We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stauntons on the Green

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stauntons on the Green
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

747 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stauntons on the Green
See the most recent reviews
Showing 644: English reviews
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Tbh we are on our second night here and i'm ready to leave, i am DREADING another two nights here. Sounds like a hurd of animals living above us, its now 7.45 its been keeping us awake since two. too tired to explore or enjoy ireland. ruining our experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amylauren1990
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am very disappointed to hear that you had such a bad experience at our hotel due to the levels of noise. If the problem persisted after this, I hope you informed our staff and that they made arrangements to change your room as this is what would...

Los Gatos, California
Reviewed 29 December 2016

My wife, 9 year old daughter, and I stayed here for a couple of nights while exploring Dublin. Location was fantastic as it is walking distance to so much in Dublin. Hotel is old and needs a bit updating as its past the quaint stage. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hall doors bang shut so combing this with a hall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dbwellsooh
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. Thank you for your kind comment about our staff. I am sorry to hear about the disruption you experienced during your stay. I hope you brought this matter to the attention of our staff and we would have been happy to try and change your room. Thank you...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 29 December 2016

So the first thing to note is that there is no elevators in this hotel/BB. If you have a large heavy bag and you're on the 3rd floor... well tough luck because you have to carry it going up and down the stairs. Then there's the issue of the bedding.... the bed sheet that was on the mattress only covered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoMan89
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am very sorry to hear about the issues which you experienced in the hotel. Thank you for bringing these to our attention so that we can improve for our future guests. We can assure you that if you decided to stay with us again in the future...

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Loved this hotel from the moment we arrived! Really friendly receptionist who couldn't do enough for us. The hotel was warm and cosy and our family room was spacious for a family of 5! Breakfast was delicious and the breakfast staff were so lovely! The location is absolutely perfect. No taxis or luas needed to explore the city centre. Loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
Management response:

Hi, Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at the hotel. Thank you for your kind comments about our team. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I was a little apprehensive to stay at Stauntons on the Green after reading the vastly varying reviews on Trip Advisor, but the friends we were traveling with chose this hotel and for the ease of doing things together, we decided to stay here also. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our time at the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzP25
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at the hotel. Thank you for your kind comments about our team. I apologise that you felt the room was drafty, thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will be sure to...

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Very poor BB in a fantastic location. Rooms are dingy, tired and uninteresting. Did not have breakfast this time. Prices are normally very high so it is worth switching to another couple of BB in the vicinity which are much better value and better appointed. Basically thumbs down!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 240fedora
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am so sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience at our hotel. If you return in the future please inform us and we will be sure to assign you to one of our newly refurbished rooms so you can get a taste of...

Florence, Italy
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We always stay at this hotel when we come to Dublin. We have been given many different rooms on different floors and different parts of the very articulate building (or series of buildings). All in all our opinion of the place is positive, especially because of the very good location. Some of the rooms could use some TLC. Room 410,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbaraeleonora
Management response:

Hi Barbara, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. We are pleased to hear that you are a regular visitor of our hotel. We are in the process of refurbishing the rooms in the hotel so perhaps on your next visit you can request a newly refurbished room to experience the improvements which are being made....

Cavan, Ireland
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Check in was fast and efficient. I wouldn't advise booking room 110 unless you get a very good price and don't need to spend any time in the room. It's a tiny claustrophobic room with a very tiny bathroom. Also there was renovation materials at the bottom of the freezing cold stairs leading up to the room. The stairs carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Management response:

Hi Linda, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to apologise for the disruption you experienced with our refurbishments. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. We have taken action to fix these problems so that...

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as my husband was doing the Dublin Marathon. So glad I hadn't taken any notice to negative reviews. We were made very welcome on arrival with our luggage being taken to our room for us. There was tea/coffee facilities in our room with a lovely selection of toiletries.. Extra pillows and blanket in the wardrobe. Great selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
Management response:

Hi Susan, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We hope to welcome you back soon very soon! Kind Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Fredericktown
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in October when the weather was getting cooler in Dublin. It was very nice. Great breakfast and nice people. Was a little concerned when I read reviews that were less than favorable. But no worries, all was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cfrancis17
Management response:

Hi, Thank you very much for sharing your review. I pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you to back to stay with us in the future. Kind Regards, Guest Relations Manager

519 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (286)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Corporate Single Room (27)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (44)
Viewed
Family Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Albany House
#65 of 153 in Dublin
748 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated close to Grafton Street in the fashionable heart of Dublin City, Stauntons on the Green is the perfect place to stay, whether for business or pleasure in Ireland's Capital City. Housed in a Georgian building steeped in history, overlooking two of Dublin's most beautiful parks -St. Stephen's Green and the Iveagh Gardens - this hotel has everything you could possibly need on its doorstep. It remains a building of unique character (original build 1750) with spacious relaxing rooms and wonderful views of the parks. Well appointed rooms, all with either Park or Garden views, coupled with excellent customer care and service, are what make a stay at Stauntons on the Green a special and rewarding experience. Room facilities include Private Bathroom, TV, Direct Dial Telephone, Hairdryer, Complimentary WiFi and Tea/Coffee facilities. Breakfasts are served each day, Monday to Friday 7am-10am and Saturday Sunday 8am -10am ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stauntons on the Green

Address: 83 St. Stephen's Green South, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Price Range: ₹ 8,115 - ₹ 21,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stauntons on the Green 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stauntons on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stauntons On The Green Hotel Dublin
Stauntons On The Green Dublin
Stauntons Green
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stauntons on the Green staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 month ago
USA
2 months ago
Horsham, United Kingdom

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Stauntons on the Green staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“109, great views of park.”
  • room 109
joele529, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Look out for offers on suite rooms or enquire about rooms on the third floor over looking St. Stephens Green.”
nickyf948, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Talk to the hotel directly about needs & wants, they will work to make it happen.”
222jayc, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a view of the garden are charming and quaint.”
deirdredeery, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“loved our room (05) close to the breakfast restaurant”
keithm598, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5