We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Skeffington Arms Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 120*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Skeffington Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Skeffington Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 422: English reviews
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We didn't stay in the hotel, but went there for food both nights when we were in Galway for the weekend.I would highly recommend this place for food. There is a range of food on the menu, and everything looks and is delicious!! Nothing is too big of a bother for the staff. They are all friendly and up for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenz240
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jenz240, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable dining experience with us and I will make sure to pass your kind comments on to the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The...

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Disappointed with this pub, out for a few after work drinks we ordered a popular branded bottle beer and got a flat unrecognisable drink instead, the barman did exchange for a fresh one but when it came to the next round it was the same flat unrecognisable drink. Suspect that they are rebottling draft beer.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barry G
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barry G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit and apologies that you did not have an enjoyable time with us. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that such practices do not happen within our bar & we pride ourselves on serving quality drinks and food,...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

It was only a one night stay however the location is ideal and within the city centre of Galway , the check in and check out were easy and fast. The room are tidy, cleaned and of a decent size. We needed a remote for the TV which the receptionist bring it to us right away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonathon G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was glad to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the near future. Kind regards, Ashling Dudley Guest Relations Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Staff were friendly- The two girls at the front desk but otherwise. Falling asleep and only to be woken up with people coming back at 1am cursing and screaming for hours and singing karaoke the whole night until 4am when I had to get on a 9am bus to the Aran Islands the next morning. I told the staff about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AngelDanger
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AngelDanger, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel and apologies that on this occasion it was not a fully positive experience. I have passed your helpful feedback onto our front desk team and have also spoken to our night porter team. We would love the opportunity...

County Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Came to make an enquiry on staying for a few days in this central hotel. Was met by a very rude Steven. The hotel manager he informed me when i asked could i talk to someone else. We left without booking anything. Rudeness is unacceptable

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob S
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bob S, Thank you for taking the time to review The Skeffington Arms Hotel on TripAdvisor. Apologies that your experience was not an overly positive one and have spoken to the team member in question regarding this feedback. Kind regards, Ashling Dudley Guest Relations Manager

County Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 19 December 2016

This is a great location for lunch. They do one of the best carverys in Galway. We had lunch there on two recent Saturdays and the food was top of the range. The place is busy as you expect coming up to Christmas. The service and the food is excellent. I would very much recommend the Lamb, you wont beat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank westerntravelerah
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear westerntravelerah, Many thanks for your review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed the food and service here on both of your visits and we look forward to welcoming you back again when your travels allow. I will be sure to pass your kind comments along to the staff. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas. Regards, Stephen Mc...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 14 December 2016

I'm a frequent customer of the carvery lunch which is served in the bar area. The menu is varied and prices reasonable but its a hit and miss from day to day, in that the vegetables have been cold on several occasions. The meat and potatoes are fine. I have informed the staff of this and they are happy with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _teachnaleachtai
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear _teachnaleachtai, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have passed your comments along to our food manager here who will look at the matter further you can also reach her on: ashling@theskeff.ie if you would like to talk to her directly. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas, Regards, Stephen Mc Donald, Front Office Manager

Ireland
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel multiple times over the last couple of years. My latest stay was as excellent as ever. The service from checking in, to eating and drinking in the bar, to the breakfast was top standard. The location of the hotel is hard to beat. The Christmas market is basically on your doorstep along with multiple bars,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul O, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments. We are blessed with both a great location and a great staff and I will be sure to pass along your comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Skeffington Arms again when your travels allow. With...

County Meath, Ireland
Reviewed 9 December 2016

This eatery/bar is a regular haunt of ours while shopping in Galway. The warm fire and the friendly welcome from staff, as well as good service and tasty food is worth the shop by shop visits! It is always busy - on all floors and is good value. Will be back, of course!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RetireeOldcastle
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RetireeOldcastle, Many thanks for your review and your kind words, I was happy to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Skeffington Arms. We will pass your kind comments along to all the team here. With Kind Regards, Stephen Mc Donald, Front Office Manager

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

I highly recommend staying here, staff are amazing and rooms are excellent value for money, Im really looking forward to staying here again. From the second we checked in our experience here was perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meghan H
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so very much for your kind words on all aspects of the Skeffington Arms hotel and we are delighted to read how well you where looked after by all of our team. We will pass on your very kind words and thank you for sharing your review. Looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with...

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 46 in Galway
578 reviews
0.3 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
836 reviews
0.2 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#32 of 46 in Galway
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
1,346 reviews
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,699 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: ₹ 5,895 - ₹ 12,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Skeffington Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cork, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Skeffington Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont worry about the noise, they supply ear plugs”
angmcg1, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Can't advise really- perhaps not to the front of the hotel at the weekend”
AidanG819, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for a quiet room”
indieannabish, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not face out to the street to avoid noise from the nightclub etc”
helenreilly_1980, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the middle of the building have no view but are quieter.”
JeremyPaul99, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 120* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 120
PricelineUS$ 120
Agoda.comUS$ 120
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates