We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Metropole Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Metropole Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,479: English reviews
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Old fashioned hotel very close to the city centre of Cork. The receptionist and maintenance staff were very kind and hepful and breakfast was good. The hotel offers a discount for the parking. It is outside the building but very close to it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alvaro Antonio Z
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alvaro Antonio Z, Thank you for choosing The Metropole hotel, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from you stay. Our team are dedicated to providing the highest level of customer service and will be delighted to receive your friendly comments. We hope...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Great Hotel, Great Food, Great Facilities and Great Location. Parking very close by only 8 euro for 24 hours Receptionist very friendly and helpful. Will definitely return to the restaurant...Amazing Food.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N4570TAanthonyl
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear N4570TAanthonyl, Thank you for taking the time to write such an lovely review. I am very proud to have such a wonderful team, our staff are committed to providing the highest level of service at all times. Our restaurant team will be delighted to receive such high praise. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole in...

Ardnacrusha
Reviewed 9 August 2016

while the hotel is in an excellent location with really helpful and friendly staff . The rooms are dated , small and cramped and certainly not as booked on the booking site . Don't waste your time having a shower it's a sprinkle

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tommyg715
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tommyg715, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, I was so sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I am greatly disappointed to hear you had so many concerns that I would be grateful if you contacted me via email at rrussell@themetropolehotel.ie so we could discuss the details of your...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Great location in the heart of Cork. Easy access to shopping, bars and restaurants. Décor needs updating, but very friendly and helpful staff throughout. Thanks for a great stay at a reasonable price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMSlat
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LMSlat, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here at The Metropole. Our staff are committed to providing the highest level of customer service at all times. We hope to see you again soon at The Metropole Hotel. Kind Regards, Roger Russell General...

Mullhuldart
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Great for a weekend stay, located just walking distance from all the great things Cork has to offer. The staff are super friendly and helpful, would stay here again! Overall it was a very good experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Marie F
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa Marie F, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are lucky to have such a great location in the heart of the city. I am delighted to hear you had a great stay with us, our staff are committed to providing excellent customer service. We hope to see you again soon at...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Our rowing club stays here every year for the Ocean to City festival. The staff here are friendly and very professional. They were able to upgrade our rooms hassle-free, and even when a waiter had accidentally spilt a glass of wine at our table, they insisted on giving us complimentary dinners & drinks even though we said it was no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leo27_13
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leo27_13, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel. Our staff are committed to providing the highest level of customer service. Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding accessibility in our hotel. We will be improving the level of accessibility in the near future and appreciate your suggestions. Our team will be...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Please read this review in full. Had a family celebration in a near by hotel on Wednesday, a very important occasion. 10 days booked in advance. Treatment was horrific! Poor night to say the least, everyone let down and disappointed. No food, drink or staff. Tonight I rang the Metropole at 8.36 pm and asked for a table for 8.45....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Criminology
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Criminology, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, I am so delighted to hear you enjoyed your evening. Our team are committed to delivering excellent customer service, our restaurant and kitchen team will be thrilled to receive such high praise. Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back to the Hotel again soon!...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Hotel is located on the river near the city center. It is within a few minutes walk to lots of shopping, restaurants, and bars. Lobby and rooms are nice and clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Parking lot nearby with discount for staying at the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey Q
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lindsey Q, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to have such a fabulous location in the heart of the city centre. All our team here are committed to delivering excellence in customer service and I was...

Killarney, Ireland
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I stayed here last weekend as I was in Cork with a friend. The hotel is very central nearby to both bus and train station, good value for money, efficient check in, the staff were very nice and polite. The night porter kindly offered to call a taxi for us at the end of the night as my friend was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank delaney204
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear delaney204, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to have such a fabulous location in the heart of the city centre. All our team here are committed to delivering excellence in customer service and I was very...

Tralee
Reviewed 4 August 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed here for his birthday last weekend and When I booked the hotel I mentioned that it was his birthday and asked if they could leave a little happy birthday note in our room if possible, when we got to the room he found a lovely card wishing him happy birthday and also a complimentary wine...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StephanieLawlor9411
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StephanieLawlor9411, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. All our team here are committed to delivering excellence in customer service. I hope you both enjoyed the birthday celebrations, I do hope that you will come and stay with us again soon...

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,282 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,368 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
1,913 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.Part of Tifco Hotel Group, The Metropole Hotel is a 3 star Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Price Range: ₹ 5,649 - ₹ 10,309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
#17 Family Hotel in Cork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Metropole Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Metropole Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back are quieter but have no view as such ie. a brickwall of the rest of the hotel !”
 of 5 bubbles 28noddy, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Early morning traffic can be heard from front of house rooms- if you are a light sleeper best not to sleep in this area of the hotel?”
 of 5 bubbles T4802QXmichaelk, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Very pleasant pool, steam room and sauna.”
 of 5 bubbles 128benoitd, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The suites are gorgeous and a very reasonable price! We faced away from the river and it was very pittoresque!”
 of 5 bubbles katieb780, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best views at the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles PH_994, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5