We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Academy Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
#47 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Academy Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Academy Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,373: English reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location within walking distance of most attractions and very close to bus stops, restaurants and shops. The hotel itself was very nice. The room was clean and had everything we needed but maybe a little small. The customer service was ok. They were polite and answered questions but not real friendly. Kind of made...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tara T
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Prime central location, close to lots of shopping and restaurants/bars. Stayed here after missing last bus and was disappointed with the room size. 119 euro for a double room and it was tiny! Girl at reception was extremely nice and hotel was very clean but roomsize was a huge let down. There also was no bath and only two towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Peekaboo19
Howards Grove, Wisconsin
Reviewed 14 September 2014 via mobile

That only a leprechaun could appreciate. No place to put luggage for two people in the room. Coffee pot stuffed in a drawer, no extra chair to use for sitting. Bath is so cramped that you have to watch that you don't hit your knee as I did getting in to shower. Hair dryer is on back wall, three feet...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linsay63
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 14 September 2014

A bit tight for 3 people and access to the carpark is at the moment a bit difficult, due to construction. Otherwise clean and quiet. Easy to go downtown on foot. We would most definitly stay again. Pubs are around the corner so no need to stay in.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Famlitz
Buderim, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2014

We took note of earlier reviews about room sizes and booked a standard (as distinct from "small") double room. We also requested a quiet room. When we opened the door to our room we couldn't believe how small it was. Having just flown from Australia for a 7 week stay in Ireland and the UK we had a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ozitravel
Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2014

We have stayed twice at this hotel and will. It is close to the main street of Dublin but is much quieter because it is set back from the street. Nevertheless we did hear the garbage cans being emptied before sunrise! The rooms are small and there is very little difference between a standard and a deluxe room. Nevertheless very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rrpics
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rrpics Thank you so much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed our comfort and location. Should you need anything else do not hesitate to contact us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Warm Regards Séamus Brennan Deputy Manager

southampton
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Ideally placed for accessing all that Dublin has to offer and with the Airlink 747 bus stop almost at the front door! The hotel staff are welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Our room on the 5th floor at the front of the Hotel was large enough and well equipped with a comfy bed. There was a little bit of noise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank traveller082
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear traveller082 Thank you so much for you wonderful review. We are so happy to read that we are a great place to stay in Dublin. There are many benefits to stay with us as you have listed and we are so happy you found all our staff to be welcoming, friendly and helpful. It is very encouraging to read...

UK
Reviewed 9 September 2014

First off, let me start with the positive aspects of this hotel. The location is perfect, just off o'connell street and steps away from bars and as much crac as you can shake a stick at (if that's your idea of a good time). Perfectly placed for exploring further afield. The staff are excellent. No, strike that. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank peb_uk
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear peb_uk Thank you so much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us as much as you did. There are so many positives to staying with us and I am glad you mentioned them. Our location, comfort and staff are a wonderful plus for us. We would love if you...

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 8 September 2014

I recently stayed here Sept 2014. I purchased tickets to take the airlink from Dublin Airport to multiple stops in the city center...one of the best things about this is that the air link LITERALLY dropped me off across the street from the hotel! I highly recommend that way of travel if you are looking for saving a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ginger C
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ginger C Thank you for submitting your review about our hotel. We are so glad to read that you have recommended us so highly. Our location is wonderful and so accessible to and from the airport as you have found by the AirLink 747 bus which stops outside our door. Thank you again for the feedback and should you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Room was not big enough to accommodate two adults. Small and close. Shower was a disgrace for an international hotel,water pressure terrible. Meant your day started and finished feeling unhappy and not refreshed. Purely on the room size and shower pressure I would never recommend this hotel to a friend. You won't feel comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael O Thank you for submitting your review with us. We are very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your room experience with us. Please contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie at your earliest convenience. Due to the anonymous nature of TripAdvisor we cannot see your stay date or reservations details as we would like to investigate which room...

1,246 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (742)
Viewed
Bathroom (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (253)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (118)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (223)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (469)
Viewed
Double Room (63)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (76)
Viewed
Family Room (75)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Suite (67)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Twin Room (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.5 km away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
2,387 reviews
2.3 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
1,715 reviews
1.0 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. This Best Western hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 5,880 - ₹ 18,374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Academy Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
86 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (86)

Questions? Get answers from Academy Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try not to get a room near the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles timheffer, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the front (facing the street) as this can get noisy at weekends”
 of 5 bubbles ScottM161, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Executive floor is your play.”
 of 5 bubbles 216TimG, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Third floor at the front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 510junec, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 605 = very quiet (quad room with double bed plus two twin beds)”
 of 5 bubbles 417tracys, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5