We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Handels Hotel Temple Bar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,096 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Handels Hotel Temple Bar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 909: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2015

The location is the main feature here as the hotel is right on the edge of the Temple Bar district - it's a very short walk to the action, but the hotel does not suffer from the crowds or the noise. In addition the staff during my visit were excellent and could all my questions - ranging from places to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank philsHK
Patrick K, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review

Dear philsHK, Thank you for leaving us this review, we really value getting your feedback. I will be certain to pass on your compliments to our staff, they pride themselves on their friendliness and helpfulness. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again should you return to stay in Dublin. Kind... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

Just returned from one night stay lovely helpful reception staff arrived early but room was available so checked us in spotlessly clean breakfast self service for tea toast etc then a very cheerful waitress took order for cooked delicious will return and recommend ideal location

Helpful?
2 Thank totoe_12
Patrick K, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review

Dear totoe_12 Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. I am glad that you so enjoyed your stay here with us and that we were able to assist you with an early check in. This is not always possible but where it is we will do our best to ensure our guests are relaxed and comfortable... More 

Dorset. UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Fortunately our previous booking at an alternative hotel went wrong so we booked an apartment here last minute. We were delighted with everything, location, cleanliness and value for money. Our next visit to Dublin will be back here.

Helpful?
4 Thank weymouth-wandering
Patrick K, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review

Dear weymouth-wandering, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, we really appreciate all of our guests' feedback. I am very glad that you were so delighted with your stay here at the George Frederic Handel Hotel, especially after your disappointments elsewhere. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Patrick Kaczynski More 

Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2015

I can't speak for the hotel rooms, this review is for the apartment we rented in Dublin. First let me say the staff was amazing, the problems were with the apartment. The toilet would not flush the first time or two on most occasions. The plumbing sounded as a foghorn running through the pipes when flushing. The bathtub was unusable... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank beccacookson
Patrick K, General Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review

Dear beccacookson Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Handels Apartments of Temple Bar. I was disappointed to read about your stay and that we failed to meet your expectation. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard. I would like to sincerely apologise for the issues that you and your partner experienced.... More 

Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2015

The hotel is in a superb location just 5 min walk from the centre of the Temple Bar district but not too close to be noisy late on . The hotel facilities were very good although currently going through some noisy renovations, (the work was limited to the middle of the day when we were out anyway). The staff were... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank KeyHall
Patrick K, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review

Dear KeyHall, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review we really value your feedback. I am pleased to report that though our renovations are still ongoing, they are now quiet renovations and will soon be complete, with a lovely new reception area for our guests to enjoy. I am sorry that you were disappointed in our... More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We were notified a few days in advance of our stay that there would be renovation works at the hotel reception, this did not give us enough time to book different accommodation, which we would have definitely done. We were staying on the fourth floor of the building and the noise could be heard and felt from there. We were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola C
Patrick K, General Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review

Dear Nicola Firstly thank you for choosing to stay at The George Frederic Handel Hotel, Dublin. Your feedback is very valuable to us, it help us to improve services we offer and products we sell.As per email exchange we had, I would like to apologise again for inuring charge on your account and as agreed €11 was refunded to your... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2015

I would stay at a hostel before here in the future, not much difference in quality. The hallways are cramped, carpets are dirty, and the staff is not very helpful. The location was good is about the best thing about the place.

Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyBayArea
Patrick K, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The George Frederic Handel Hotel. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal. Our reception and lobby is being renovated at present in order to create more space and memorable experience for all of our... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed in an apartment. Was spotlessly clean, spacious duplex and well equipped with plenty of towels and toiletries. Lovely comfortable bed. Bottle of wine in the apartment on arrival was a lovely gesture. Friendly check in at the hotel. Fantastic location in Temple bar. Would recommend and definitely want to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Deb H
Patrick K, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review

Dear Deb H, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, we really appreciate all of our guests' feedback. I am glad that you so enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again should you return to stay in Dublin. Kind Regards, Patrick Kaczynski More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2015

The hotel is in a really good location, just minutes from Temple Bar but not noisy at all at night. Reception and bar staff were excellent. We had breakfast and one evening meal in the Oscars bar/restaurant which is part of the hotel. Breakfast was ok - nothing to write home about - but don't bother having an evening meal... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kenfergus
Patrick K, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review

Dear kenfergus, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, we really value your input. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal, I will make sure to pass your comments on to the restaurant staff. I am glad however that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to see... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my Mum. We arrived a few hours early and the staff had no problem storing our luggage until the room was ready, they were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and very clean and also had free wifi included. Breakfast was great, a buffet of cereals, breads etc and they... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie F
Patrick K, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review

Dear Natalie F, Thank you for leaving us this review, we really value hearing your opinions. I am glad that you so enjoyed your stay here with us, and that we could help both you and your Mother. We will do everything that we can to assist our guests in their stay. We hope you will keep us in mind... More 

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,266 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
1,966 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#50 of 150 in Dublin
711 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 150 in Dublin
931 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#83 of 150 in Dublin
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Handels Hotel Temple Bar

Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly George Frederic Handel Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Price Range: ₹ 6,068 - ₹ 21,751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handels Hotel Temple Bar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Handels Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Handels Hotel Temple Bar staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Handels Hotel Temple Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Near city centre, it is able to walk to visit a lot of things.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisLeman74, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 407 which was at the back of the hotel and there was no noise at all.”
 of 5 bubbles JeanS2127, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid 207 and other rooms on a lower floor at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles 608lyndah, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“4 bedroom apartment is on 2 floors, quiet, splendid in every way”
 of 5 bubbles 2ysb, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors may be better and facing the city hall is definitely good.”
 of 5 bubbles 698akemif, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay