We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
12 Clydesdale Street South Lanarkshire, Hamilton ML3 0DP Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (6)

About

#1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Family run hotel in Hamilton, South Lanarkshire. We were established in 1997 and pride ourselves on providing guests with a clean, modern accommodation in a good location. We have onsite car parking, free wifi and an honesty bar where guests can enjoy a refreshment after a busy day or weather permitting enjoy some fresh air in our Beer Garden. We are ideally situated close to motorway links, it is a 20 minute drive to Glasgow City Centre and 50 minutes to Edinburgh. Hamilton west train station is a few minutes walk from our Hotel and there are regular trains to Glasgow and other cities. If you prefer to dine in guests are welcome to bring any food in and enjoy the surrounding of our lovely lounge where we can provide crockery, cutlery etc. Numerous restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel as well as supermarkets , cafes, pubs etc. Hamilton Park Racecourse is a 15 minute walk from the Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
143Reviews2Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 80
  • 43
  • 10
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Noleen wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
As soon as we arrived at the hotel we had excellent service! Lovely room, amazing facilities, great location can get to the train station within minutes. Owners are so lovely and welcoming! Amazinggg!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ross P wrote a review Apr 2022
Limassol City, Cyprus1 contribution
Rose and Davie were wonderful hosts and very helpful with any requests. There was always a cheerful good morning and they were very knowledgeable about the local area. I wouldn't hesitate to book here again as they really do understand service and making you feel at home.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Debra Clark wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
What a great hotel run by the lovely David and Rose Rutherford. Room 12 was bright and and clean with a good working shower. Tea and coffee facilities are in the room along with a hairdryer. My only criticism would be that could fresh cups for the tea/coffee be put out each morning, we had to use the ones from the day before. David & Rose are totally charming. Great hotel and I would not hesitate to stay there again. Ps lovely wallpaper in the lounge area which again was bright and very clean 😉
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
hadfielc wrote a review Sep 2020
Ilkley, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel is extremely friendly and remarkable value for money. Unusual in that there is a separation of the restaurant and the hotel. Consequently it attracts fine diners (Italian menu) who aren't resident, and offers twin/triple rooms for the stopover. Downside is no breakfast on offer, but can be planned round. Will re-visit whenever opportunity permits.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ronnie m wrote a review Mar 2020
Hamilton, United Kingdom13 contributions16 helpful votes
Went here to see Rod Stewart tribute act it was a Xmas pressie there was 6 girls we had a great day out, lovely buffet included staff friendly and polite. It was in the function room just a nice size.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
devine_laura wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom12 contributions19 helpful votes
We had my dads birthday party here on Saturday and the staff couldn't have been more helpful! It was a great day! The staff had everything ready and waiting and assisted with the cake, cutting it up, and even accommodated a few difficult guests! The day was so relaxed just as we wanted it to be. Thanks so much to the team!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Great service for a family birthday party
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
chelsea R wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions5 helpful votes
Had a brilliant day for my friends baby shower decor is to such a high standard looks amazing food is also very nice and the staff are great. Owners are lovely and friendly would definitely recommended and 100% be back great little place
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Bakergirl28 wrote a review Dec 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Our Christmas night out was booked here which included a 3 course meal and DJ entertainment until midnight (£30 a head). We were informed a few days beforehand that another company booked the same night had pulled out but there was a guarantee that our night would still go ahead and would still be made festive/ special- brilliant (or so we thought). We arrived and were given a glass of complementary Prosecco (good start) and in the lobby we were seated around tiny bar tables (it took me a few minutes to twig that we were actually going to be served our dinner in the reception of the hotel...) At 4 per table it was pretty cramped and felt a little weird being right at the front door and right next to the kitchen. The starter came out and it wasn’t suitable for a member of our party who was vegetarian (lentil soup with chunks of ham floating in it....) so they had absolutely nothing else to offer her other than a “glass of orange juice, pineapple or a slice of bread”- not acceptable for a supposed functioning hotel. The main was hardly show stopping, served on side plates and a taste that can only be described as uneventful. The desserts arrived- chocolate cake was stale and cold and cheesecake was at least almost edible, again no vegetarian option (both contained gelatine). So not off to a great start already.... on top of this when ordering drinks the bar staff insisted we pay there and then instead of opening a tab so while trying to eat dinner we had to faff about trying to find money to pay for drinks. Dinner was done by 9pm and we sat waiting to hear news of the DJ.... nothing. A member of our party went to the bar and we were told that not only that there wasn’t a DJ for the evening there was “never a DJ”. Well this was the cherry on top of this disastrous night for us. Total lie to say that there was “never a DJ” when they had posters plastered on their grubby toilet walls that advertised festive nights- 3 course meal and DJ until midnight... not to mention the fact it was all over their FB page too.... So in essence we all paid £30 for an underwhelming meal. When we expressed concerns to the staff we were informed that the manager wasn’t on the premises (on a Friday night during the festive season... oh my) and that the feedback would be passed on. We heard nothing all weekend and a member of our party phoned on the Monday afternoon only to be greeted with half hearted apologies and a very disappointing lack of customer service from the manager. The owner wasn’t much better explaining that things had been “spelled out” to the organiser of our event (which was a lie) and that we apparently did nothing but complain all night (also complete lies). We could of gone to town with the complaints however we were overly polite and left the premises to seek a better night at around 9.30pm. Did I mention that they didn’t even have the courtesy to hand up our coats? Literally thrown in a pile in the corner- professional. Avoid this place at all costs. Completely false advertising, shocking customer service, complete lack of accountability and frankly a overall poor excuse for a venue. If you have a party night or special event planned here I would rethink my booking.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rose R, General Manager at Clydesdale Hotel
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Dear Bakergirl28 I have read your review and in response I would like to add that it was not a lie that the organiser of your party was informed that there would be no DJ and that your group would be seated in the front lounge are (not reception as you stated). It was also explained that the reason for this was because your party could not confirm numbers or pay the balance till a few days before the event when it was clearly stated at the time of booking that this was required 14 days in advance and also the DJ could not been confirmed till the balance was paid and therefore it was too late. We agreed to accept your party despite the lack of cooperation as apparently there were fall outs between the people due to attend and the numbers kept reducing. I think it will be apparent to any reasonable person reading your review and the childish comments such as (lentil soup with chunks of ham floating in it? and stale and cold chocolate cake and almost edible cheesecake? Posters plastered on grubby toilet walls? Thankfully most people reading this will see that is has been written by a vindictive individual attempting to damage a respectful business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle W wrote a review Nov 2019
17 contributions5 helpful votes
Last minute overnight stay, reasonably priced, great location to all transport links, room adequately sized was very clean. Lovely continental breakfast and extremely helpful friendly staff, most definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Danielelwell wrote a review Sep 2019
6 contributions2 helpful votes
I had a wonderful stay at this hotel and the price was low. Staff where wonderful and very friendly and helpful. I will be coming again. It was very well situated. Breakfast was simple but enough for the cost of the room. The rooms were very clean and beds were very comfortable. No complaints
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandSouth LanarkshireHamilton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clydesdale Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Clydesdale Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Low Parks Museum (0.9 km), Hamilton Park (1.2 km), and The Town House (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clydesdale Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Clydesdale Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Clydesdale Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clydesdale Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Kurry Lounge, Twenty One Restaurant, and Leonardo's.
Is Clydesdale Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Hamilton.
Are there any historical sites close to Clydesdale Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chatelherault (3.3 km), Low Parks Museum (0.9 km), and David Livingstone Birthplace (3.2 km).
Is Clydesdale Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.