We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Canal Hotel

Show Prices
#37 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Canal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,530 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Canal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,394: English reviews
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here on bank holiday weekend and got an excellence price for the room. Upon arriving we were kindly met and given our keys to the room. The room was clean and had a excellent view of the aviva stadium, for a rugby fan anyway. Biggest disadvantage of this hotel is its location, about 20min walk from the Temple Bar... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fearghal324
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with breakfast. All our products are Irish in origin and generally we have found the quality to be very good. We will certainly review them to ensure the standard is maintained. Thank you again for your comments. Kind regards More 

Ottawa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stay at this hotel for the last night on our tour of Ireland. The hotel was not located in a convenient place in Dublin. There was a restaurant and bar in the hotel for food but for the most part they were basic. The rooms were very small, we barely had enough room for our two large bags etc.......... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ottyb
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that the bed in the room was uncomfortable for you and disappointed you did not notify us as we would have been happy to change the room for you. The continental breakfast is generally has cereals, breads, fruits, cheeses and yogurts on... More 

West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I arrived very early in the morning to the Grand Canal Hotel after an overnight flight from Chicago to Dublin. We checked in and expected to have to store our bags till the afternoon, but to our surprise the desk manager was able to get us a room right away. The room was very clean and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie C
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your postings and feedback. I am pleased we were able to accommodate an early check in for you, Hope you enjoyed your time in Ireland. Kind regards More 

Columbia,IL
Level Contributor
602 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our last day in Ireland and we booked in at the Grand and glad we did . The room was very nice and comfortable. Tried from all the running so we ordered in room service and was very pleased with the service and the meal. Good value.

Helpful?
Thank rollinsthomas
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a good journey home. Thanks again for the posting. Kind regards More 

Sao Caetano do Sul, SP
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Despite of being a little bit far from the main attractions of Dublin, but very close to the Aviva Stadium and O2 Arena the hotel is good. The room is not very big but it is clean. The bathroom is not the strong point of the room and I think the room we were offered was for disabled. The breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeferson G
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your posting. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have a couple of wet rooms with walk in shower facilities. Always happy to change if a bath is your preference. Hope we will see you again soon. Many thanks again for the feedback. Kind regards More 

Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is good value for money. On the concert day there was a shuttle bus leaving the hotel for a charge which is good! The rooms are spacious and it is an okay location but was hard to find at the start! As it's not in Dublin City centre really

Helpful?
Thank Channy2013
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Glad you enjoyed your stay and the shuttle service. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards More 

Athlone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here before and found the food not great. Glad to report that on this stay , May 2014,the food has greatly improved. The staff are very friendly and helpfull, the service is excellent and I would recommend this hotel for a visit to Dublin City.

Helpful?
1 Thank capto
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your posting and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind regards More 

London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The staff were very nice and pleasant. The location of the hotel was a little far out for our requirements. It is not that central and we were paying 7-10 euros for a taxi between the centre and hotel each time. We had a room on the executive floor and it was nice but the shower/bath facility was broken and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ccm301981
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your feedback. I am disappointed that you experienced these issues and we were not able to resolve them for you during your stay. We have addressed them fully now. Hopefully you might get the opportunity to stay again soon. Thanks again for the feedback. Kind regards More 

Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hotel was well located for our needs, staff were very friendly and pleasant, couldn't have been more helpful. Hotel itself was very warm and a little uncomfortable to sleep in at night, the hotel decor is becoming a little dated the rooms were comfortable but warm and needed some updating like extractor fans in the bathrooms as once a shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dean M
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Many thanks for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your and stay and hope we will see you again soon. Kind regards More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I've been to Dublin before but that was a long time ago. I found this hotel listed and decided to give it a go. Breakfast is served in it's own restaurant, whereas dinner and other meals are served in the adjoining pub. There is a coffee bar open during the mornings, and free secure car parking on site, and you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ken J
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your time in posting your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. Hope you might get the chance to return to us. Thank you again. Kind regards More 

690 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (277)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (87)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (326)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (31)
Viewed
Suite (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
1,145 reviews
4.0 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#28 of 150 in Dublin
1,636 reviews
2.6 km away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
1,862 reviews
2.7 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,109 reviews
0.7 km away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 6,068 - ₹ 28,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Canal Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Canal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 535alisonb, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Close proximity to grand canal train station and an bord gais and local restaurants. . Good views of the Aviva stadium”
 of 5 bubbles 884carmelm, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a room at the back, as it is on a busy road with a lot of commuter traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles Mariekev484, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front room”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would go for the top floor for a nicer room, but you still get no guarantees for hot water when you need it.”
 of 5 bubbles Microsoftie, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay