We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avalon House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avalon House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

807 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avalon House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 517: English reviews
Paris
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Good location good staff. It was my 2nd time at avalon house. Kitchen at your disposal. They propose different tours and shuttle to the airport. Good place to make new friends. Perfect for Backpackers travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveloversParis
Rotorua District, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

This hostel is really good value it has - great location - cooking facilities - friendly staff and great atmosphere - included breakfast - great cafe attached that is so good even locals go there I had a private room with shared bathroom. Facilities were clean are all times. Stayed here with my mother who is 50 and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eillish_S
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

I only spent one night there and arrived late, but I loved everything I saw. I will be back. It's really friendly, helpful and everything I needed. Use of an ipad was great when I needed it, missed breakfast- but am sure it was great. Showers clean, rooms clean. Warm. Great location (near St Stephens Green). And the adjoining Avalon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanie1000
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Stayed here for two nights recently. As hostels go, this was pretty decent. Room was clean but the bed wasn't too comfortable. Breakfast is not great, but you don't stay in a hostel for the cuisine. Overall, it provided a good budget accommodation option compared to the high prices of other places in Dublin and location was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mal_Bernard
Scheveningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We stayed in a 4 bed mixed room, the room was clean albeit a bit small but definitely a good deal for what you're paying! The bathrooms were very clean during our entire stay and there was no noise or anything at night. The fact that you need a special card to enter the hostel and then have to scan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Talin T
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 16 January 2017

You can expect to get what you pay for at this place. Staff is very friendly and effective. The included breakfast is quite nasty but as breakfast is served in a coffee bar which also caters to non-hostel guests you can buy some very alternatives there. The rooms are very very basic (maybe a little too basic for my taste)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bart V
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

My friends and I stayed here (we are between 23-25 years old), there was only 5 of us but we booked a 6 bed dorm with its own bathroom. The room and bathroom were cleaned to a high standard, breakfast was what expected, staff were friendly and it was in a great location! I couldn't really fault it for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LGowans
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Upon the first 2 minutes of arriving at this hostel everything appeared nice and welcoming, but that was short lived. We were greeted by cold impatient reception staff, then to witness same staff rudely talking to a customer who was staying there and not offering any explanation or help for their query, when they asked to speak to a manager...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank CrissieWill
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

The only good thing about this place is the location, 5 min walk to temple bar, 5 min walk to 24 hour spar shop, number 16 bus to airport stops right outside. This place has huge potential but is let down by its staff. Not one member of staff I came into contact with was polite or even smiled, just...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rebecca A
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback of your stay in Avalon House. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us however a few things need to be addressed. First you did not book the hostel because we offer late check out the booking was made before this request was made and our staff informed you...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

I needed to stay in the hostel for a few days while I was looking for a permanent place, on the 3rd day of my stay my bed was done, which I truly appreciated, however the make took my stuff out of the bed and laid over the window mantelpiece, half of my stuff was on the edge of it....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rene B
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Although I appreciate you are upset we moved your belongings, this is something we have to do in order to dress your bed with clean sheets, I have noted on your file for future reference if there is something on your bed it will not be dressed unless requested....

356 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (264)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (35)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm Ensuite (28)
Viewed
Standard Four Person Dorm Ensuite (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room Ensuite (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Twin Room Ensuite (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
3,753 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
2,224 reviews
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#16 of 106 in Dublin
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Avalon House

Address: Avalon House 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 1,608 - ₹ 7,976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Avalon House 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon House Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avalon House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Brasov, Romania
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Avalon House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4 dorm is the best though the rooms are quite small”
834tinitat, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“just you should ask for a silent room.”
carmenn470, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Pack light sleepwear - rooms have limites airflow and tend to be warm”
MirandyG, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else!”
Levarttravel1, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“twin room on the first floor”
283petrap, 10 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5