2015

Stayed in the hotel for a night out with friends. I found the staff very helpful and the rooms were excellent. I did not have dinner but the breakfast was excellent. there is a lovely bar downstairs with a good menu. The views of the river are excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ttaylor123
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to read that you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am especially glad that you enjoyed our Kudos bar, liked your bedrooms and the views over the River Shannon and found our breakfast offering excellent. Our restaurant team have been working very hard to improve the variety...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We stayed here for one night and the room had a beautiful view of Limerick. The bedroom itself was clean, spacious and the wi fi worked perfectly at all time which isn't the case in a lot of hotels. We dined in the bar and the food was of good quality. The menu was very small on the night we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EbbieB
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found the Wi-Fi worked perfectly during your stay. We do have 100MB Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel including all of our bedrooms and meeting rooms. I am very disappointed you did not feel you received a warm welcome when...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 5 January 2015

what a beautiful modern well run hotel..but with only one issue..which through no fault of its own is in the dockland, where on the evening of our stay the lads on the docks were busy with recycled metal being transferred from one area to another, with every load came repetitive loud banging of loads being offloaded....I could not find any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crabbf
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, that you felt the hotel was well run and will be returning. Our location on the banks of the River Shannon is beside Limerick’s working docklands. I am sorry that the activity on the docks disrupted your stay, this is not an...

264 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
View from Room (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
1.4 km away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,890 reviews
0.7 km away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,408 reviews
0.6 km away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,117 reviews
0.5 km away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
5.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Price Range: ₹ 6,975 - ₹ 14,338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clayton Hotel Limerick staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Hotel Limerick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“amazing views of the river and the city. sleep in a fabulous comfy bed, pristine bathrooms and is so wonderfully quiet, its top marks!!!!!”
briddunne1971, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“all good and clean”
707donnag707, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a high floor if possible!”
Rooneyk4, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“higher room on river side.”
Davidcardox, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with water view...exceptional!”
Alina-VinnieTravel, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 112* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$ 222
Orbitz.comUS$ 112
Hotels.comUS$ 112
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates