We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ardilaun Hotel

Show Prices
#16 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ardilaun Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Ardilaun Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,260: English reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2015

If you're looking for a superbly appointed hotel with friendly staff, a sincerely warm welcome, great restaurant & lively bar, you can't go past the Ardilaun. From the friendly reception staff ( Hi Lisa & Bernie ! ) to the hilariously funny ( but totally professional ) restaurant staff, not to mention the ever helpful Marie and Maureen (events management)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tez19
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tez19, Many thanks for your review of The Ardilaun. Your positive comments and compliments to the staff are very much appreciated and have been passed on to everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, John Ryan, Managing Director

Cork
Reviewed 12 January 2015

Difficult stay as family member unwell in hospital. Staff very understanding. Food in Bistro very good. Christmas week so lots of party's going on but didn't impact on guests. Only problem really was getting served a drink as the staff kept busy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank linvar
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear linvar, Thank you for your review recently. We are delighted to have been of service to you during your stay at The Ardilaun over Christmas. We wish you and your family well for 2015 and look forward to welcoming you back to The Ardilaun in the future. Kind regards, John Ryan, Managing Director

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 January 2015

I stayed here for the first time in 2014 and on two occasions! The first was during the Galway International Arts festival and the second was to celebrate my birthday where I availed of a Select Hotels Ireland deal of two nights for the price of one. I enjoyed the first stay so much that I thought yes I would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rosemaryoloughlin
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rosemaryoloughlin, Many thanks to you for the great and positive review you posted recently of The Ardilaun. We are delighted to read that you have stayed with us on more than one occasion and enjoyed your visits so much. Your comments regarding our front office staff are most appreciated and we are glad that you could avail of the...

County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 8 January 2015

My boyfriend surprised me with a weekend away here for my birthday and I must say it was not a disappointment. I loved loved loved everything about this hotel and I’ve been wanting to go back ever since the moment we checked out. We arrived on a Friday and were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist. The bedroom was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OrlaO92
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Orla092, We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your recent review of The Ardilaun hotel. We are delighted that you and your boyfriend chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your visit so much. We have passed on your compliments to all staff concerned including the chef and Avalon beauty rooms, who were...

donegal
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Booked this hotel for the 31st dec, on the promise from the hotel receptionist at the time that we would get a table in the restaurent for that evening. Had booked 2 other hotels previously to this and cancelled as i was told they would only be serving bar food on that night ! so back to Ardilaun and made...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank niniDonegal
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear niniDonegal, Thank you for your recent review of The Ardilaun hotel following your stay here over New Year. We are very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your experience at The Ardilaun. As you were told on check in, there was a wedding that day and also the Gala New year dinner in the restaurant which you...

County Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We stayed at The Ardilaun in June 2014 with our 1year old puppy. Being a pet-friendly hotel was the main attraction for us. We were accommodated in a ground floor pet-friendly room with doors opening out onto the garden. It was very relaxing and the room service was excellent. The room was quite spacious with half wooden floor to accommodate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarB5332
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarB5332, Thank you for your review of The Ardilaun recently. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our pet friendly facilities. Your comments regarding garden doors have been passed on to maintenance and will be given attention. All your feedback is valuable and used in future training to ensure the comfort and convenience of...

Chicago
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Charming vintage with modern amenities. Large lobby. Well-located in Galway, well-priced; much appreciate comfortable room and complimentary wifi, much appreciate the hearty breakfast. Pool, sauna on site.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie L
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jodie L, Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor recently. We are delighted that you chose to stay at The Ardilaun and that you enjoyed your trip so much. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, John Ryan, Managing Director

Dundalk, Ireland
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Exceptionally friendly reception staff ensured we were getting the best rate for the event that we attended. Room was very comfortable, if a little dated in furnishings. The hotel would make an excellent base for a winter weekend stay in Galway

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpclinton
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jpclinton, Thank you for your review of The Ardilaun recently. Your positive feedback is very welcome and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, John Ryan, Managing Director

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We were married in the Ardilaun at the end of December with 120 guests. We stayed for a full week in the hotel including the wedding weekend so we got to know the place quite well. In summary it is an excellent place to stay and an amazing wedding venue. The food, including breakfast and dinner (in Blazers Bar) was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmasad
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cm asad, Many thanks for your review of The Ardilaun recently following your wedding in December. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your special day so much. It is one of the most important days of your life together and we at The Ardilaun strive to ensure that every bride and groom feels very special on that day....

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 January 2015

We had the pleasure of staying at Ardilaun Hotel for 2 days over the New Year in rooms 230 & 231. Rooms clean tidy & fresh. Traditional Irish breakfast was served as buffet. All levels of staff were most friendly in every way. A very family and child friendly hotel. However, would like to suggest to upgrade the folding bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ups-up
JohnRyanMD, Owner at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ups-up, Thank you for your review of The Ardilaun and your very positive feedback. Your comments regarding folding beds will be passed on to the Accommodations manager and we do constantly review these facilities to ensure the comfort of our guests. We appreciate your constructive feedback. Kind regards, John Ryan Managing Director

567 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Single Room (33)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (27)
Viewed
Suite (37)
Viewed
Superior Double Single Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
2,778 reviews
2.1 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,586 reviews
2.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,596 reviews
5.4 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,584 reviews
4.3 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: ₹ 4,369 - ₹ 10,888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Galway
#7 Family Hotel in Galway
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#20 Business Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ardilaun Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Ardilaun Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a refurbished room and not near a lift”
 of 5 bubbles AideenH_13, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“upper floor very quiet and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles bridmcauley, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful rooms, quiet location, a short walk away from city centre”
 of 5 bubbles patrickdT7866IL, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 119 was very spacious with three single beds and a double”
 of 5 bubbles SarahCelia1, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 208 was at the end of a corridor, so no passing foot traffic, and over looked the gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles pfb72, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5