We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mespil Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mespil Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,736 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,516: English reviews
Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were in Dublin for a show at the Board Gais Theatre. We got a good deal for B&B at the Mespil. The staff at reception were excellent. We got our car into the hotel car park. The room was fully to our satisfaction and the breakfast was very good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cork51
Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I spent a couple of nights at Mespil for a working stay in Dublin. It has all a business hotel needs and the room was spacious and very functional, the bed being very comfortable, and the breakfast was various and good. I did not pay so I can't say anything on term of price, but surely the stay there can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

... hotel, minor upgrade work being done. No worries about it. I was early checking in a and Keith at reception was very helpful and found me a room. After a long flight over 24 hours all I wanted was a hot bath and a quick nap. The room is very nice, spacious and just that touch of warmth from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PDids
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We started our honeymoon in this hotel and it couldn't have been nicer. The staff were so nice when they found out it was our honeymoon and we got breakfast on the house! The room was perfect. Best of all it was a lovely stroll into the city! Perfect for a short break!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Máire Shóna N
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and I’m delighted to see that our staff recognised your special occasion. Congratulations on your wedding and I hope the rest of the honeymoon was as enjoyable! Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Morgan McInerney Guest...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice hotel which is currently going through some renovations. Spent 3 total nights as part of a tour. Common areas are clean. Service by staff in the lounge (bar area) good. As part of a tour, breakfast was included and seating was in a different area of the restaurant. Offered an Irish breakfast in addition to a continental breakfast. Both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 53Ruta_R
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin. Lovely to read that you had a good stay while touring around Ireland. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and your patience with our renovations which are thankfully soon coming to an end! We do provide net curtains in the room for privacy but we also...

midleton cork
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visually a four star both common areas and rooms. Clean comfy etc. Breakfast is a bit of a free for all. The hot buffet is too small for the number of customers. Food seems rationed. Fresh fruit yesterday none today (canned peaches today). No muesli just lower cost cerials. Free parking should read free, very limited parking. So 3 not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joolaaaree
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the new visual appearance of both the bedrooms and public areas. Sorry to read that breakfast was disappointing and your feedback has been forwarded to our Head Chef. Our buffet selection does include fresh fruit, muesli etc and we apologise that they...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed in the Mespil for 2 months! I was there for work. I would say that it's excellent but I can not for two reasons. The personal and the hotel in it self is and are excellent, never found people that work in the hotel that are so helpful and kind. Those few times that I asked for something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spillosfx
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin. Lovely to hear your feedback regarding our staff being so helpful throughout your 2 month stay with us. Apologies about the problems you had with your Wifi. It is usually a reliable service, however your concerns have been forward to our provider to investigate. Thank you for your feedback...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights as part of a Gate 1 Tour of Ireland. Location is excellent--about a 20 minute walk to city center and maybe another 10 minutes to Temple Bar. Cab will do it in about 10 minutes for about 10 euros with tip. Around the hotel you have many restaurants of varying prices from inexpensive chip shops to fancy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noodlesverge
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin. Great to read that you had an enjoyable stay while touring around Ireland with Gate1. You very much liked the location, with a great choice of bars, restaurants and shops nearby. Your room was warm, spacious and well equipped and the buffet breakfast and complimentary wifi were all appreciated....

Bangor
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely hotel, located about ten minutes walk from St Stephen's Green and therefore very close to the shopping district of Dublin. The rooms are spacious and the staff very helpful. The breakfast has everything you would expect and sets you up nicely for the day. We were staying there because of the Ireland vs. Australia rugby match,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BangorTez
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin. Great to read that you had an enjoyable stay while attending the Ireland v Australia rugby match – it was a very busy weekend with a great atmosphere! Your room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast perfect for setting you up for the day. The location impressed you...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great weekend in this lovely hotel. It is in a great location about 20 minutes walk from city centre. Room was lovely and spacious, the only complaint would be the toiletries which I thought were poor for such a great hotel. The breakfast was brillant, buffet style with a huge array of food. The bar area was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
Mespil_Management, Director of Sales at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable weekend stay and the location was ideal for you – just 20 mins from the city centre. Lovely comments regarding the comfort and quality of our rooms and we have noted your comment re the toiletries. Breakfast was plentiful with a...

986 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (283)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (92)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (693)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Room #460 (75)
Viewed
Double Room #516 (83)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #426 (91)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #473 (83)
Viewed
Family Room (84)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)
Viewed
Twin Room (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 km away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 149 in Dublin
1,532 reviews
0.6 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#14 of 149 in Dublin
1,149 reviews
0.3 km away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#21 of 149 in Dublin
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 149 in Dublin
3,971 reviews
0.8 km away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#87 of 149 in Dublin
1,989 reviews
0.6 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#28 of 149 in Dublin
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mespil Hotel is a modern 4 star hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15-20 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green/Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre, Ballsbridge and the RDS and a further 10 minutes to Temple Bar. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious, non-smoking guest bedrooms with free WIFI Internet access. Lock Four Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is over looking the Grand Canal. In the Lounge you can enjoy morning coffee, a quick and healthy lunch or treat yourself to a tasty snack and a refreshing cocktail ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50 - 60 Mespil Road, Dublin D04 E7N2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 6,701 - ₹ 12,995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mespil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#60 Family Hotel in Dublin
#66 Business Hotel in Dublin
#67 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mespil Hotel staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sydney
over a year ago
Woodstock, Georgia
10 months ago

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Mespil Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room was facing the street in front of the entrance. Not the most quiet one I guess, but the windows are quite good.”
 of 5 bubbles audreys394, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ideally get a room that faces onto the canal”
 of 5 bubbles BangorTez, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Fourth floor very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles lizcX2889QK, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure when checking in, you get the room you paid for.”
 of 5 bubbles sandracT2035NV, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms didnt have adjustable A/C or heating. They will bring up a portable heater if asked.”
 of 5 bubbles Corky132, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay