We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carlisle Road, Hamilton ML3 7DB Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$68
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Expedia.com
$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Agoda.com
$67
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Hotels.com$72
Travelocity$73
Trip.com$81
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (29)

About

#4 of 5 hotels in Hamilton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Avonbridge Hotel is located in the historic town of Hamilton, which has a rich and dramatic history. Situated just outside of Glasgow and about 30 minutes from Edinburgh, Hamilton is a major attraction for visitors of Scotland – acting as a calm and rural escape from metropolitan cities. Owned and operated by The Martalo's, The Avonbridge offers all the benefits of a luxury hotel with the passion and intimacy of a family run business. The Fico restaurant offers all the elements of fine dining in a casual and inviting atmosphere, and our paw friendly Bar Milano offers up the best brunch, and transforms into Hamilton's hottest bar on Friday and Saturday nights. We invite you to dine, celebrate, and rest your head with us, all while taking in the historic sights of Hamilton and beyond in Scotland!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English
558Reviews8Q+A79Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 190
  • 154
  • 105
  • 51
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rowan V wrote a review 10 Sep
11 contributions
This hotel was pre-booked by our travel company but we had a very poor experience. Our initial room was a double, quite small but okay it was only 1 night. We were staying on a Saturday night and there is a bar connected to the hotel. The outside area was right next to our room window separated by a wooden barrier. The music and people were really loud (the bass had us practically bouncing in bed) and was open till midnight. We're 30 yrs old and still love a party but don't understand why there is a bar 1 meter from hotelrooms where people come to SLEEP! We went down to the front desk to see what could be done and they offered us another room on the top floor (same side of the hotel) to see if it was less noisy. Staff were really lovely at least. It was marginally better, but it was a twin. We didn't mind sleeping in separate beds but the noise was still really loud and the beds and pillows were hard and uncomfortable. Shower pressure was not great either. Breakfast buffet was at least very tasty but all in all we didn't have a good stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Rowan, thank you for your review and comments about our staff and breakfast. Please accept our apologies about the noise from our popular Milano Bar as it can get busy on Saturday nights. We do have the sound barrier of the fence, the DJ is in doors so there are multiple barriers to keep the noise contained but we will look in to your comments and see if we can improve in any way so that the noise doesn't travel. Unfortunately all our top floor rooms are twins but we are looking to upgrade these rooms in the near future with additional sound proofing and upgraded beds and bedding. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion and do hope that on your next visit you will be able to see the upgrades that we have made. Regards Manager@TheAvobridge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris M wrote a review Aug 2022
Colchester, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
On the first day I rang for extra tea bags and milk, I was met at the door by a miserable receptionist who informed me I was only entitled to have TWO tea bags as complimentary for each day 😞 I ask the receptionist WHY, as I have NEVER experienced this in any hotel before!!!!, she would not budge and left me feeling very upset at her attitude telling me off!!!!!!! Later that evening I asked a gentleman named Osman in the evening who was an absolute delight if I could have more tea bags from behind the bar, only to witness him being told off after by a man with a beard in front of me (I think he was in charge) I felt so bad and I apologised to Osman for putting him in that situation he was upset but told me not to worry Osman was a happy gentleman making me feel welcome in the hotel and such a happy obliging host This became a joke with other guests having the same issues I met some lovely people the breakfast was the great start to the day chatting and discussing our days out etc, at our table where we shared our great experiences of the previous days with each other The next morning we were met by another rude blonde young lady who refused to let us sit at our table that we had been sharing for three days she was young with another person with an attitude We met Mary on our first day she was the most fantastic host Mary spoke to us everyday and made our trip in the hotel better, each day Mary remained so kind and helpful Mary explained different history cultures etc and if she could help especially managing our rooms which she kept spotless and such a friendly person, what a wonderful lady she is, so kind and helpful, well done Mary😉 The hotel needs to change the attitude of staff, it ruined our stay being watched by certain staff just in case we asked for a tea bag 🙁 Your hotel is only as good as your management I would recommend that those who were brusque with their manner take a leaf out of Mary’s and Osman’s book I understand that people working are on certain rules but surely TWO tea bags really 🤦‍♀️
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: A large van was parked in the disabled spot outside our front window he was a workman he was...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Chris, apologies that you had some issues in relation to tea bags. They get replenished each day but please accept our apologies that you were made to feel this way. It is certainly not procedure that you can only have two tea bags per day. It may be that their stock was running low but again please accept our apologies. We are glad that Mary and Osman made you feel welcome and were great hosts. I will pass on your comments to them both. Regards Manager@TheAvonbridge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret G wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
Had lunch here with my fiends on Saturday. I had the crispy chicken for starters which was nice. My friends had the bruschetta with was far too oily and they didn’t like the sun-dried tomatoes. Two of us had steak pie which came with four very small cold wedges and stirfry veg which was peppers, onions and carrot. Although the steak pie was nice we didn’t eat the veg or wedges. Told the server and he said that he would tell the chef. Steak pie comes with either mash potatoes, roast potatoes or boiled potatoes, l felt as if I should have been eating Mexican.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Margaret, thank you for your review and apologies that you had some complaints about our food. I will pass these comments on to our management team to look in to. We hope you can try more of our varied menu on your next visit. We also have a BBQ station that is open at weekends and our pizza's in Milano are of the greatest quality. Regards Manager@TheAvonbridge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
flowerpot111 wrote a review Aug 2022
Basingstoke, United Kingdom56 contributions24 helpful votes
Very nice hotel. Staff excellent. Had two dinners Pasta being the Vegetarian dish twice. Vegetarians don't only eat pasta! Nice room but automatic light for bathroom--- this meant a full on light in middle of night. Pillows hard. Lovely outdoor seating to eat at lunchtime.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi, thank you so much for your review and comments about our excellent staff and beer garden area. We are looking in to upgrading much of our lights in the near future so we will add this to the upgrade list. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Manager@TheAvonbridge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jordan K wrote a review Aug 2022
32 contributions1 helpful vote
Arrived at approximately 2230hrs to be met by the night porter. I required a room for the night due to family circumstances. Simon was so helpful and couldn’t have done enough for me. Room which I stayed in (57) was spotless I genuinely couldn’t have complained about anything. First class service from the night staff at the Avonbridge. Girl I spoke with in the morning so polite and friendly absolutely no issues at all. 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi, thank you so much for your review and Simon will be delighted about your comments and we are glad he was helpful and you had an enjoyable stay. We do hope to see you again soon. Regards Manager@TheAvonbridge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adventurer816228 wrote a review Aug 2022
Biggar, United Kingdom18 contributions6 helpful votes
The Avonbridge is a favourite for Sunday lunch, but we decided to visit today for an aunts 85th birthday lunch. When we first arrived 5he friendly waiter explained the restaurant was very hot and gave us the option to sit in a cooler area. After about 15 minutes the sun had gone and the waiter suggested we move through to a bigger table now it was more comfortable, very thoughtful and appreciated by our elderly relatives. We all ordered off the ala carts menu. One chicken in mushroom sauce, one chicken Highlander, one veal saltimboca, and one lasagne. All well presented generous portions, and delicious. We all had deserts, one canolli, one ice cream, two Easton mess. Again all well presented and tasty. Very reasonable bill, all staff very attentive and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Hi, thank you so much for your review and we will be sure to pass on your comments to the waiter and team in the restaurant. We pride ourselves on our food and we would agree that our portions are generous so again thank you for detailing this. At times the restaurant can get quite hot even though we do have air conditioning throughout which we are looking in to improving in the near future. We are so glad you had an enjoyable time and we hope to see you back again soon. Regards Manager@TheAvonbridge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
William P wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
A big THANK YOU to all staff that looked after me during my 8month stay!! It is most disappointing you're only allowed 200 characters per review! Reception, cleaners, chefs & bar staff... MOLTO GRAZIE 😍
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 1 Aug 2022
Hi William, thank you so much for your review and comments about our staff. We are so glad we were able to accommodate you for so long and I know you got to know many of the staff well during your time here. Please do come back again and say hello. Grazie Manager@TheAvonbridge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jill B wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
This place is outstanding for food, accommodation and service. We stayed in the family accommodation and it was was amazing as soon as we checked in. We had dinner in the main restaurant and the food was fast and delicious. Highly recommended for families or couples. Will stay again 100%
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 1 Aug 2022
Hi Jill, thank you so much for your review and comments on our food and all round service. We are so glad you have had an enjoyable stay and we do hope that you will visit us again soon. Regards Manager@TheAvonbridge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David K wrote a review Jul 2022
Hamilton, United Kingdom2 contributions
We attended my brother and sister in laws wedding on Friday and had a fantastic time/experience. After reading previous reviews I was kind of dreading our stay at the hotel. As best man I was always on hand to help get things sorted and make sure everything was on time/ to plan but there was a lovely gentleman ( forgot his name now ) who was fantastic from start to finish. As guests arrived we were greeted before we even got indoors to reception with very friendly faces. Upon entry to the hall we had plenty bar staff around to help give out the welcome drinks and make sure everyone had a drink. When it came to the meals it was like clockwork. Again the same wee man was on hand to make sure everyone was seen to properly, So professional and attention to detail was perfect. Never missed a beat all night. Throughout the meal we were served each course rather quickly and the food was some of the best Iv had and believe me I know my food 😁. Bar staff were very friendly and had good conversations with them. Always happy to chat away and made the effort to make you feel welcome. All in all a great experience and stay at the hotel can’t thank them enough for making the day perfect
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Hi David, thank you so much for your review. We pride ourselves on our weddings and are so glad everything went to plan and you all had a great day. The wee man is Guiliano and he has been looking after our functions for many years now and he will be so pleased to read your positive comments. Thank you again and all the best to the happy couple. Manager@TheAvonbridge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A L wrote a review Jun 2022
Larkhall2 contributions2 helpful votes
Went with family visiting from Australia for a meal. Have been several times over the years and have to say customer service has become shocking. Waited an hr for food and when asked if it would be long got a rude reply. My daughter then found a insect in her food and not even an apology. The waiter squashed it with his fingers at the table and took it away. Have heard from several people since visiting they have experienced the same poor service. Stay clear.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Hi Alison, please accept our apologies for the poor service you received. Could you possibly send in the date and time you were in the restaurant to manager@theavonbridge.co.uk so we can investigate further. We would love for you to come back in so we can show you that this isn't the norm and that we will be dealing with the issues you have raised. Regards Manager@TheAvonbridge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$80 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the avonbridge hotel hamilton, avonbridge hotel hamilton
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandSouth LanarkshireHamilton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Avonbridge Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Avonbridge Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Low Parks Museum (1.0 km), The Town House (0.9 km), and Vue Cinema (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Avonbridge Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Avonbridge Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Avonbridge Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Avonbridge Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beefeater Hamilton, The Kurry Lounge, and Gusti D'Italia.
Are pets allowed at Avonbridge Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Avonbridge Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Avonbridge Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chatelherault (1.6 km), Low Parks Museum (1.0 km), and David Livingstone Birthplace (4.8 km).
Is Avonbridge Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.