We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Ardilaun Hotel

Show Prices
#18 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Ardilaun Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Ardilaun Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,219: English reviews
Durham, Canada
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Well, this was meant to be a 5* hotel that was booked as part of our castle tour Ireland. Not that we wanted 5* hotels at all but it came with the package. This was probably the biggest disappointment in the whole trip. We had been booked in a "garden room", checkin was a little slow and they seemed a...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank chickandbeast
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chickandbeast, Thank you for your recent review of The Ardilaun Hotel. Your feedback is important to us. It is disappointing to read your unfavourable comments about us. All our room allocations are done with great attention to detail and on your overall booking there was no mention of a request for a garden room and we do not allocate...

Essex UK
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight after my cousin's wedding reception. Firstly the reception food was excellent - no mean feat for 250 guests. All staff friendly & professional. The hotel is pleasant & set in attractive grounds. Our room was clean & comfortable and we slept well once we got to bed after 2am! Breakfast was very good with sufficient choice. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angel57
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your feedback is wonderful and we are absolutely delighted that you have taken the time to post your review. Wedding reception business is very important to us here and we are very well aware of how important the day is to the bride, groom, their families and friends so it is vital that every element of their booking...

Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A birthday treat from my husband was gratefully received and well needed. Two nights in the Ardilaun and I was renewed. Everything from the staff to the pool was faultless. The food in the restaurant was delicious. At the time of our stay the hotel was extremely busy with a trade fair but the service never slipped. We will return...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank feeog
JohnRyanMD, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed staying with us and hope that you will return again soon. Best Regards, The Ardilaun Team

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed overnight on Friday August 1st whilst in Galway for races. Accommodation was excellent in a superior/executive room which was very comfortable. A bus was laid on for transport to the races. We dined with friends on Friday night and the variety and quality of the food was top class. The flavours were on a par with any reputable restaraunt....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brendan J
JohnRyanMD, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brendan, Thank you so much for your feedback following your stay with us. While we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, it is disappointing that we read your unfavourable comments. Your comments have been communicated throughout the hotel. We would like to sincerely apologise to you for the inconvenience in relation to the availability of a porter to...

Newbridge, Ireland
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are a family off 4 that stayed in the Ardilaun for the weekend. From start to finish we had a very enjoyable stay. We stayed in the back of the Hotel, room very nice, bath and separate shower in bathroom, fantastic shower.Bed comfortable but my personal preference would have been a duvet instead of blankets. Breakfast was very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tmon66
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for having chosen to stay with us recently and for sharing your feedback. It is always lovely to know that people have enjoyed their Ardilaun experience. We very much look forward to welcoming you all back to stay with us again. Warm Regards, The Ardilaun Team

Ennis,Co Clare
Reviewed 2 August 2014

What a hotel !!!!, everything from the amazing staff to excellent food and great rooms, just goes to show what a difference it makes when you stay at a family run hotel, each and every member of staff are a testiment to the way they feel about the hotel. The day started with a fabulous prosecco reception followed by a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CB10ennis
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very grateful to you for having taken the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. What a wonderful review - thank you. Our First Furlong event was a great success again this year and we have received absolutely fantastic feedback. We are thrilled. We very much look forward to having you back...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Blazers Bar offers an intimate location for leisure or business. Although the menu can sometimes be quite,well,exotic for an Irish restaurant, there's always something great to be had! Sometimes,waiting times can be quite excessive, yet food always makes up for it. Free WiFi always a bonus here.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Patrick M
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, Thank you for your review. We are very happy to receive your comments and they have been communicated to the relevant teams. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come back to visit again soon. Warmest Regards, The Ardilaun Team

Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This lovely hotel is located in a green garden oasis a couple of miles from downtown Galway. So it is not convenient to the old town sights/sites. Bus is needed. Its location is quiet--except for loud employees in back areas--who are heard because of lack of air-conditioning. Meals were too fancy and lacked basics--like adequate warmth. Lamb was barely warm....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EdwardBonekemper
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Edward, Thank you for your review. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. All of your comments have been communicated throughout the hotel - we thank you for your feedback. Best Regards, The Ardilaun Team

Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Love staying here with my boyfriend to unwind. The food in the restaurant is gorgeous and is equally nice in the bar. Pool area is nice. Short stroll to Salthill. It's also nice to walk to the city centre. Rooms are nice, a bit dated but that's to be expected given the age of the hotel. Staff are really friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbossa
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for having chosen our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best Regards, The Ardilaun Team

limerick
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We are a family of 5 and stayed for 3 nights..the staff were always really nice, helpful and friendly especially with our kids. The family room was really spacious, spotless and always plenty of towels etc.. and the wifi came in handy with the children..The air conditioning made a big difference and comfortable as it was quiet hot during our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cailinbeag
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, A most sincere thank you to you for having taken the time to post such a wonderful and informative review following your family stay at The Ardilaun. We are really delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in Galway. It was a pleasure to have had you as our guests...

566 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Single Room (33)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (27)
Viewed
Suite (37)
Viewed
Superior Double Single Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
2,669 reviews
2.1 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,517 reviews
1.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,544 reviews
1.4 km away
The Salthill Hotel
The Salthill Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: ₹ 4,111 - ₹ 11,188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Galway
#7 Family Hotel in Galway
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#20 Business Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ardilaun Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Ardilaun Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garden view in the back”
 of 5 bubbles nanatravels2, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the side are slightly bigger. If you have a particular requirement or request just phone the hotel directly.”
 of 5 bubbles Kurangai, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“layout and signage very confusing for all”
 of 5 bubbles fcamcgovern, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a walk in shower at the time of booking - if you need it.”
 of 5 bubbles GENEZANNO, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“336 or a room with a view of the garden”
 of 5 bubbles graney, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay