We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Horizon Hotel

Show Prices
#8 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Horizon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 398: English reviews
Biggar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wonderful food impressive dining and bar area. Room comfy but not as nice as rest of hotel. Needs a little updating and a little more cleaning but acceptable. Would return. The fire in the dining area is amazing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinemP3820CI
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lounge and restaurant is ok however rooms could do with a little upgrade. Deco little outdated. Small room and small double bed, feet hanging out the end of the bed but still managed to have a good sleep. View to the basement which was a little disappointing considering hotel is next to the beach although nice view at breakfast overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elina2014
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was quite small and the on suite was even smaller in that if you stood at the sink and bent down your rear touched the hot towel rail. It had a wall mounted flat TV and tea and coffee making facilities. No air con so got stuffy if you didn't open window. First night was so hot but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod M
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

really impressed by the hotel great value and food was amazing staff very attentive and the cleaners so friendly nothing was a problem .. will defo go back just hope this time the sun comes out lol cocktails were lovely

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uglybird33
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you so much for your kind review. I am happy that you were impressed with the hotel and the staff. I will pass your thanks onto the Housekeeping team, the girls work hard and are very friendly to all our guests. Unfortunately we cannot control with weather but hope the cocktails made up for that. Kind Regards...

Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from two nights at the horizon and can only complain about the weather! Food was lovely and the breakfast cooked to order. Room was good and clean. All staff we met were nice, friendly and helpful. On sea front and about 10 min walk to town centre. Definently a return on the books.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billy M
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely public spaces modern decor but the bedrooms need updating. More powerful showers needed. Turn down the towel rails as they are far too hot and dangerous. Staff are lovely. Meals were okay a bit like pub meals.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pw2016
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening Guests Thank you for taking the time to review us. As you may not be aware there is ongoing work going on in our bathrooms with upgrading bathrooms at minute perhaps if you had said to reception we could have informed you of this. Our head chef has an extensive food menu and his food is highly praised...

Glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a visit through itison. Very good value for money. Lovely hotel. Polite, friendly staff. Delicious breakfast. Also had dinner in the restaurant which was fantastic. We will definitely be back!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynniec32
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for a lovely review, I am glad to see you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass on your praise to all my team who will be happy to see you found everything great. Hope to see you again. Kind Regards Tracey

fife
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good sized room with a lovely aspect overlooking the sea. The food, both breakfast and evening mea,l was excellent, and the staff, - well they could not do enough for you, very freindly and polite. Dogs are, understandably not allowed in the dining room so the staff will set up a table in the lounge area if you wish to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret E
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

God Evening Guests Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely feedback on your stay. I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us and the staff are here to help and make your stay an enjoyable one. The bathrooms at this time are being worked on but as you can understand we need to...

Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our 4th visit to this fantastic hotel, we stayed in room 5 which is a lovely big pet friendly room. Food and staff were brillian. We would highly recommend this hotel and hopefully return again soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helene P
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you so much for your lovely comments again on your stay with us. I am glad to see we are still getting everything right with your return visit and we all work hard to ensure everyone enjoys there time with us. Hope to see you again soon Kind regards Tracey

Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely room, plenty space but bed was terrible, complained but was told fully booked, no spare mattresses either so got duvet to put ontop, which did help but shudnt need to do that! Nice breakfast. But because of the whole bed thing dont know if we would stay sgain, even though everything else was good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rangersgirl69
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. Unfortunately every person is different some find the beds comfortable others do not. This is a personal preference more than an issue and we did try our best given we were fully booked and could not offer you another room to make your sleep bit easier. I'm sorry if it didn't help you....

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.6 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.5 km away
Western House Hotel
0.8 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 18 in Ayr
628 reviews
3.6 km away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
1.4 km away
Carrick Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Horizon Hotel is the ideal location and a popular venue for holidays, short breaks, and activities, weddings and business functions.Offering quality and affordability, the Horizon Hotel is an award winning three star Scottish Hotel providing Scottish hospitality, and friendly efficient service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Ayr KA7 1DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range: ₹ 5,730 - ₹ 11,529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Ayr, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#8 Family Hotel in Ayr
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Horizon Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
West Dunbartonshire, United Kingdom
Ayrshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Horizon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with a view over the water seemed smaller than those without a view”
 of 5 bubbles rodm51, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you need a disabled friendly room go for 6. Has its own door to car park and disabled space right next to it.”
 of 5 bubbles billym287, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother paying for an upgrade it's a waste of money very basic room and shower room”
 of 5 bubbles pw2016, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front if you want a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 665margarete, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on the top floor so not to much noise”
 of 5 bubbles jimsmith347, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay