We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Barnacles Hostel Galway

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Barnacles Hostel Galway
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barnacles Hostel Galway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 351: English reviews
Regensburg, Germany
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Barnacles Hostel Galway is a nice and clean hostel with a fantastic location in the middle of Latin quarter. You will find nice staff, clean rooms, a well stocked kitchen and a cosy and comfortable lounge.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nenak992
Lidija R, Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi nenak992 Thank you for reviewing your staying your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed all our facilities and your stay here. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards ~ Barnacles

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Galway was our favorite place to stay during our two week road trip through Ireland. It was hands down the best place to be. I only wish that we planned to stay longer than a night. We did a pub crawl offered by the hostel and it was a great way to meet the people in the hostel. We made...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amclark1990
Lidija R, Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi amclark1990 Thank you so much for your fantastic review of our hostel. We are trilled you had such a great time here and got to enjoy the fun aspects of Galway. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to meeting you again in the future. Regards ~ Ann Barrett, Manager

Storrs, Connecticut
Reviewed 27 March 2016

The place is in a great location: surrounded by some great bars, shops, and restaurants. My travel partner and I showed up at around 1 in the afternoon, paid 22 Euro each per night stay there, we stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room we had a a bunk bed in it for the two of us,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ward_cj225
Lidija R, Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi ward_cj225 Many thanks for your great review of our hostel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a great time in Galway. We hope to see you get to visit us again in the future. ~ Barnacles

Granada, Spain
Reviewed 27 March 2016

We spent three days in Galway and rested on Barnacles Quay. Location is perfect, in Quay Street, the centre of the city with nice pubs and shops in less than 1 minute from the hostel. Really good service, nice kitchen and really nice living room (with TV, DVD, guitars, board games so you can enjoy and relax with your friends)....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 465miriam
Lidija R, Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi 465miriam We are glad to hear you liked our facilities and really enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you return soon. Regards ~ Ann Barrett, Manager

Wroclaw, Poland
Reviewed 26 March 2016

The stay in Barnacles Galway was so so. The power lockets didn't work in the whole 6-person dormitory. There was no heating and it felt pretty cold. Moreover, 'hot' water in the shower was, at most, lukewarm, and it was coming with a very low pressure, wchich made it long to take a shower. That was quite a lot as...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank monikasM5008EE
Lidija R, Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi MonikasM5008EE Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are sorry the power sockets tripped in your room and that the water was lukewarm but these issues was resolved quickly once we were made aware of them. Our rates over St Patricks weekend celebrations were a little higher than normal because of the high demand for accommodation in...

Granada, Spain
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Especially well located hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. Free wi-fi in all rooms. Clean rooms and bathrooms. I recommend it to everybody who is planning to visit Galway. Check out the free city tour and all the activities offered in the hostel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank beedebeatriz
Lidija R, Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Beedebeatriz Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. ~ Barnacles

Danielson, Connecticut
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Water was cold the location was amazing and staff was extremely friendly but breakfast was a joke and we couldn't take a shower in ice cold water although it was fixed.. I wouldn't invest in a better breakfast.. The complimentary breakfast isn't worth it if it is just toast and cereal

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank apdean76
Lidija R, Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Apdean76 Thanks for your feedback about your stay. Sorry the water in the shower was cold, had you brought this to our attention at the time we could have resolved it for you or organised a room change straight away. Our complimentary light breakfast includes a choice of two juices, three cereals, fruit salad, herbal tea, coffee, hot choc...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Great place, awesome new shared kitchen. No drinking policy in the kitchen but it was okay most of the time. It was clean! Great location in Galway!!! The staff was helpful, they gave us a 10% or 20% (don't remember) because we came from the Barnacles hostel in Dublin, even if our 2 hostels were booked in advance (if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume B
Lidija R, Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Guillaume thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to review us. When you book our sister hostel Barnacles Dublin you get a 10% discount and visa versa. Let us know when you are coming to Galway again and maybe we can organised a return visitor discount for you! Happy travels ~ Barnacles

Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Reviewed 24 March 2016

I've been staying at hostels around Europe for awhile and this was by far one of the worst. The sheets were covered in stains, the shower had mold, and the staff were completely rude. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaycee M
Lidija R, Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Kaycee, Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Barnacles. I am so sorry to hear the standards of the bedroom were unsatisfactory and I apologise for this. I will investigate the points raised and set about remedying immediately. We value your custom and opinion but I am completely surprised when you say our staff were rude as...

Granada, Spain
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Barnacles Quay Hostel was perhaps the best place to enjoy the Galway experience. It was located in the heart of the city- plus, its facilities allowed us to meet lots of young people from other countries

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank javilinwo

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,561 reviews
0.6 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,555 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#11 of 47 in Galway
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 47 in Galway
800 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 km away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 50 in Galway
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Galway, the perfect location to explore the West of Ireland. Barnacles hostels in Galway and Dublin are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Galway

Address: Quay Street House 10 Quay Street | The Latin Quarter, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Barnacles Quay Street House)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: ₹ 1,774 - ₹ 5,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Galway Hotel Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barnacles Hostel Galway staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Barnacles Hostel Galway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i stayed at the back which is away from street”
 of 5 bubbles katemA5672OI, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All floors are very cramped and creaky - Plan on spending most of your time outside!!”
 of 5 bubbles 729marissag, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book the apartment behind the hostel. Expect nightlife noise on the weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles angelabZ8599XQ, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A room away from 7am loud radio at reception”
 of 5 bubbles annemarieg698, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“200--it's big, airy, easy to live in!”
 of 5 bubbles F3585TPtomd, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay