We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stauntons on the Green

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Stauntons on the Green
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

727 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 628: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read some poor reviews I was anxious about staying here but I have to say it was really good and great value for city center Dublin. I stayed in room 201(similar to picture) and as it had been refurbished it was to a very high standard. I can't vouch for any rooms not yet refurbished but this room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank siobhan999_12
Management response:

Hi Siobhan, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you were happy with our newly refurbished rooms and hopefully if you choose to stay with us again in the future you will be equally impressed with the...

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 1 week ago

Located across from St Stephens Green , this unique townhouse is a wonderful base to explore Dublin !! The staff is friendly and helpful. It puts you in the center of town and just far enough from traffic noise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shayman
Management response:

Hi Shayman, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced the best Dublin has to offer. We are also delighted to read your kind comments about our staff. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards,...

Derry
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a bed and breakfast basis. Room was spacious and very clean with big shower and plenty of toiletries. Highlight of the stay was breakfast. Excellent service, 5 star really. Choices were plentiful. Highly recommend full Irish breakfast. Staff were knowledgable of menu and it was a beautiful peaceful breakfast. Highly recommend booking this guesthouse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HixMix
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the green. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for your kind comments about our breakfast staff. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Guest Relations Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location right on Stephens Green. Stayed on the 3rd floor in a Deluxe room. In Room 307 which looks over the green. Three floors which meant there’s a lot of stairs if you’re travelling with big bags. We were helped with bags by the hotel staff. Decent breakfast served in the basement cafe. There’s also another part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StuRodwert
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the green. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you liked our newly refurbished room. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future! Kind Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tbh we are on our second night here and i'm ready to leave, i am DREADING another two nights here. Sounds like a hurd of animals living above us, its now 7.45 its been keeping us awake since two. too tired to explore or enjoy ireland. ruining our experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amylauren1990
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am very disappointed to hear that you had such a bad experience at our hotel due to the levels of noise. If the problem persisted after this, I hope you informed our staff and that they made arrangements to change your room as this is what would...

Los Gatos, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife, 9 year old daughter, and I stayed here for a couple of nights while exploring Dublin. Location was fantastic as it is walking distance to so much in Dublin. Hotel is old and needs a bit updating as its past the quaint stage. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hall doors bang shut so combing this with a hall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dbwellsooh
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. Thank you for your kind comment about our staff. I am sorry to hear about the disruption you experienced during your stay. I hope you brought this matter to the attention of our staff and we would have been happy to try and change your room. Thank you...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So the first thing to note is that there is no elevators in this hotel/BB. If you have a large heavy bag and you're on the 3rd floor... well tough luck because you have to carry it going up and down the stairs. Then there's the issue of the bedding.... the bed sheet that was on the mattress only covered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoMan89
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am very sorry to hear about the issues which you experienced in the hotel. Thank you for bringing these to our attention so that we can improve for our future guests. We can assure you that if you decided to stay with us again in the future...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved this hotel from the moment we arrived! Really friendly receptionist who couldn't do enough for us. The hotel was warm and cosy and our family room was spacious for a family of 5! Breakfast was delicious and the breakfast staff were so lovely! The location is absolutely perfect. No taxis or luas needed to explore the city centre. Loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
Management response:

Hi, Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at the hotel. Thank you for your kind comments about our team. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was a little apprehensive to stay at Stauntons on the Green after reading the vastly varying reviews on Trip Advisor, but the friends we were traveling with chose this hotel and for the ease of doing things together, we decided to stay here also. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our time at the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzP25
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at the hotel. Thank you for your kind comments about our team. I apologise that you felt the room was drafty, thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will be sure to...

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very poor BB in a fantastic location. Rooms are dingy, tired and uninteresting. Did not have breakfast this time. Prices are normally very high so it is worth switching to another couple of BB in the vicinity which are much better value and better appointed. Basically thumbs down!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 240fedora
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am so sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience at our hotel. If you return in the future please inform us and we will be sure to assign you to one of our newly refurbished rooms so you can get a taste of...

514 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (286)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Corporate Single Room (27)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (44)
Viewed
Family Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Albany House
Albany House
#69 of 150 in Dublin
721 reviews
0.6 km away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
1,296 reviews
0.2 km away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,346 reviews
0.4 km away
O'Donoghue's
O'Donoghue's
#29 of 160 in Dublin
169 reviews
0.7 km away
Kildare Street Hotel
Kildare Street Hotel
#49 of 160 in Dublin
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated close to Grafton Street in the fashionable heart of Dublin City, Stauntons on the Green is the perfect place to stay, whether for business or pleasure in Ireland's Capital City. Housed in a Georgian building steeped in history, overlooking two of Dublin's most beautiful parks -St. Stephen's Green and the Iveagh Gardens - this hotel has everything you could possibly need on its doorstep. It remains a building of unique character (original build 1750) with spacious relaxing rooms and wonderful views of the parks. Well appointed rooms, all with either Park or Garden views, coupled with excellent customer care and service, are what make a stay at Stauntons on the Green a special and rewarding experience. Room facilities include Private Bathroom, TV, Direct Dial Telephone, Hairdryer, Complimentary WiFi and Tea/Coffee facilities. Breakfasts are served each day, Monday to Friday 7am-10am and Saturday Sunday 8am -10am ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stauntons on the Green

Address: 83 St. Stephen's Green South, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Price Range: ₹ 6,100 - ₹ 19,753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stauntons on the Green 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Stauntons on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stauntons On The Green Hotel Dublin
Stauntons On The Green Dublin
Stauntons Green
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stauntons on the Green staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Stauntons on the Green staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms offer a view of St Stephens Green-rear rooms overlook a sylvan area and and wonderful park behind the hotel .”
 of 5 bubbles Shayman, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great location but it's certainly lacking in so many areas.”
 of 5 bubbles MoMan89, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at rear quieter. Didn't find lift- could be a problem for the elderly. Does breakfast only. Close to restaurants.”
 of 5 bubbles JimB443, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles FrancesL982, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“416: my quiet room, which faced the rear of the property, not the busy front road.”
 of 5 bubbles worldly2, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay