We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 209: English reviews
Ireland
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The wideangel in cameras makes room look bigger in pictures than they are in real life and so was the case here. Most things at Amber Hill was ok. Good breakfast in a nice but tiny diningroom and nice people working there. On the big minus side though, the room was very cold and the shower lacked hot water. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GogreenIreland
Stockton on Tees
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We were greeted by a young girl who told us our room number, but not where the room was. The stair carpet is very grubby, and there's a security camera at the top of the stairs. The interior of the house is typical of a house built in recent years and has a cheap feel to it. The door locks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nektaruk
benidorm
Reviewed 2 September 2009

stayed here for 1 night with some friends and family. From the moment we arrived we felt right at home. The owners were very helpful and had lots of local information regarding restaurants ect to hand. Our rooms were spotlesly clean and the bathrooms spacious and well appointed. I would certainly say that Amberhill was one of the best places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benidormguy
alicante
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I just returned from a wonderfull stay at Amberhill bed and breakfast. The place was very clean and the staff friendly and very helpful. The extras for free such as internet station, mineral water and the great rooms really made it for us. I would certainly reccomend Amberhill for anyone travelling in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank connoralicante
seattle, WA
Reviewed 29 August 2009

My family (wife + 2 teenagers) stayed at the Amber Hill B&B, in their chalet behind the main building during our recent 12 day trip to Ireland. I have to say it was disappointing, the only mediocre B&B experience we had during our visit. The chalet was small and the whole room had a tired look to it and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamkchi
S.devon
Reviewed 1 August 2009

My friend and I booked Amberhill Guest House for two nights in July 09 on information that it was only a ten minute walk from Leisureland and Salthill beaches as we had no transport. The first night there we walked to the beaches but it certainly didn't take only ten minutes. It actually took us 20-25 minutes. Even the locals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank devondame
Beds
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed for a night at Amber Hill during a tour of the West of Ireland. Amber Hill was adequate, but it was the most disappointing of the B&Bs we stayed in during our trip. It isn't your typical B&B - it is a purpose-built guest house, and the owner doesn't even live on site (he lives at another B&B...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan-J-P
tonyGalway, manager at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Alan, I was very sorry to read you feel your stay at Amberhill was dissapointing. I have to say I am very upset you would write a review like this as we explained to you on the day that one of the ladies that was cooking breakfast had an accident in the kitchen and needed to be treated in...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Just spent 2 nights at this B&B with my husband and our baby. Upon our arrival no one greeted us nor came to open the door, we rang the door bell and we were answered from a mobile phone and were told the code to enter. No one came to introduce themselves etc even when some one did turn up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MaltaOzzie
Los Angeles
Reviewed 20 March 2009

This is part bed and breakfast, part hotel. The rooms were simple but done well with comfortable beds. The shower was cold! Otherwise, great value for our short stay in Galway and they serve a nice bfast. A neat alternative to a standard hotel and a great value. It took a while to find it -- get good directions if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AVRLosAngeles
Logan WV USA
Reviewed 5 July 2008

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Braxi

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.2 km away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#18 of 197 in Galway
53 reviews
3.1 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
549 reviews
1.7 km away
Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#37 of 197 in Galway
109 reviews
2.5 km away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 51 in Galway
571 reviews
0.0 km away
Amber Heights Guesthouse
Amber Heights Guesthouse
#91 of 197 in Galway
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amber Hill is one of the best guesthouses in the Galway area. We always go the extra mile to ensure our guests have a great stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: Amber Hill 12 Bishop o'Donnell Road Cuan Glas | Bishop O'Donnell Rd, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: ₹ 3,956 - ₹ 10,596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hill b&b
Amber Hill Hotel Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at the rear of the B&B would be the quietest as further away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles beinginthemoment, 19 May 2015 | Read review
“ask for Anthony, he's a great manager”
 of 5 bubbles P7010FEpeterf, 12 Dec 2014 | Read review
“May be added tower holder....”
 of 5 bubbles GaelAix, 20 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Had room for 4, which was a plus.”
 of 5 bubbles minorwc, 16 Jul 2014 | Read review
“There are some ground floor rooms for those who prefer. Rooms in the front get some road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles judym601, 4 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5