We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avalon House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avalon House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

800 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avalon House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 513: English reviews
Valencia, Spain
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

This is where i stayed the first time I was in Dublin. The rooms are not the best I've been but the athmosphere is great!! I have really good memories of the days I spent here. I recommend this to young people and backpackers. I hope to be back soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tera1986
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank are89409
Paris, France
Reviewed 14 August 2015

To all the mad kinley house staff and backpackers... I thank you!!!... Cheap as chips and totally bohemian atmosphere with Dubliners and Spanish running this Joycean flamenco madhouse.... I loved it... Xxx

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martyn M
Henfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Stopped here recently only for coffee and a scone but this place has a lovely coffee / food venue opening onto Aungier Street. Coffee was good and hot and the scone delicious with fruit in it. Nice setting and friendly staff so good for a drop in for food or drink - the breakfast menu looked really interesting with some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ian239
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 8 August 2015

I stayed at Avalon House for 30 days, and overall my stay was enjoyable. The staff was absolutely fantastic; nice, friendly, personable, helpful - they truly exceeded all expectations. The room was nice and comfy, although the walls were a mite thin, making it hard to sleep sometimes. There were earplugs available, but due to my tinnitus I couldn't use...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MelkorkaS S
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

Thank You for the lovely review, so happy to hear our Team at Avalon impressed you they will be delighted to read this, many thanks All the Best Team @ Avalon House

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 August 2015

There are many popular hostels that tourists travel. Avalon is up there - The good thing is, it's transparent in its nature. What you see, is what you get. What you are told, is exactly that. The staff are friendly. They are very helpful and they are cheerful! If you have heavy luggage, there is a lift. That is helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank faulkor
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

WOW thank you for the fabulous review, hope to see you back soon All the Best Team at Avalon House

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Loved my stay here. The hostel is in a good location and is great value for money. A walking tour leaves the hostel every morning, which I would recommend going on. Breakfast is free and there is a good selection of food; cereals, breads, jams, yoghurt, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. You could also buy breakfast from the cafe. Wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KatieNelson_x
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

Hi Katie Many Thanks for the lovely review and we hope you will be back to stay again on your next trip to Dublin All the Best Team @ Avalon House

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 3 August 2015

The atmosphere of this hostel is acceptable only for young backpacker travellers. The kitchen is dirty, and can be used only from noon to 9. The breakfast is included, but means tea, bread and some jam. Of course you can buy other meals on "good" price. The room size is equal with two single bed. No table, no wardrobe or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy_0602
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

We are sorry to see you didn't enjoy your experience, I'm afraid we don't have the heating on in July when its quite warm out and our kitchen is accessible from 8am to 10pm, we also clean the main kitchen a few times a day especially during busy periods but we do expect guests to clean up after themselves which...

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Bit of a walk out of town, less convenient than many central hostels. Elected to stay at a different hostel after returning from a tour around Ireland for that reason. Room was fine, typical of basic hostel but quite cramped with only just enough space for luggage. Complimentary basic breakfast of toast and cereals with drinks etc. Foyer also held...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lishytoast
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to review us and we are delighted you enjoyed the experience All the best Team @ Avalon

London, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2015

I am a Canadian Traveller from Southern Ontario Canada (London, ON) and I really enjoyed my stay here (Spring 2014). First off, the breakfast is included (at the time it was bran flakes, real creamy milk - Irish Style, fresh honey, toast, juice, and some fruit), the people at the front counter were very accommodating and helpful, there were lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChillyWilly777
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this amazing review, we are thrilled you enjoyed it !! Hopefully see you on your next trip to Dublin All the best, Team @ Avalon

356 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (264)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (35)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm Ensuite (28)
Viewed
Standard Four Person Dorm Ensuite (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room Ensuite (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Twin Room Ensuite (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
3,700 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
2,198 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Avalon House

Address: Avalon House 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 1,759 - ₹ 8,142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Avalon House 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Avalon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon House Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avalon House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Brasov, Romania
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Avalon House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4 dorm is the best though the rooms are quite small”
 of 5 bubbles 834tinitat, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“just you should ask for a silent room.”
 of 5 bubbles carmenn470, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Pack light sleepwear - rooms have limites airflow and tend to be warm”
 of 5 bubbles MirandyG, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles Levarttravel1, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“twin room on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 283petrap, 10 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5