We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Earl of Desmond Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Earl of Desmond Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Earl of Desmond Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 281: English reviews
Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Arriving on a tourist coach we were quickly checked in, and it was into spacious room with a single and double bed. the room looked out over a pleasant garden. With a shower over the bath and easy to operate, we were soon feeling refreshed. Next it was down to dinner, ushered in at precisely 6pm, quickly served before the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Terence G
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terence G, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond Hotel. We are delighted to see that you had a great stay with us, and sincere thanks for your kind words about the staff and the hotel. We do hope you will revisit us the next time you are in the area, Kindest Regards, Norella Mansfield.

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2015

visited this hotel with national holidays 24 to 28th of may and was pleased with ..the friendly efficient staff, bright and airy rooms ,good food and excellent service would definately go to this hotel again

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 7clive64
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 7clive64, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your trip with Naional Holidays, we are delighted to be one of their preferred hotels for the past number of years. Your kind words about our team here will be passed onto them also, We hope to see you back...

Reviewed 28 May 2015

The hotel is not in the city of Tralee, but on the outskirts. Very big breakfast selection. Popular with big tour groups. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wifi only in lobby & bar area. We had a lovely view on the back garden.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dirmu G
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dirmu G, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and the view of the gardens is a definite plus! The maintenance team here are kept very busy with the upkeep of it! We hope to welcome you back the next time you are...

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

I stayed here on a spur of the moment ! There may be no extravagant amenities but the staff at this hotel are the nicest caring ever. My room was plain but lovely. Tv had all channels and althoufh it isn't a 5 star hotel it felt like i was living in luxary. Well recommended !

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravelL9495
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TravelL9495, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond. We were delighted to read that your last minute decision to stay with us was a decision well made, and sincere thanks for the kind words about the staff, we are lucky to have such a great team with us! We look forward to seeing you back...

Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

Was here last saturday for my son's communion,The food and service was absolutely excellent, not to mention stunning gardens at the back for pictures afterwards,can't praise it highly enough,can't wait to go back there

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank glenfles
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear glenfles, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable family occasion with us, and thank you for your very kind words! we look forward to seeing you back again soon, Kindest Regards, Norella Mansfield.

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 19 May 2015

This hotel must have the highest ranked terrible quality beds in Ireland. The springs in the center of the bed were almost through making it unbearable to even think of sleeping on. Extremely dirty bathroom. The sad thing is when you first enter the hotel it looks fine but warning bells go off when you walk down the halls were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank R G
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear R G, Thnak you for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond Hotel. We were very disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our housekeeping staff consistantly receive excellent compliments on the cleanliness of the rooms and the bathrooms, so we were surprised to read that you found your bathroom to be dirty....

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Stayed at the Earl of Desmond for 2 nights 11 and 12 May The hotel and room were very clean , the staff were all very helpful and cheery. On the first night we where entertained by a troupe of young musicians and dancers they where the highlight of the holiday . On the second night we were told there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nanyjay
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nanyjay, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond, and for your kind words regarding the hotel, food & staff! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Irish Night musicians, they really put on a great show for our guests! We hope that you may visit us again the next time you are in...

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2015

Just returned from a short stay at The Earl of Desmond hotel as part of a coach party. The staff were invariably cheery, and could not have been more helpful. The restaurant manageress was a lovely girl who always had a smile on her face. Food was plentiful and of a good standard. Only problem with this hotel is that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thecush660
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thecush660, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the team here. We hope we may welcome you back to us in the future! Kind Regards, Norella Mansfield, Assistant...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2015

I was staying on a coach trip from 7th to 11th, 4 nights. Like many hotels in the Killarney area, it was massive. However, I was astonished to find that breakfasts were the proverbial 'heart attack on a plate' unless you had Continental only, with black and white pudding, sausages, eggs, beans (who wants beans in a good hotel?) but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Toto561
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Toto561, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond. We are sorry to hear that you didnt find the choice for breakfast was disappointing - the choice of hot cooked & cold continental we have each morning always gets compliments and mushrooms and tomatoes are availalble on request daily. There was indeed a mass in the...

ireland
Reviewed 7 May 2015 via mobile

Visited here recently for a friends wedding. First impressions were really good with a beautiful reception area and friendly and efficient check in. I have to say every detail of the wedding from the room where the ceremony took place to the reception and the meal were fabulous and I couldn't fault it at all. Breakfast was lovely in a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank cos3
NorellaMansfield, Manager at The Earl of Desmond Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cos3, Many thanks for your recent review of the Earl of Desmond Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding and thank you for your kind comments regarding the food & service. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the area! Kind Regards, Norella Mansfield, Assistant Manager.

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
3.0 km away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
641 reviews
1.7 km away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
5.0 km away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
281 reviews
0.8 km away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#5 of 14 in Tralee
1,056 reviews
4.4 km away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Earl of Desmond Hotel

Address: N21 | Ballyseedy, Tralee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Price Range: ₹ 6,711 - ₹ 7,982 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Earl of Desmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Earl of Desmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Desmond Hotel Tralee
Earl Of Desmond Tralee
Earl Of Desmond Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tralee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Earl of Desmond Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
12 days ago
10 months ago
Lancaster, United Kingdom
over a year ago
glenrothes
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Earl of Desmond Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't have a room at the front of hotel very brightly lit hotel entrance BLACK out curtains needed”
 of 5 bubbles Vickyw789, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No. 351 was brill!!”
 of 5 bubbles rodifraser, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Odd numbered rooms face rear/woodland - even face front/road (but all party said lovely!!)”
 of 5 bubbles j0j00605, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“request a room facing the rear of the hotel if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles VacationLover1985, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go .”
 of 5 bubbles 600traveller2016, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5