We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Show Prices
#50 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,192: English reviews
worcestershire
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

I booked a junior suite for my husbands birthday and when we got to the hotel we were given a normal double room.the room had a nice view of stephens green but was small so we went to reception to point out the mistake.they then gave us the key to the junior suite id booked. i felt sick when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyandmichel
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andyandmichael Thank you for making time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers following your stay. While Iam pleased that overall your stay was comfortable, Iam dissappointed to learn that the view from our junior suites was undertwhelming, though Iam glad that my colleagues were able to relocate you to a room that better suited your requirements....

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 9 September 2015

The best part of this hotel is that it is centrally located to almost everything you would want to do in Dublin (Trinity College, Hop on Hop off Bus, cathedrals, etc). The rooms were extremely clean and well laid out, the wifi was fast, and the hotel staff was extremely responsive. I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
Hugh L, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alex C I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are, as you say centrally located to most of the tourist attractions in the city centre. I will pass on your kind words to the staff in the hotel. We do hope to see you again in the hotel. Kind Regards, Hugh L.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

We have stayed here several times now and never been disappointed! It's a fab hotel, lovely staff, luxury rooms and a great location for tram, shops, restaurants and pubs! Have stayed 3 times and would stay again on next visit. Dublin is a fantastic city, days can be tiring but you get a fab night sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
Hugh L, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathryn R Thank you for leaving a review of the hotel. I am glad to see that you have been here a few times before and you have always enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you agin. Kind Regards, Hugh L.

Dartmouth, MA
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

We had a quick and easy check in and check out process. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly. The room was very spacious and the largest most comfortable bed we had throughout a 2 week stay in 4 different cities. The room was very clean although slightly dated. Great location for easy walking to various locations. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carax
Hugh L, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear carax I was very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay, along with the staff being very friendly to you. We do hope to see you again. Kind regards, Hugh L.

Lake George, New York
Reviewed 6 September 2015

The hotel is nice, the staff as you enter the lobby seems to ignore you unless you go up and ask a question. When approached they are fine but otherwise they may seem aloof or even rude. The room was a decent size and the bed was comfortable. The seating area in the room lacked. There were two chairs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ADKtraveller
Hugh L, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ADKtraveller Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your stay in the hotel. I was disappointed to read that you felt the receptionists in the hotel were not the most welcoming. I do apologise for that, and believe that this was an isolated incident, as for the most part it the guests are very happy...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

The breakfast was excellent, but on our first day the hotel was overly busy and therefore service was very slow and as we were all in the bar area of the hotel space was limited. No such problems on the second and third day where service was brisk and space plentiful. Dinner in the bar area was disappointing. Reception staff...

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kev H
Hugh L, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you Kev H for taking the time to leave a review of the hotel. I was disappointed to see that your dinner experience and that breakfast service on your first morning was not up to standard. Following the first morning, I can see that your breakfast was had with ease and you did enjoy it. Kind Regards Hugh L.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Location can't be beat - just a block to busy Grafton Street shopping and then minutes to Temple Bar. I had a prepaid room at a good price - and was pleasantly surprised when Marisol offered an upgrade for a small fee to a huge room with balcony that was available immediately at 6am...she made my day! Breakfast was included...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NAD2707
Hugh L, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you NAD2707 for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. I will pass on your kind works in relation to Marisol. We do hope to see you again in the future. Regards Hugh L.

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We looked at many hotels via TripAdvisor, and we settled on this quaint hotel. It is ideally located near Stephen's Green, a lovely park to stroll through. We stayed 3-nights and saw all the touristy things to see in Dublin. The front desk staff was very helpful on their suggestions for the on-off bus, restaurants and pub recommendations. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sueh0963
Hugh L, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you sueh0963 for leaving your review of the hotel. I was happy to see that you decided to stay here having read the positive reviews on tripadvisor. In relation to the staf, I am glad to see that they were more than helpful to you for suggesting locations to go to during your stay here. We do hope to...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 September 2015

The hotel is well situated and easily accessible on foot or by city bus. The staff was friendly and the rooms spacious. The restaurant has a great breakfast menu and the quality of food was excellent. It is not a luxury hotel but very comfortable and convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mittraveller
Hugh L, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mittraveller, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay in the hotel. I do appreciate your kind words about the staff in the hotel. We do pride ourselves on having a very good selection on the breakfast menu, along with having a hot cooked breakfast to order. We do hope to see you again....

Miami
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Great small hotel, perfect location. Rooms are a nice size. Right near all the major important sites. Breakfast was very good. Most rooms have a decent view. Service by management team was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maltravel
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Maltatravel Your comments regarding the team, bedroom and location are much appreciated and we hope you had an enjoyable stay in Dublin. Once again thank you for your contribution and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future. Warm regards Elena Talpalaru

825 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (226)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (585)
Viewed
Amenities (108)
Viewed
Classic King Room Accessible (67)
Viewed
Classic Queen Room (70)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (68)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1500 (85)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1526 (58)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
2,196 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
1,357 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 8,476 - ₹ 20,273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Colorado Springs, Colorado
over a year ago
Boston, Massachusetts

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay for the breakfast well worth it”
 of 5 bubbles yorkies1234, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Six floor quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 573seanm, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid street facing as it's noisy outside”
 of 5 bubbles 833neilt, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the 6th floor at the front of the hotel have a great view across Dublin”
 of 5 bubbles 244vickyo, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for floors higher up as there is quite a lot of noise from outside at a busy weekend”
 of 5 bubbles Acciano, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5