We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kinlay House

Booking.comUS$ 34*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Kinlay House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

771 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kinlay House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 497: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Really bad service, Would recommend staying away. Everything was fine the first couple nights I stayed there but on my last night the water ran out while I was in the middle of a shower (actually in the middle of lathering myself with soap) in my room. I waited for a bit hoping that it would eventually come back on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunil S
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi There, Apologies to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We did have temporary issues with water in the area, a problem which was unfortunate and out of our control. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and we can hope you will return on your next visist to Dublin as we would be delighted to accommodate you....

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 12 May 2015

This hostel was bad. Plain and simple. First lets start with the restrooms. They were disgusting. The shower flooded with water and the floor was gross. Also out of the four days that I stayed there, the water only worked for two days. Also the security passes are ridiculous. They are sheets of paper that are very easy to lose...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nathan L
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi There We are sorry to read you didn't enjoy your stay with us here in Kinlay House. We did have temporary issues with water in the area which was unfortunately out of our control, our sincere apologies for this inconvenience. Security Passes are a necessity for our business like all other Hostels in Dublin they are in place for...

Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

We arrived at this place in the afternoon and we were immediately asked to pay. I paid in pounds with my visa debit. We went to the room that we would have our own bathroom and we see that there is a double bed and on top of that a single bed. There was no proper shower in the bathroom,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Athina012
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi there, Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us here in Kinlay House, we did have temporary loss of water in the area, which was unfortunately out of our control. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. In relation to the currency we do process our payments in Euro unless it is requested otherwise and our rates...

Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

Great hostel! Friendly people, staff and clean rooms/facilities. The receptionists were extremely helpful and nice. The rooms were extrememly well kept. The breakfasts were really great too and they also did our dishes which was truely going above and beyond. Could not recommend this hostel enough. It was an amazing stay, thank you so much!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi Matt, Thank you for taking the time to write us a fab review! We really appreciate it and we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us :) Hope to welcome you back soon All the Best, Management and Team at Kinlay House

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

well the location couldnt possibly be more perfect. its in the middle of the city center and the prices were very good. i stayed in a female suite and it looked like an old hotel room with bunkbeds but was clean and quiet. check in and out was easy, kitchen was great, common area was so-so. just didnt have that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank omecihuatl f
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We are delighted you enjoyed it and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin All the best for now, Management and Team at Kinlay House

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 22 April 2015

The warm welcome that we received on a early morning from the reception staff was like a blessing to us .We booked for the wrong month but the staff was helpful and help us , they manage to let us go early to the room , the cleaning team where very fast . The room was a big dorm, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bendis2014
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for the lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed the experience and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip back to Dublin :) All the best Management and Team at Kinlay House

Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

I don't know where to begin with. It's a cheap tacky place. The ONLY GOOD THING is that it is located at city centre. We stayed in a 16 bedroom, for 13 nights: 1) there are no lockers. You have to rent them: 2€ per day. They are located in another building. 2) It is a real dirty place. And...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nisupu
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hello There, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay, it is a pity that over the 13 nights you stayed with us you didn't bring some of your issues to reception or myself as we would have done our utmost to help you. Just a few things in response,we change our linen every 3...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2015

The Kinlay House is a very nice building. The rooms are very comfortable, the staff was very friendly. But I wouldn't call the place clean. We were very happy that we did not have to cook in this kitchen and the bathrooms and toilets were only cleaned superficially. During our whole stay (5 nights) was a brown-grey-ish dort in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lv r
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we will for sure take all your points on board with the housekeeping department as we are always eager to improve our standards and keep a high level of cleanliness throughout the Hostel :) We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin All...

Reviewed 13 April 2015 via mobile

Having never hostelled before, i was urged to by a friend and im so glad i did. This place was clean, friendly and so quiet considering you are sharing with 18 other people. The breakfast they provide in the morning is basic but its plenty to fill you up till lunch and included in the price. Will defo be staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VickiLane
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review !! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon :) All the Best Management and Team at Kinlay House

Ballina, Mayo, Ireland
Reviewed 11 April 2015

I just love this hostel! That wasn't my first stay and it won't be the last one if I will go to Dublin again! First time it was with my parents who don't like the idea of hostels at all. But they really enjoyed their stay in here. Then I was here with my friend and now again! The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markéta H
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks so much for the lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kinlay House Dublin All the Best Management & Team

278 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (162)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Quad Ensuite Dorm (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Six Bed Dorm Ensuite (25)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
Twin Ensuite Room (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#28 of 151 in Dublin
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,166 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 105 in Dublin
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dublin’s most lively hostel, in the vibrant Temple Bar District – friendly, safe and clean! Free WIFI & Internet access and free light breakfast. In the famous Temple Bar district, Kinlay House is surrounded by the best selection of Dublin’s bars, cafes and restaurants and within easy walking distance to all of Dublin’s top attractions, including Guinness Storehouse, Dublin Castle, and Trinity College. We have a great team that go out of their way to make sure you enjoy the ‘Irish craic’ and we have all of the facilities you would expect from a leading hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kinlay House

Address: 2-12 Lord Edward Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Price Range: ₹ 1,517 - ₹ 7,298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Kinlay House 1*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinlay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinlay House Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kinlay House staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Macclesfield
9 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Kinlay House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for quiet room.”
berysoft, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room NOT facing the road.”
  • Double room? Triple Room?
darsot77, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lower bunk is better choose”
  • 6 mixed beds room
ChiChiTama, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you aren't near the stairs!”
355WendyR, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A private room would help the solo traveller immeasurably.”
Holidayrapport, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 34* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$ 40
Hotwire.com
Priceline
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates