We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Malton Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$ 200*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 263*
US$ 200*
Great Deal
US$ 223*
US$ 223*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Malton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,087 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Malton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,058: English reviews
Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel but staff unfriendly. Spa is basic not very relaxing but our treatments were nice. Going to and from the spa meant going through a reception room where a wedding was on. Totally impractical. It's an expensive hotel so I would expect service to be better.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank t0m1952
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a most enjoyable stay during your time at The Malton. Unfortunately we do not have full Spa facilities only Beauty Rooms however i am delighted to hear that you did enjoy your treatments. I have taken your comments on board regarding the location...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My aunts and I had another fantastic weekend in the Malton. Thanks to Mary Mac and Mike for looking after us so well.. it was our first time meeting Antonio working in the dining room and he was so pleasant and helpful. Thanks again to everyone at the Malton.. see ye again in September. Michelle and the aunties from cork.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank elisakeating
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor & we are delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind words to Mary Mac and Mike Hussey - they will be thrilled to get a specific mention. I will also pass on your comments to Antonio, our Restaurant Manager....

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from a 2 night break for our wedding anniversary. This hotel never lets us down which is why we keep coming back! (this is our fourth stay!) The room was beautiful, the service was top notch and the food was superb. The anniversary chocolates and card in our room was a lovely touch and much appreciated. We'll see...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sheepish7
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is always great to hear from one of our regular guests and thank you for such a complimentary review of your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you were impressed with your bedroom, the service and the food. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed our Anniversary gift for you both. We look forward...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of ladies stayed here in October as we have done in the past and we all looked forward to a wonderful night of food, music and craic. Well the food was very poor, many of our meals were returned which spoilt the meal for everyone, they was undercooked fish, overcooked steak - just a mess. The Maitre'D did...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank M7260CXmaryc
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly thank you for your feedback & I am delighted you enjoyed the music in The Punchbowl Bar. I was of course disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your meal. I hope this does not discourage you from staying with us again and I can assure you that we will endeavor to ensure that this...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just getting ready to check out after Another great, relaxing weekend at the Malton. The staff are all so friendly and accommodating. We were very happy with all aspects of our stay. The room was big, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The hotel was very busy this weekend but we always managed to find a quiet spot to relax. The wine...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pokerfacej74
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wow thank you so much for all of your lovely comments. We are delighted you experienced the top notch service that The Malton hotel prides itself on. With a history stretching over 161 years it is very important to us that we still continue with the time honoured tradition of excelling in the service provided to our guests....

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thanks to all at The Malton - we had a really lovely 2 night break over Easter. We were provided with all we could have wanted and more and the kids club was a great hit with our 4 year old (and with his Mum and Dad too!!).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MarsWCork
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted you all enjoyed your Two Night stay with us over Easter. We love to ensure that all of our guests and especially VIK's (very important kids) enjoy all of the entertainment provided in the Kerry Cubs Kids Club. If you like please sign up to our newsletter via our website and/or follow us on facebook/twitter...

Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the self catering apartments behind the malton for a family wedding recently and found them to be brilliant. They were spotless, well stocked with anything you would expect in a self catering location and were warm. My only complaint was the noise that came out of the hot water tank any time someone turned in a hot...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JadisinIreland
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted you enjoyed the wedding and your stay at The Malton Self Catering Houses. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the noise from the water tank. I will be sure to speak with our maintenance team regarding this. Thank you kindly for taking time to review us and we look forward...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The original building houses what they call their Classic Rooms. These are hotel rooms as they should be, spacious, with a big comfy bed, high ceilings, lovely views out of all the windows I looked out of, pleasant gardens, and perfectly placed for a visitor to the town, quiet at night, ten minutes from the centre, next to the famous...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rory F
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly thank you for your feedback & I am delighted you enjoyed and appreciated the decor and style of your bedroom. We are indeed quite fortunate with our location, just a few minutes walk from Killarney Town Centre and next door to Killarney Bus and Train stations. I was of course disappointed to hear that you were not...

Killarney, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a baby shower for my sister today sunday 23th in the Malton .. what a fantastic day we had .We had afternoon tea for 17 . They couldn't do enough for us. there where 2 staff in the room with us at all times.and we had it all to ourselfs nothing was a problem . The food was just...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank msculloty
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and delighted you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. Thank you for your kind words about our helpful staff. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Best Regards, Sinead Marron General Manager

Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with a classic car group Our room was very large with beautiful decor and a very large bathroom. It has a feeling of grandeur when you enter. The first night we ate out but it was our group meal for around 130 people on the second. It started with a basket of 8 bread...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carole P

718 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (265)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (137)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (430)
Viewed
Amenities (61)
Viewed
Classic Room (53)
Viewed
Junior Suite (41)
Viewed
Kennedy Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (68)
Viewed
Standard Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,338 reviews
1.5 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,128 reviews
2.3 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
International Hotel Killarney
3.9 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,480 reviews
0.3 km away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Price Range: ₹ 11,539 - ₹ 19,885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Malton Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Malton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 445 has lovely seating area with couch and arm chair”
Pokerfacej74, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the Classic rooms, and the garden side is probably quieter, but really, they're all good rooms (we've been there several times).”
roryf989, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There was no issue with noise.. for any of our family members... lovely quiet hotel..”
99CarolineF, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A room in the old part of the hotel for older people”
Q9980RJtomd, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not take a room in the new annex of the hotel - too noisy from kitchen.”
BH-ontario, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 200* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 223
Expedia.comUS$ 223
HotelQuicklyUS$ 263
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates