We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dublin International Youth Hostel

Hostelworld.comUS$ 39*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 75*
US$ 39*
Great Deal
US$ 75*
US$ 75*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Dublin International Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 257: English reviews
Start your review of Dublin International Youth Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hostel experience was fine- check in was easy, we were able to leave bags before hand, and bathrooms were pretty clean. However the wifi did not work at all the entire time we were there, which was very difficult.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
CALGARY
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I caught a terrible cold on my flight over from Toronto, Canada and the staff were very accommodating in assisting me with finding additional nights to stay while recuperating. You do not get that very often in a budget stay. Very clean hostel, organised communal self-catering kitchen and dining room. The free breakfast was quite varied and always fresh with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CanadianAnneMarie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

About 15-20min walk from city centre. Staff friendly, showers and toilets clean and hardly busy, breakfast basic but good and no ques, comfy beds, lockers in dorm room but require your own padlock (can buy from reception) so very happy with it for the price

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c0nnielj
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really easy to find, close to the city centre, free parking was fab. Great included breakfast. Very clean facilities, was never a queue for toilets/bathrooms. Pillow was a bit thin but otherwise would recommend. Also more powerpoints would be very useful. Wifi was always fast and good connection everywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgie W
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lockers all broken in our Dorm, that's the bad point Location is good. Around 15mins from city centre the showers are clean The cafeteria is the best thing of the hotel very good, looks like Hogwarts ! staff is good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fanch L
Dublin Internat... Y, Manager at Dublin International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment, sorry that you found the lockers to be broken in the room. The lockers require guests to have their own padlock, did you have one? We are happy that you found the showers and hostel to be clean and that we were only 15 mins from the city center and that you...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights in April, paid about 10 Euro per night, but for a hotel thats part of a global groupings of hotels within the youth hostel association, etc and not some shabby independent hostel, I was expecting better standards and very disappointed by the quality on offer. 1. Shaver lights above mirrors didn't work 2. No door handles on...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rob F
Dublin Internat... Y, Manager at Dublin International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

As far as I understand, the reception supervisor went straight to the room and spoke with you following an email that you had sent from the room. The supervisor heard your complaint and subsequently went about rectifying as much as what could possibly be done, which was to move you to an 8 bed room, bottom bed with a power...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Pillows were a bit thin but food is yum and everything else was good great wifi it was great. People were friendly great place to meet people from all over the world ever. Staff are very friendly and easily approached

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi W
Dublin Internat... Y, Manager at Dublin International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment, we are happy that you and your group that you were with had a good time while they were here. Regards Misty

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is the best hostel we have stayed in in Dublin!! We are a school group from Australia that visits Ireland Biannually, and always spend a few nights in Dublin to start off with. This hostel has a lovely feel to it, its spacey (great for our kids to have some freedom, but be 'within the walls'), the rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle M
Dublin Internat... Y, Manager at Dublin International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Cheers guys and girls, Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to look after you again on any future trips to Dublin. Regards Misty Dublin International Youth Hostel.

Swansea
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This is probably the cheapest hotel in Dublin but it has its faults. The main one is the shower facilities which I thought were way below what you'd expect, even at a cheap hostel. Two showers on my floor were broken, all others just dribbled water at a temperature which was at best lukewarm. There was also only one power...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronaldinhollew
Dublin Internat... Y, Manager at Dublin International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment. We are in the process of rectifying the plugs situation in the bedrooms so hopefully on your next visit to Dublin you will see the changes. For security and your piece of mind though, we do advise guests to charge their items with the reception team as opposed to leaving...

Reviewed 29 March 2017

very bad welcome there, and some last minutes changes without say it before... Lockers are not all working... But it remains a good price, not that far to the city center and rather clean... good for a short stay if you dont have big laugages

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxime P

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (51)
Viewed
Eight Person Dorm (14)
Viewed
Family Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Six Person Male Dorm (17)
Viewed
Ten Person Female Dorm (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Avalon House
#22 of 105 in Dublin
813 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
#24 of 105 in Dublin
540 reviews
Four Courts Hostel
#19 of 105 in Dublin
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#16 of 105 in Dublin
771 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 105 in Dublin
1,922 reviews
MEC Hostel
#32 of 105 in Dublin
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Dublin International Youth Hostel

Address: 61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Price Range: ₹ 1,422 - ₹ 8,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dublin International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Dublin International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin International Youth Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dublin International Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Haifa, Israel

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Dublin International Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are older, slower stride or mildly physically disabled, make sure to mention this when booking. They will try to work with you.”
CanadianAnneMarie, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Free car park”
385GrainneM, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ring and get more details. Dont just rely on the photos as they are misleading, especially if you want your own bathroom.”
KylieandAnita, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
marco68-UK, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Take a room on the lower floor because of the wi-fi signal and better and faster access to all the other areas of the hostel.”
brankoo915, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$ 39* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 75
TravelocityUS$ 75
Expedia.comUS$ 75
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates