We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clayton Hotel Limerick

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clayton Hotel Limerick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,088 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clayton Hotel Limerick
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,037: English reviews
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2015

The Clarion was easy to find, and in a good location for Limerick city centre. Check in was friendly and efficient. The room was small, but well equipped, and the wifi appeared reliable. The bathroom contained everything expected, although the shower was a little unwieldy, spraying the floor. Had dinner at the bar. The seafood house platter was not quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djosully
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and especially our convenient city centre location. I would like to apologise for the substitution of smoked salmon for sushi on your seafood house platter and am also disappointed to read that your salad and main course were not fully to your...

Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 3 February 2015

This hotel is flagged as a 4 Star . I would agree that the outside structure and its location on the docks has appeal. The hotel interior is jaded looking and lacks any 4 star quality from rooms to menu offered. We were on 2BB+D deal and felt that maybe it was because of this we were offered a very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eithne M
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us and that you found the hotel to lack 4 star quality. I understand from your review that you found the décor in the hotel to be jaded and that the menu did not meet your expectations. I am saddened...

Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the clarion on the 30th/ 31st january. Check in was so organised, reception staff very helpful. We just loved the food on both nights in kudos bar, service and attention to detail was excellent. Fantastic staff. Bedroom very clean, large, comfortable. What a superb choice of food on for the breakfast. Well done to all the staff at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted to read your comments on your recent stay with us and would like to thank you for your lovely comments on our staff & food. It’s great to read that you encountered a high level of service during your stay from our team and that you enjoyed your dining experiences...

Dublin
Reviewed 31 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed here last week with another family. The kids had a fantastic time in the pool, Angel in the gym was so kind and helpful, great guy, the bar manager was also very accommodating even brought out a big box of toys and dress up stuff for the kids while we had dinner, breakfast is also generous, my only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dublinmarymcd
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us recently, I am especially pleased to read that as a return guest you believed we had raised our standards. Thank you for your lovely comments on our staff. Our operations team as a whole have been working very hard towards improving our...

TelAviv
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Got 11th floor room - was nice, big, with everything you can think about. In-room safe , great view and huge bed. Breakfast was rich with many options (even asked and got fresh vegetables for free). Recommended! (Nearby French-Table restaurant is recommended as well)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaarB
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* review, I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us recently and especially your breakfast experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 26 January 2015

After doing considerable research during the booking process we settled for this hotel. What a disappointment the staying there was for us. We booked two rooms and both were the same standard. We certainly expected much better for €169.00 per room. I would rate it as a low level 3* hotel. The room furniture was basic quality and the carpets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam F
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us recently, I am sorry that you believed the hotel was only of a 3* standard and that you not find the hotel good value. Regarding the quality of our hotel product, I wish to confirm that we are currently in...

Ireland
Reviewed 25 January 2015

Stayed for a night last Friday night as part of a very good offer bed breakfast and dinner for 100euro...we were offered an upgrade to deluxe room for 20 euro extra which we accepted..The restaurant was closed Friday night ??? so we ate in the bar...quality of food was excellent and service very good too but just felt the set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lgattridge
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found the quality of your meals excellent and the service very good. With regards to our restaurant not being open on a Friday night, the opening times for our Sinergie restaurant do change throughout the year depending on occupancy...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2015

What can I say only very disapointed over all when I stayed there over the Christmas. The food was awful, "breaded chicken served with the mains" in the hotel bar for dinner, which sounded great on the menu, but they did not declare that they would be served overdone chicken fillet that you would get in a school lunch roll....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 111diddy
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am extremely disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your visit to us in December. I am very sorry that you did not find your meal in our Kudos bar to be satisfactory, I would like to assure you that this is not the standard of product which we endeavour to provide to...

Ottawa
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Stayed overnight in Limerick after a long drive from the south of Ireland. It was absolute heaven to us being so tired! The room was very comfortable and a great size. We were able to curl up and watch a movie after a long day of exploring. And the view out over the bay was lovely. The next morning we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tippychair
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It’s really great to read that you found your room comfortable and that you were able to relax after your travels. We are situated in a lovely location beside the River Shannon and many our guest do take time out of their days...

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 19 January 2015

I stayed here for a week and in general we are fully satisfied from the service provided. Staff are very friendly and professional. Rooms are wide, light-well and of course best part is view. As it is locaten in very center, you can walk lots of great restaurant or bar by walking. Air conditioner makes a bit noise so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim ö
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent week long stay with us, especially your room, our convenient city centre location and the hotel views over the River Shannon. With regards to our breakfast offering, our team have been working very hard over the past few months to make improvements to breakfast and...

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
1.5 km away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,847 reviews
0.7 km away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
2,310 reviews
0.7 km away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#6 of 20 in Limerick
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,085 reviews
5.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.6 km away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Price Range: ₹ 6,078 - ₹ 12,484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clayton Hotel Limerick staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Hotel Limerick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the 15 numbers on each floor , corner units with dual views of the river”
 of 5 bubbles rdenby13, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet. De-lux rooms have fab views with full length windows.”
 of 5 bubbles helenkU7046TC, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Being right on The Shannon you really can't go wrong as far as views are concerned.”
 of 5 bubbles MunsterBabs, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The higher the floor the better the views!”
 of 5 bubbles NLIMERICK, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a river view”
 of 5 bubbles 674garyd, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5