We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dawson Hotel & Spa

TripAdvisorUS$ 184*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 219*
US$ 184*
Great Deal
US$ 219*
US$ 219*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

689 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Dawson Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 641: English reviews
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 24 April 2015

First time in Dublin. You will not find a better hotel for the location. Between St. Stephens and Trinity College and very close to the buses serving the airport. Nice coffee shops and plenty of eats nearby. The bathroom is very nice, but extremely dim (light-wise). The shower is the best one ever - overhead and perfect for tall people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lori r
Ann O, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Lori R Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately we did have to book our guests out to another hotel due to Fire Alarm works which overran our projected finish date.. We tried to inform you as early as possible and can only apologise profusely for the inconvenience caused. We responded...

Reviewed 14 April 2015

This is a great way to see dublin.its well worth the money. We used it over 2 days and certainly got value for money The buses are every ten minutes or so. It's worth waiting for one with a live commentary rather than the taped one. Our driver was hilarious.his commentary was so entertaining.he had everyone one the bus in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz P
Darmstadt
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Been to Dublin a few times, stayed in various nearby hotels around the 4 star area, This time I thought the idea of a relaxing wellness type thing would be a good idea. I was traveling with a work colleague. She was overjoyed with her 20sqm Classic Double (room 305) and remarked it was the best bed ever!!! I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJHDarmstadt
Ann O, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Good morning Mr.PJHDarmstadt We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in The Dawson Hotel & Spa. and will pass your on your kind comments to our staff who are dedicated to offering the highest customer care which would be expected by our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Dawson again hopefully soon....

Norway
Reviewed 10 April 2015

It was a lovely stay. In the middle of the city, with no noice at all. The staff was excellent and friendly. Felt like home. The room was special and it didnt feel like a standard hotel room. Lots of good resturants near by and easy to get to from the Airport.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gkd39
newry warrenpoint
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Iv stayed in the Dawson quite a few times and it's my first choice when I'm in Dublin for business or pleasure. Iv know hesitation in recommending the Dawson hotel to my family or friends which iv done on numerous occasions The rooms, bathrooms are great and spotless, beds are comfortable and the decor is different in every room which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hugh7561
yorkshire
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Perfectly located just around the corner from St. Stephens Green and a ten minute walk to Temple Bar. Stayed in room 304 - was on top floor granted and with no lifts was a bit of a mare, but dont let that put you off. Could still slightly hear the noise from the nightclub at 2.30 am when we got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jujubaker
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We were supposed to stay at the Dawson for five days, but upon arrival we were told that they couldn't accommodate us due to renovations and they had workmen all over the place. This was of course very unfortunate we were told, but the staff were completely unorganised and not professionel at all. They must have known that the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morten R
Ann O, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Good morning Mr. Morton Thank you for taking the time to review The Dawson Hotel & Spa. Unfortunately we fell short of the customer experience for which we are so often praised. We had an upgrade on our fire alarm system which was for guests comfort and security but unfortunately this over ran it's projected time frame due to the...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 31 March 2015

In a nutshell: construction going on right outside our room all through the night, complete with a worker entering our room past 11pm. Below is a copy of the letter I sent the management: Good morning [Name Redacted], [The front desk[ emailed me yesterday with our refund information, which I feel is sufficient for our experience. However, as I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 338ldo
Ann O, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Good morning, Our profound apologises for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. Essential works on our fire alarm system were being carried out but this was not meant to inconvenience guests in any way. Unfortunately this was not as contained as we were advised or we would have gladly moved guests to another hotel prior to arrival and...

Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I booked this room for the night to stay with a friend as we were planning on a session in town. Location is perfect, and Sams bar is a lovely spot - Brambles are delicious (although they are €11 a pop!) The room was clean with a huge bright mirror that was perfect to allow 2 girls to do their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lovesibiza
Cavan
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We picked this Hotel due to its location and that it was reasonably priced. To be honest we did not travel with high expectations as all we wanted was somewhere central to locate ourselves. We had also read that this hotel could be noisey. Our expectations were blown away by the great staff, location and wonderful room. For starters we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M

895 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (241)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (593)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Classic Double (99)
Viewed
Classic Twin (103)
Viewed
Deluxe Junior Suite (100)
Viewed
Moroccan Suite (140)
Viewed
Dining (74)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,419 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,238 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
1,407 reviews
The Morgan
#37 of 151 in Dublin
2,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 10,067 - ₹ 19,988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#48 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dawson Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Dawson Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a suite. It's worth it.”
RFERGWorldWide, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at back of hotel very quiet.”
GeraldineR903, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose a room in this hotel”
cm0l0ney, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't take the top floor....”
DK1955, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“406 looks out front to the street.”
216mylesw, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 184* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 219
PricelineUS$ 219
Hotwire.comUS$ 218
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates