We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swallow Bed & Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Swallow Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Edinburgh
Reviewed 31 July 2015

We struggled to find somewhere to stay in Galway and this place was perfect in the end. We had a nice private suite out the back with en-suite at a great price, the hosts were both very friendly and loved our two small children and the buffet breakfast made a nice change from full irish ones. Never eaten so many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChadHarrison
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

The owners of this B and B were very friendly and accommodated me last minute on the day of arrival without a booking. It is a short walk to the centre of Galway City. Wifi is available. These things aside however it is a disappointing accommodation option for the following reasons.. The room ( number 6, a box room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
theswallowgalway, Owner at Swallow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Caroline, We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at The Swallow. A single bedroom is €45 at the height of the season. With reference the duvet cover, had you brought this to our attention at the time we would of been happy to change it. Thank you for your feedback reference the blinds, we will take this...

Reviewed 12 July 2015

Very reasonable price and in a great location. The owners are very friendly and I always enjoy staying there, it is couple of minutes walk the Galway City Centre. I really like the rooms at the back of the premises. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seth m
Clonakilty, Ireland
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Four of us arrived on spec on Saturday afternoon without a booking complete with motorcycles. We were accommodated without any hassle and were provided with safe parking and clean accommodation, with decent facilities. Our host was extremely friendly and breakfast (though not a fry up) consisted of continental and egg options. Loads of tea and coffee also provided foc. Location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FODFOD
Navan, Ireland
Reviewed 8 July 2015

I cannot rate this bnb highly enough, Two of this nicest people I've stayed with, I spent 4 days and will surely come again. Very helpful and funny. The rooms were tidy and bnb is located a short walk from both Salthill promenade and the heart of Galway city. Thank you Jimmy and Patricia. hopefully see you again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daryn T
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Stayed here on a bike tour of ireland,brilliant,owners were,more than welcoming, arrived in the rain, they dried all our wet gear,accommodation was great, small chalet style rooms on suite with all facilities, tv, tea,coffee etc. Ten minutes walk to city centre. Breakfast buffet style, ham,cheese,fruit,crossants,cereal,juice,tea/coffee followed by scrambled eggs and toast, a banquet.Would recommend this b/b very highly and will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

Can't rate this accommodation high enough, stayed here last year and this year its got better, very friendly patrons, buffet style breakfast, followed by scrambled eggs and toast, unlimited fresh coffee and fruit. Accommodation clean and comfortable, 10 minutes walk to city centre, be back next year cheers. The john deere trike man.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordie R
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2015

We messed up & found ourselves in Galway with no accommodation on a Friday night. Thanks to 'Dickie' - a taxi driver - we were taken to The Swallow whose owner Jimmy couldn't have been more accommodating. We ended up staying for 3 nights because it felt like coming home every evening....breakfast was good too....although he'll tell you himself that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatyMolland
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Great place just down the road from the city centre and a quick stroll round the corner to the beautiful seafront. Leisurely breakfast where the owners see to your every wish and keep the tea and toast flowing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Perfect location for town centre and also sea front. Clean rooms with ensuite, and wifi. Lovely breakfast selection, hosts made us very welcome. Thanks for the suggestions of what to do, definitely will stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
1,704 reviews
1.5 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,650 reviews
1.6 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
1,385 reviews
0.2 km away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 197 in Galway
663 reviews
1.9 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Swallow Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Swallow 98 Father Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swallow Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Swallow Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i was at no.6 but all are perfect and clean”
wirdziniak, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Nice view towrds street (and beyond).”
249martinn, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We had room n. 5 , very lovely and with a great view of the nice Father Griffin Street.”
Ema190668, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Chalets were great”
derekr449, 17 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Excellent rooms in main house”
R6465ECtomm, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5