We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Clarence

Orbitz.comUS$ 256*
View Deal
#41 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 292*
US$ 256*
US$ 292*
US$ 256*
US$ 292*
US$ 256*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Clarence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Clarence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,461: English reviews
North Bergen, New Jersey
Reviewed 28 November 2015

I thought the rooms were very spacious, but better suited for a man. I would recommend making it more female friendly by providing a make up mirror or a well lit space for a woman to put on make up and do hair. Also, the shower curtain needs to be weighted down so it doesn't stick to the skin of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dorothyw110
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review The Clarence following your stay. Your feedback is appreciated and noted. Noise can be an issue on some nights depending on what's happening in the vicinity of the hotel and while we have taken every measure available to us to reduce the impact of this noise, unfortunately it's not possible to block it...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

I would definitely recommend the Clarence. This is our third stay here and it just gets better and better. It's ideally situated with Temple Bar just around the corner and O'Connell and Grafton Street's a short walk away. The Dart and railway stations are within walking distance if you want to venture outside the city to the coast. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen L
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to take care of you during your recent stay at The Clarence and it sounds like you really enjoyed this return visit. I'll be certain to pass your kind words on to the team here and it's always great to hear such positive feedback about so many aspects of the hotel and team. We hope to...

Trenton, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 November 2015

The Clarence served all of my purposes: small, great staff and great location. Don't be put off on the location in Temple Bar, noise was not a problem and bars and restaurants are really close. Nothing negative at all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jersey G
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It's great to read that The Clarence served the purpose of you your recent visit to Dublin and the you found the team here to be great. We hope that whether it's for business or pleasure you'll choose to stay here again if your in Dublin.

Barrhead, Canada
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Though I chose the Clarence primarily because of the U2 connection, the hotel has its many charms. I was expecting something a little more extravagant, but I love the minimalist decor, the wood accents, the simple color schemes. The service from the reception, the sitting area and the Octagon Bar was top notch. Everyone made sure I was well taken...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review The Clarence following your stay with us. I'm glad that overall you liked the hotel, the service and that you felt taken care of. Thanks also for your understanding that there are some outside elements such as noise from neighbouring venues that we cannot fully control.

West Yorkshire, England
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Over in Dublin on business, a great city. It is difficult to define what makes a hotel really good, but you know it when you get it and myself and my 3 colleagues were unaminous in our praise for this place. The greeting was warm and attentive. Room wasn't quite ready so we had a coffee in the bar. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wakeywarrior
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review of The Clarence following your stay with us this month. I'm disappointed to read your experience of the bathroom and will highlight this with the relevant manager. Overall however, it sounds like you had a great stay and I'm delighted to read that you'll be staying with us again on future...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Friendly staff, Inside templebar, 20 minute-walk to the Dublin brewery, 10 minute walk to the Brazen Head Pub and a 20 minute walk to the Cobblestone pub. Very good! With a room to the riverside very quite, breakfast included with warm part - very good, its looks like old and cosy but not old and dirty. I always stay there...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 111kalle
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It's great to read that you always stay here at The Clarence when you're in Dublin and I'm delighted to read the positive comments in your review about the hotel and the team here. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Stone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Great Location close to Temple Bar nightlife. Being on the top floor, we didn't experience any noise late at night to disturb us. The hotel itself was fairly quiet in both bar and restaurant, undoubtedly due to the local options available, but very pleasant nonetheless. Service was efficient and the room of a 4 star standard. Sadly no sign of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

I'm glad to read that that you didn't experience any noise from Temple Bar on your recent stay and that you found our location to be great as well as the bar and restaurant to be pleasant. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back for a return visit in the near future.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Stayed here with a friend for two nights whilst in Ireland. My friend from Belfast had booked the room in advance and said he always stays here. very warm welcome when we arrived. We did not have a river view but the room was spotlessly clean and serviced promptly each day. Its a bit pricey but a very good stylish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petermct61
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at The Clarence. I'm happy to read you enjoyed it and that you stayed on the recommendation of a friend. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome both of you again on any future visit to Dublin.

Long Beach, New York
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Booked a river view suite with the Clarence and it was absolutely amazing. The staff is friendly, professional and attentive. There's a great bar in the hotel or you can walk down the street and you're immediately in the crazy, fun party area known as Temple Bar. It's a little loud at night, but it's okay knowing that everyone is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nandap326
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay at The Clarence on your recent visit to Ireland. I'm glad to read you enjoyed your river view suite and the hospitality of the team here. We hope you choose The Clarence again on any future trips to Ireland.

Glasgow
Reviewed 22 November 2015

The Clarence offers the perfect location, the perfect hotel and a fabulous team. Our suite was located to the riverside of the hotel which offered us great views. Can't wait to visit again. Would absolutely recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 5* review following your stay with us. We hope that you make it back to Dublin soon for another stay at The Clarence and we look forward to welcoming you on that occasion.

851 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (366)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (144)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (440)
Viewed
Double Room with Balcony (48)
Viewed
Garden Suite with Terrace (55)
Viewed
Penthouse (166)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Suite (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Twin Bedroom (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
2,689 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
1,408 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
2,169 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarence boasts fifty bedrooms and suites, along with our world famous Penthouse Suite. Our rooms range from Classic through Deluxe and on to our River View and Garden Terrace Suites. Our furnishings are simple: classic Shaker oak, beds dressed in cool white linen, sitting elegantly in contrast to a palate of vibrant cardinal colours, rich drapes and luxe carpets. We aim to provide all the simple needs of our guests and we offer 'round the clock room service and all rooms have complimentary WiFi as standard. Our city centre location means car space is at a premium, but we do have a small underground car park that can be reserved for a small nightly supplement. It is also worth noting that our location does mean that the area can be lively at night, especially at the weekends and while we have taken every effort to reduce noise, it is not possible to block it all out. Please do consider this before booking. Within the hotel complex there are many drinking and dining experiences, from the chilled out bliss of The Study to the super stylish Octagon Bar, the perfect spot for an afternoon cocktail or a laid back nightcap. We also have Michelin star chef Oliver Dunne's Cleaver East restaurant within our walls and we are very proud that Oliver and his team provide all catering at the hotel, so whether it's a late night bite in your room or a Full Irish breakfast the next morning, you know your food will be of the highest standard, made from the freshest produce, closely cared for by Michelin starred hands. In the bowels of our building you will find the luxurious cocktail and food bar The Liquor Rooms, home to Dublin's arts set and the first ROI bar ever to be nominated in the prestigious Tales of the Cocktail Spirited Awards. On our first floor, overlooking the River Liffey lies The Cleaver East Suite at The Clarence, which can be reserved for special occasions, from large weddings to intimate business meetings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clarence

Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: ₹ 9,755 - ₹ 31,703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Family Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Clarence staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Clarence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We upgraded to a room with a balcony which apparently gave us a larger room. We enjoyed being able to fully open the door and step out.”
shelleyl256, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room unless you are out partying until the wee hours.”
H5731FXjamess, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a river view room”
E8680XTjohnh, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“I would recommend a room with a view of the river. A bit quieter for the most part.”
molly1081967, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“We didn't get to see other rooms but something facing the river would be beneficial.”
seanbL38UT, 18 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 256* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 256
TripAdvisorUS$ 256
CancelonUS$ 292
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates