We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
27/8/2017 28/8/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Old Ground

    Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    27/8/2017 28/8/2017
    US$ 203
    US$ 151
    SAVE US$ 52
    US$ 203
    Traveller (348)
    Room & Suite (334)
    Dining (89)
    Overview
    • Excellent62%
    • Very good28%
    • Average6%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “town hall” (106 reviews)
    “the pub” (147 reviews)
    “poets corner” (59 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Concierge
    Wheelchair Access
    Business Centre
    Dry Cleaning
    Kids Club
    Housekeeping
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from The Old Ground
    Deals (4)
    27 Aug28 Aug
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Twin Double
      US$ 203US$ 151
      View Deal
    • Double Room
      US$ 203
      View Deal
    More deals for this hotel
    • Twin Double
      US$ 151
      View Deal
    • Deluxe Room
      US$ 175
      View Deal
    • Double Room
      US$ 203
      View Deal
    • Twin Room
      US$ 203
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 4
    The Oakwood Hotel
    811 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Shannon
     
    Temple Gate Hotel
    820 reviews
    #3 of 9 hotels in Ennis
     
    Ballinalacken Castle Country House
    549 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Doolin
     
    Vaughan Lodge
    365 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Lahinch
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    Reviews (1,576)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for The Old Ground
    See the most recent reviews

    11 - 15 of 1,540 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    I had a couple of people suggest that I stay at the Old Ground when I was in Ennis. So glad I took them up on the recommendation. This is a lovely hotel. The building is older so it didn't surprise me to find a...More

    Thank Melissa W
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    This is a hotel I have know fro years and have had some really good meals here ,I also have stayed here and attended functions. However last Sundays lunch hit an all time low. I had the mixed sea food, presentation very poor, food had...More

    Thank orflaith2014
    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    We visited Ennis in July and booked junior suite at this hotel. First the good things: *Lots of parking space *Good location in the center *Quiet rooms Then the other side: *Not even avarage breakfast The service was horrible, had to ask for coffee 3...More

    Thank strictlytraveling
    Response from MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old GroundResponded 1 week ago

    Dear Guests from Finland, It is our general policy to treat all reviews constructively and we do appreciate feedback. We are always particularly concerned to give a very special Irish welcome to visitors from another country. However, as I apologise for any shortcomings, I would...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    My husband and I, along with her daughter and fiance, stayed here. We had a wonderful time and wished we had booked more nights. We tried to book additional nights but they were sold out. Book as early as possible. They have a restaurant and...More

    Thank S K
    Response from MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old GroundResponded 1 week ago

    Dear SK, Thank you for sharing such a glowing review. I am so sorry that we were not able to accommodate you for an extra night - thank you for advising potential visitors to book early as it has been an extremely busy season -...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    Stayed here for one night. I want to rate it 3.5/5. The bedroom was small and pokey as was the bathroom. Not a lot of room when you have 2 suitcases. Iv had bigger rooms in Paris and Rome in equivalent star rated hotels. Rooms...More

    Thank Foxypops1986
    Response from MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old GroundResponded 2 weeks ago

    Dear Foxypops, Our property is an historic Manor House which has been extended and developed with great care. This has allowed us the opportunity to provide very spacious King Sized Rooms, Deluxe rooms with a double and single bed and several luxurious suites. The nature...More

    The Oakwood Hotel
    811 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Shannon
     
    Temple Gate Hotel
    820 reviews
    #3 of 9 hotels in Ennis
     
    Ballinalacken Castle Country House
    549 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Doolin
     
    Vaughan Lodge
    365 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Lahinch
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Room Service
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Room Service
    • Free Parking
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Breakfast included
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Laundry Service
    • Concierge
    • Banquet Room
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Conference Facilities
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$ 92 - US$ 243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Smoking rooms available
    • Number of rooms
    • 110
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Ireland >
    • Province of Munster >
    • County Clare >
    • Ennis
    • Also Known As
    • The Old Ground Hotel Ennis ,
    • Old Ground Ennis
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (348)
    Room & Suite (334)
    Dining (89)
    Hotel & Grounds (297)
    Bathroom (30)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (7)
    Nearby
    Ballinalacken Castle Country House
    549 reviews
    32.93 km away
     
    The Oakwood Hotel
    811 reviews
    16.16 km away
     
    Vaughan Lodge
    365 reviews
    26.12 km away
     
    Temple Gate Hotel
    820 reviews
    .18 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Town Hall Cafe
    647 reviews
    .03 km away
    The Dining Room
    620 reviews
    .18 km away
    Poet's Corner Bar
    587 reviews
    .03 km away
    Brogans Bar & Restaurant
    626 reviews
    .13 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Ennis Friary
    258 reviews
    .40 km away
    The Clare Museum
    144 reviews
    .21 km away
    Daniel O'Connell Monument
    23 reviews
    .04 km away
    de Valera Public Library
    32 reviews
    .44 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Rose M
    20 June 2017|
    AnswerShow all 8 answers
    Response from Clint1583 | Reviewed this property |
    Yes!
    1
    Vote
    ehortop
    27 May 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Mary Ellen L | Reviewed this property |
    I don't remember whether the beds were queen or double. It seems like they were queen because we had so much room, however, we found queen beds were not the norm in Ireland like they are in the US. Most beds were doubles and... More
    1
    Vote
    Roy N
    13 March 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from suzieblue48 | Reviewed this property |
    Hi there I think breakfast was from 7a.m. until 10.30a.m. Hope that helps.
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "We asked for a room that was away from the bar as it has Irish music beginning at 10pm."
    Read review
    "Ask for a room on floor 3-5 for a bit of a view."
    Read review
    "the room we occupied was beautiful and I dont think you could go wrong in this Hotel."
    Read review
    "we did not stay just ate there"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing