We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Canal Hotel

Show Prices
#39 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Canal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Canal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,395: English reviews
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for their theatre package of dinner bed & breakfast and theatre tickets. We decided to book another night to enjoy a break away for 2 days. The hotel was excellent, rooms are very comfortable great comfy big bed. Best hotel bed I have had. The room had everything you could want, tea making facilities and great coffee machine....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bawnogue
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel and staff. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and have chosen to give your Grand Canal stay. It is great to read that you liked the hotel and bar and had a good time in Dublin. I hope that you will be back to stay with us...

West Bend, Wisconsin
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The Grand Canal is a nice hotel with a good breakfast. The rooms were good and comfortable. When I arrived at my room after a speedy check in, I found that my luggage had been broken and the wheel to it was sitting on top of the luggage. I talked to Giorgia, at the front desk, and she sent someone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat E
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the very nice review score that you have given the Grand Canal Hotel. I am sorry that you did not feel that the Manager was attentive enough or didn't leave the wedding immediately when you were looking to speak about the bag that was damaged prior...

Strabane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Booked a Dinner /Theatre package with my wife and friends. Had a great time. The room was excellent...spacious, very comfortable and well-appointed....great coffee machine! Public areas in the hotel are very good. The Gasworks Bar is excellent and serves good food. We had dinner included in our package and opted to eat in the bar. Very good. All staff we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelp p
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Grand Canal Hotel to spend your time in Dublin. I am delighted that you enjoyed your theatre break and the bar for your evening meal. We have packages running for all of the major shows and I very much hope that you will indeed be back to stay with us again soon. Kind...

Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Hi what a great hotel to have a wedding in, staff were fab, nothing was to much trouble, their professional skills made for a great day , food was amazing , we will be back, thank you one and all. Barbara

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harbour9
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to have your special day with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your wedding at our hotel. I do hope that you will be back to stay with us. I will pass your very kind comments on to all of the team. Kind Regards Donna Curry

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Frequent business traveler here and was in town for business for a few days. Chose to stay here since it was close to work and "upgraded" to their exec rooms to spread out a little more. Unfortunately other than their location, there is not much upside to this place: The rooms are bare bones with simple furniture. Housekeeping is inconsistent...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Levent B
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that you did not have hot water on two of the mornings during your stay. Unfortunately we had an issue with the pressure on one of the three pumps that caused a fault on the water boiler resulting in problems on the 5th floor rooms. As soon as it happened our Duty Manager reset the...

Dundee
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

5 min walk from Airport shuttle stop. Excellent check in/ check out.Room, clean, well- stocked , comfy. Close to city centre. Large bathroom , really pleasant stay. Great spot to stay in heart of Dublin to see the sights. Will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra846
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted that you will be back! Thank you for such a very nice review and score. It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Grand Canal Hotel and that you found the Airport Shuttle to be of benefit as well as our location to be to your liking. Kind Regards Donna Curry

Portlaoise, Ireland
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We spent a night as part of a package ,that included tickets to the Commitment concert. Parking was include along with and early dinner, Bed and Breakfast. The early bird menu had an excellent choice we had four different starter and mains. The standard of the food was excellent , the service was spot on. leaving us ample time to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Retired039
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the very nice review and score of the Grand Canal Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Early Bird Menu to be to your liking. We have been working on our breakfast offering over the past months so I am delighted that you enjoyed it. With regards to...

Reviewed 19 October 2016

spent 2 nights in this hotel room was large and comfortable few nice touches with chocolates left on pillow, robes,bottles of water also had a espresso machine that helped with the hangover ! staff were very helpful and pleasant and breakfast was great! the hotel is about a 20 min walk to main area but lots of pubs on way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew r
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is lovely to read that you would stay with us again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the recommendation. The coffee machines are a new addition to our rooms, I am delighted that it came in handy for you. I do hope that we will see you again at the Grand...

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed the weekend with a hen party as we were attending a show at the bird gais theatre. Rooms were lovely beds very comfortable and cosy and staff were very pleasant. Only negative and its a personal taste is the bar was all craft beer which I know is very popular but we would have liked the choice of basic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sal1987
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, the Theatre Package is an excellent choice for a Hen Party. I am sorry to hear that you are not a Craft Beer fan but I hope that you were able to find an alternative in our Restaurant where we have some more mainstream options. I hope that...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Had 1 night in this hotel at the end of a8 day bus tour of Southern Ireland. Very quiet room with double glazed windows and comfortable bed . Reception staff were very helpful with our onward Had a nice smorgasbord breakfast in the restaurant on the morning of our departure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the very nice review score that you have given us. I am delighted that you chose the Grand Canal Hotel for your stay in Dublin and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments on to our Reception Team. I hope that your visit to Ireland was a good one,...

690 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (277)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (87)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (326)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (31)
Viewed
Suite (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
1,146 reviews
4.0 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,636 reviews
2.6 km away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
1,862 reviews
2.7 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,111 reviews
2.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 6,194 - ₹ 28,519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Canal Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Canal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 535alisonb, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Close proximity to grand canal train station and an bord gais and local restaurants. . Good views of the Aviva stadium”
 of 5 bubbles 884carmelm, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a room at the back, as it is on a busy road with a lot of commuter traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles Mariekev484, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front room”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would go for the top floor for a nicer room, but you still get no guarantees for hot water when you need it.”
 of 5 bubbles Microsoftie, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay