We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Generator Hostel Dublin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,820 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,253: English reviews
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Only stayed a night, good beds incl charger docks and massive under bed locker.plenty of showers& toilets. Everywhere was clean and the bar area seemed like good fun.unfortunately had no time to go there. def will stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Triin N
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Dublin very soon and hopefully next time you can get to enjoyed the bar and activities. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Generator for a few nights at the end of our last Ireland trip. It's clean and the room we had was quite large for the number of beds in it. It was also quiet, which was a relief to those of us who like our sleep. The bathroom was not the most practical however, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MysteryGuest70
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you found your room clean and quiet however I do apologise re: the shower, our maintenance team are aware and our constantly checking showers daily at the moment. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Generator in Dublin is not what you'd expect from most hostels - really cool vibe, great design, moderately priced and lots of great events too. We stayed for a couple of nights but wish it had been longer - we had a brilliant time at the Beer Tasting event on Monday night and were given lots of helpful advice by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Ayr, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

My sister and I were in Dublin for a concert and had the pleasure of getting to stay in this fantastic hostel! From the minute we arrived until we left the standard was of the highest. Our stay was short and sweet but I will definitely be back for a longer stay. We had a 4 bed dorm with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cara_Mc27
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your stay so much. We hope to see you back in the future for a longer stay. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Hull
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Not like most hostels I've stayed at, for the most part in a good way. I travelled with 5 friends for a weekend away, and we were very happy with our first floor 6 bed en suite dorm. Late check out at 1pm for 4 euro extra was appreciated as well. The staff here weren't as friendly as I'd expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank g_risp
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay for the most part, we do have quite a large mixture of different guests and weekends are generally larger groups which is makes the bar very busy and difficult to get to know guests. We look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

We had a private room for four with an own bathroom which was great! It was clean and big enough, but in the morning came the disappointment! We didnt even eat it on the second day because it was sooooo gross!! The eggs were old and the bread was hard and old as well! Total disappointment and waste of money!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schnaqqschnaqq
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your room however I do apologise that you were disappointed with the breakfast and I have passed your comments to the food and beverage team for review. If you are returning to Dublin please do not hesitate to...

Reviewed 9 March 2016

2nd visit to this hostel and it has ruined other hostels for me. The place is large, clean, stylish, check in very easy, friendly staff, great communial areas, fantastic burgers, great bar, lovely breakfast. Have stayed in the same six dorm twice, good mattresses, clean, two plug sockets and a light to each bed. Cannot recommend this place highly enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the place and your stay so much and really great to read such positive comments. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin for another great stay. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Garrel, Germany
Reviewed 7 March 2016

A good place to stay for a nice Dublin and Ireland trip. The facility is in a good condition. The Location of the hostel is Close by to the main Sightseeing spots. The hostel bar is good to meet some People, so that you can have a funny evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F9067QSthomasl
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Generator in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 5 March 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank connyfrankfurt
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Stayed over with friends last weekend. Staff was very helpful. Very nice bar and great location. Room was very clean and great value for money. Good atmosphere and friendly people. Really enjoyed and definitively will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaR21
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and appreciate all the positive comments about staff and facilities. We hope to see you back in Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

616 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (362)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (158)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Single Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.0 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.2 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,637 reviews
2.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 150 in Dublin
3,968 reviews
1.3 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,530 reviews
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 1,838 - ₹ 14,293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
Alberta, Canada
5 months ago
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago
Manchester
3 months ago

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private rooms on the 4th floor seemed very quiet considering this was a hostel”
 of 5 bubbles Saintphil23, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book up and try it for yourself”
 of 5 bubbles 536KeithR, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get ground level and avoid the lifts, grocery store across the square with good food and drinks.”
 of 5 bubbles vancity123, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring a towel, or else you have to "rent" one for a couple of euros.”
 of 5 bubbles BlondeWithADog, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nice staff, great atmosphere and has a nice bar inside!!”
 of 5 bubbles AgustinLagresta, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay