We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Abbey Hotel

Save
Traveller (127)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (22)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good32%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from The Abbey Hotel
Special Offer: Donegal Adventures
Offers from The Abbey Hotel
Special Offer: Donegal Adventures
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (833)
There are newer reviews for The Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
808 results
Traveller rating
292
258
128
68
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
292
258
128
68
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket housesister hotel next doorcountry music weekendnational holidayscoach partypublic car parkcaledonian travelthird floortown squarelovely hotellovely towndouble bedfour nightsenjoyable stayhotel barcourse mealgreat weekend
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
231 - 235 of 808 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

This is an old hotel with lots of charm. Reception staff very helpful. We took the bargain with a three course meal. The starter was good. The rest was not! Overcooked steak, killed vegetables, ordinary desert. The breakfast was served like on an assembly line...More

Thank Per A
Response from Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey HotelResponded 15 July 2016

Dear Per A Thank you for taking your time in writing this review. Thank you for your constructive criticism i will be sure to inform the Chef and the rest of the Culinary team of your issues. Thank you and hope to see you back...More

Reviewed 7 July 2016

Stayed in the Abbey in May 2016. Hotel is a great location, right in the centre of the town! Close to all local bars and great music in the bar itself! Our room was spacious but very old fashioned and basic and no view but...More

Thank mmca2016
Response from Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey HotelResponded 15 July 2016

Thank you mmca2016 for taking your time to write this review. Hope you enjoyed your stay here with us. hope to welcoming you back again very soon. Regards Victoria

Reviewed 6 July 2016

It takes some effort to destroy a Cajun Chicken Caesar Salad but the talented chef at the Abbey managed it. FYI Chef, a Caesar is made with FRESH Cos Lettuce, not iceberg; FRESH Breast of Chicken marinated in cajun spices, not spicy chicken goujons and...More

Thank obviouslyrosie
Response from Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey HotelResponded 15 July 2016

Thank you obviouslyrosie for taking your time in writing this review. Very disappointed to hear of your experience here at the Hotel, we hope to see you back at the hotel in the future. I will report this to the Chef and his team, thank...More

Reviewed 28 June 2016

Called in here for lunch after visiting Donegal Castle yesterday. The reception area is very impressive, as was the place we sat in the bar area. We ordered Seafood Chowder but they actually had run out of Seafood Chowder - at lunch time? We ordered...More

1  Thank DubTwosome
Response from Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey HotelResponded 15 July 2016

Dear Dub Twosome I am delighted to hear you had a good meal in the bar. I am so sorry to hear about the condition of the bathrooms, this is not our usual standard. I will be sure to report this to management and to...More

Reviewed 25 June 2016

Stayed two nights. First night was peaceful. If we had left after one night our review would have been five-star. Unfortunately we stayed a second night, when the night club below our room was open. The music and crowds were so loud we couldn't get...More

2  Thank Paul_857b
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Donegal Town
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 129 - US$ 231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 129 - US$ 231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (127)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (22)
Pool & Beach (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Marina495
10 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Niamh M | Property representative |
Our Country Music Weekend is on 19th - 21st January We also have a Country Music Weekend 9th -11th March
0
Votes
Anne C
9 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sharonryan1 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, but its next door in the adjacent hotel. there is also a nice hot Jacuzzi, enjoy :)
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Give your room the "sniff-test" first. And try for a room that's not front facing and directly..."
Read review
"Ask for a room close to the elevator."
Read review
"The 3rd floor is great as this is the top floor therefore very quiet"
Read review
"Ask for a room away from the front of the hotel"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing