We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,882 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,553: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 December 2014

We were going to a play in the Gate Theatre across the road and decided to have afternoon tea before hand in the Gresham .The room is lovely and looked nice and festive for Christmas season.We are afternoon tea lovers so were looking forward to our treat. The waitress was rude and unfriendly to start and was what seemed annoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marygirl2014
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Marygirl2014 Thank you for your review for Afternoon Tea at The Gresham Hotel and responding to my message regarding the date you were in the hotel. I must say, I cannot undertsand how Tripadvisor allow this to be posted when you state you had used the hotel and this review is regarding a visit in December 2013. That was...

Lurgan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Gresham Hotel on 6 December 2014; the location was great being very convenient to all the places we wanted to visit, and the carpark is easily accessed. We were fortunate to receive a room upgrade to the Penthouse Suite - a beautiful spacious room - ideal for a relaxing break. What impressed us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paula M
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Paula M Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2014

We chose the Gresham as part of a British Airways package. Based on previous TA reviews, I e-mailed the hotel to request a quiet room, away from elevators and was given a Laverty-wing room. the room was large and well appointed, with a large shower room. The lighted makeup mirror was a nice touch, but mounted so high that at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisa222
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear lisa222 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely Andrew...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2014

I visited Dublin at the beginning of December with some friends. We stayed 2 nights at The Gresham Hotel. Hotel is very central, and walking distance to the River and Grafton Street shopping area. I was very impressed with The Gresham. Lovely hotel with an art deco feel about it. The staff were very professional, and very friendly. Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stellawhite41
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear stellawhite41 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely Andrew...

Reviewed 14 December 2014

Nice but we didn't sleep so well as it was way too warm and air con didn't work. Our room was clean. Everyone was nice . A little noisy. The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night but they couldn't apologize enough.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Thrillsme
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear ThereseS4 Thank you for your review following your stay at The Gresham Hotel and we have also communicated a number of times over email today also. The room you had reserved was a standard room, which was not air conditioned. If we had known you were experiencing any discomfort we could have looked at a room change or a...

South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2014

Great hotel, perfectly located in centre of Dublin. Rooms are clean, generously proportioned and comfortable with all the facilities you need. Check-in was easy and service was excellent. Look forward to my next stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Tom R Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely...

Portland, OR
Reviewed 14 December 2014

I stayed at this hotel in August 2014 after spending a night at the very warm and friendly o'Callaghan Alexander hotel. Contrary to my excellent checking-in experience at the O'Callaghan, I met the the most unfriendly Duty Manager Philip who spoilt my entire experience of staying at the Gresham. Rest of the staff was very good and very friendly though...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank OttoPDX
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear OttoPDX Thank you for your review following your stay earlier thisyear. It was myself who received youremail and I had responded to you in September regarding this matter. I am thankful we managed to rectify your concerns when you returned from your tour. I understand you were inconvenienced, which I had acknowledged, however, Philipp is a competent, accomplished and...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2014 via mobile

Reason for Dublin trip was to see daughters favourite band play at the Academy. Choose Gresham as walking distance to Academy and wanted something special. I contacted manager Andrew Walker before our trip and he organised a free upgrade to a room in the Lavery wing and breakfast too!! We were spoilt and I cannot thank Andrew enough for the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ashmama
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear ashmama Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely Andrew...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 14 December 2014

This was our second visit to the Gresham, and we were not disappointed. A very clean and comfortable city center hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel serves a very good breakfast buffet in pleasant surroundings. The hotel is well placed for drop off and pick up on the Airport 747 bus, and just and no more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear James B Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely...

Newport Beach/Palm Springs
Reviewed 14 December 2014

What a lovely hotel. Generous sized rooms, great restaurant, terrific tea time, and very kind staff:) The location was perfect and very central to everything. We were able to walk everywhere. would definitely stay here again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kersteph
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear kersteph Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Gresham. We are all delighted you had enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me where I will ensure you receive our very best rates and complimentary upgrade. Yours Sincerely Andrew...

1,121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (648)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (145)
Viewed
Bathroom (64)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (275)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (459)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Elizabeth Taylor Suite (89)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Room #408 (60)
Viewed
Standard Double Room #442 (69)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.2 km away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#46 of 150 in Dublin
2,291 reviews
0.6 km away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#29 of 150 in Dublin
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
0.4 km away
Wynn's Hotel
Wynn's Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
1,081 reviews
0.8 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#57 of 150 in Dublin
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Toddy's Bar and Bistro
Toddy's Bar and Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Iconic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare, renovated during 2014 and 2015. Excellent proximity to major attractions, business districts, Dublin Convention Centre, Croke Park, 3 Arena, Rail, Bus Stations and shops. Easily accessible from Dublin Airport via Aircoach and Dublin Bus (bus stop at front door of hotel). Free Wi-Fi. Car Parking Available €16.50 overnight rate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Price Range: ₹ 7,555 - ₹ 19,603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Standard rooms are small.”
 of 5 bubbles EileenandRob, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are tram works going on for a year, so ask for quiet room at back. Go outside for food, although bar OK.”
 of 5 bubbles W3016VBpeterm, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking O'Connell St will be somewhat noisy”
 of 5 bubbles williamp71, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms away from the elevator if you want a quite room”
 of 5 bubbles Sunshyne1415, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room on O'Connell Street may be noisey but good to people watch!”
 of 5 bubbles 522maxinet, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay